Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Family Law

Assembly Bill 510

Relating to: rights reserved to a parent or guardian of a child.

By Representatives Wittke, Gundrum, Maxey, Nedweski, Schmidt, Binsfeld, Rettinger, Allen, Magnafici, Steffen, Brooks, Armstrong, Callahan, O'Connor, Goeben, Bodden, Sapik, Tittl, Michalski, Schutt, Penterman, Dittrich, Murphy, Green, Behnke, Mursau, Brandtjen, Wichgers, Gustafson, VanderMeer and Edming; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, Quinn, Marklein and Nass.

October 18, 2023 Referred to Committee on Family Law

November 08, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(8)	Representative Rozar; Representatives
		Binsfeld, Hurd, Nedweski, Snyder, Vining,
		Conley and Cabrera.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative O'Connor.

Appearances For

- Representative Robert Wittke 62nd Assembly District
- Senator Van Wanggaard 21st Senate District
- Laura Ackmann Moms for Liberty
- Scarlett Johnson Moms for Liberty
- Angela Kretchmer Moms for Liberty Kenosha County
- Purnima Nath
- Luke Berg Wisconsin Institute for Law and Liberty (WILL)
- Cory Brewer Wisconsin Institute for Law and Liberty (WILL)
- Jack Hoogendyk Wisconsin Family Action
- Kristin Perkins
- Steven Perkins
- Crystal Andraska
- Tammy Foernier

Appearances Against

- Reverend Breanna Illene Wisconsin Council of Churches
- Reverend Tim Schaefer
- Tessa Jade Price Trans Advocacy Madison

- Brian Juchems GSafe
- Wendy Strout Human Rights Campaign
- Sabine Wolter
- Sunny Tummala
- Wyn Helming
- Evy Gildrie-Voylbs
- Mollie McQuillan
- Guy Halcon
- T. Clearwater
- Eli Rittenhouse
- Zahra Rustam
- Claire Candelarri
- Benjamin Lebovitz
- Rebecca Cooper

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Representative Amanda Nedweski - 61st Assembly District

Registrations Against

- Lee Hutto
- Kevin Radcliffe Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Johanna Schmidt
- Megin McDonell
- Jack O'Meara Wisconsin Education Association Council (WEAC)
- Rachel Bauman
- Ben Helming
- Timothy J. Peyton
- Kelly Walbrandt
- David Martin Wisconsin Association of School Boards (WASB)
- Dee Petlack School Administrators Alliance (SAA)
- Becky Cooper
- Marc Herstand National Association of Social Workers
- Sean O'Brien
- Nick Famularo

Registrations for Information Only

• Tami Jackson - Survival Coalition of Disability Organizations

January 11, 2024 Executive Session Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Rozar; Representatives
		Binsfeld, Hurd, O'Connor, Nedweski, Snyder,
		Vining, Conley and Cabrera.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Nedweski, seconded by Representative Binsfeld that **Assembly Bill 510** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (6) Representative Rozar; Representatives Binsfeld, Hurd, O'Connor, Nedweski and Snyder.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Vining, Conley and Cabrera.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Colin Weeks Committee Clerk