Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health, Aging and Long-Term Care

Assembly Bill 176

Relating to: permitting pharmacists to prescribe certain contraceptives, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Kitchens, Magnafici, Duchow, Tusler, Binsfeld, Sapik, Rodriguez, August, Born, Callahan, Dallman, Dittrich, Green, Hurd, S. Johnson, Knodl, Krug, Kurtz, Macco, Maxey, Michalski, Mursau, Nedweski, Novak, Oldenburg, Plumer, Rozar, Snyder, Spiros, Steffen, Subeck, Summerfield, Swearingen, Vos, Wittke, Sinicki and Clancy; cosponsored by Senators Felzkowski, Cabral-Guevara, James and Marklein.

April 14, 2023 Referred to Committee on Health, Aging and Long-Term Care

June 06, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Moses; Representatives Brooks,
		Dittrich, Gundrum, Magnafici, Murphy, Sapik,
		Schutt, Summerfield, VanderMeer, Subeck,
		Riemer, J. Anderson, Vining and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Rozar.

Appearances For

- Representative Joel Kitchens 1st Assembly District
- Representative Karen Hurd Assembly District 68
- Marina Maes Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin
- Richelle Andrae WI Primary Health Care Assn.
- Jaymie Lynn Crofts Wisconsin Voices
- Courtney Joslin R Street Institute

Appearances Against

- Tia Westhoff Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Mark Lehman RN BSN BBA Catholic Medical Guild
- Elizabeth Anderson MD Wisconsin Catholic Medical Guilds
- Jack Hoogendyk Wisconsin Family Action
- Matt Sande Pro-Life Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Nathan Butzlaff WI Association of Local Health Dept and Boards
- Nathan Butzlaff WI Public Health Assoc
- Kim Walz Walgreens Co,
- Dr. Abby Cutler American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
- Kassandra Bartelme
- Danielle Womack Pharmacy Society of WI
- Ryan Murray CVS Health
- Representative Donna Rozar 69th Assembly District
- Senator Mary Felzkowski Senate District 12

Registrations Against

- Representative Scott Allen 97th Assembly District
- Patti Giebink MD

Registrations for Information Only

• HJ Waukau - Department of Health Services

June 14, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present:	(14)	Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar,
		Brooks, Dittrich, Magnafici, Murphy, Sapik,
		Schutt, Summerfield, VanderMeer, Riemer, J.
		Anderson, Vining and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Gundrum and Subeck.

Moved by Representative Rozar, seconded by Representative Sapik that **Assembly Bill 176** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (13) Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar, Brooks, Dittrich, Magnafici, Sapik, Schutt, Summerfield, VanderMeer, Riemer, J. Anderson, Vining and Drake.
- Noes: (1) Representative Murphy.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 1

Maryjane Behm Committee Clerk