Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Environment

Assembly Bill 579

Relating to: use of fill in commercial waterways and Great Lakes waters.

By Representatives Wittke, Green, Binsfeld, Katsma, O'Connor, Murphy, Goeben and Melotik; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Ouinn, Nass and Felzkowski.

October 31, 2023 Referred to Committee on Environment

November 30, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (7) Representative Oldenburg; Representatives Behnke, Bodden, Schmidt, Shankland, J. Anderson and Palmeri.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Kitchens and Novak.

Appearances For

- Rep. Robert Wittke 62nd Assembly District
- Jon Soper On Behalf of Sen. Duey Stroebel: 20th Senate District
- Mayor Ryan Sorenson City of Sheboygan
- Toni Herkert Wi League of Municipalities
- Paul Kent Wi League of Municipalities
- Larry Konopacki Wi Realtors Association

Appearances Against

• Tony Wilkin Gilbert - Midwest Environmental Advocates

Appearances for Information Only

Ben Callan - Wi DNR

Registrations For

- Rep. Chanz Green 74th Assembly District
- Rep. Terry Katsma 26th Assembly District
- Brian Dale Wisconsin Independent Businesses

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 11, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (8) Representative Oldenburg; Representatives Novak, Behnke, Bodden, Schmidt, Shankland,

J. Anderson and Palmeri.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Kitchens.

Moved by Representative Bodden, seconded by Representative Oldenburg that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representative Oldenburg; Representatives Novak, Behnke, Bodden and Schmidt.

Noes: (3) Representatives Shankland, J. Anderson and Palmeri.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Schmidt, seconded by Representative Behnke that **Assembly Bill 579** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (5) Representative Oldenburg; Representatives Novak, Behnke, Bodden and Schmidt.

Noes: (3) Representatives Shankland, J. Anderson and Palmeri.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Mathew Jansen Committee Clerk