Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health, Aging and Long-Term Care

Assembly Bill 616

Relating to: Medical Assistance coverage of services provided in an institution for mental disease.

By Representatives Hurd, Born, Summerfield, Armstrong, Dallman, Dittrich, Drake, Duchow, Edming, Gundrum, Kurtz, Murphy, Novak, Rodriguez, Rozar, Schutt, Steffen, Subeck, Wichgers, Goeben and Kitchens; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, James, Ballweg, Felzkowski, Feyen, Jagler, Testin, Nass, Cabral-Guevara and Cowles.

November 02, 2023 Referred to Committee on Health, Aging and Long-Term Care

November 08, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present: (13) Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar, Brooks, Dittrich, Magnafici, Murphy, Summerfield, VanderMeer, Subeck, Riemer, J. Anderson, Vining and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Gundrum, Sapik and Schutt.

Appearances For

- Representative Karen Hurd 68th Assembly District
- Senator Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- Matthew Stanford WHA
- Jessica Small Aurora Health Care
- Alison Denil Summit Behaviorial Health

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• HJ Waukau - Department of Health Services

Registrations For

- Caty McDermott Alliance of Health Insurers
- Sita Diehl NAMI WI
- Jeremy Levin Rural WI Health Cooperative
- Matt Wimmer Bellin & Gunderson Health System
- Dr. Tony Thrasher WI Psychiatric Assoication
- Kathy Markeland WAFCA
- Marcie Rainbolt WI Counties Association

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

November 09, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar,

Brooks, Dittrich, Gundrum, Magnafici, Murphy, Schutt, Summerfield, VanderMeer, Subeck, Riemer, J. Anderson, Vining and

Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Sapik.

Moved by Representative Summerfield, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Bill 616** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (15) Representative Moses; Representatives
Rozar, Brooks, Dittrich, Gundrum,
Magnafici, Murphy, Schutt, Summerfield,
VanderMeer, Subeck, Riemer, J. Anderson,

Vining and Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Maryjane Behm Committee Clerk