### Assembly

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Health, Aging and Long-Term Care

#### Senate Bill 145

Relating to: advanced practice registered nurses, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, and granting rule-making authority.

By Senators Testin, Cabral-Guevara, Roys, Ballweg, Cowles, Felzkowski, Jacque, Marklein, Nass, Quinn, Stroebel and Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Magnafici, Armstrong, Behnke, Bodden, Dittrich, Donovan, Green, Gundrum, Gustafson, S. Johnson, Kitchens, Krug, Kurtz, Macco, Murphy, Nedweski, Novak, Rodriguez, Schmidt, Schutt, Sortwell, Spiros, Steffen, Tittl, Tusler, Wichgers and Schraa.

October 19, 2023 Referred to Committee on Health, Aging and Long-Term Care

November 15, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar,
		Brooks, Dittrich, Gundrum, Magnafici,
		Murphy, Schutt, Summerfield, VanderMeer,
		Subeck, Riemer, J. Anderson, Vining and
		Drake.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Sapik.
Excused:	(0)	None.

#### Appearances For

- Senator Patrick Testin Senate District 24
- Rep. Gae Magnafici Assembly District 28
- Senator Rachael Cabral-Guevara Senate District 19
- Gina Dennik-Champion WI Nurses Assoc.
- Gina Bryan
- Kerry Ahrens WACEP
- Alyson Lippman
- Jennifer Banek AANA
- Jess Tomasiewicz WI ANA
- MaryAnn Moon WIACNS
- David LcCombe WI ANA
- Rosina Bloomingdale WI ANA

### Appearances Against

• Mark Grapentine - WI Medical Society

### Appearances for Information Only

• Rob Jaskulski - WI Assn. for Justice

Registrations For

- Soslan Temanson
- Brian Bielick WI ANA
- Bob Welch WI Nurses Assoc.
- Melissa Duffy The Alliance
- Melissa Duffy Healthcare Cooperative
- Tracy Zvanich WI Nurses Assoc.
- Krista Cleary
- Joshua Ernst
- Victoria Knutson WNA & ANA
- Jennifer Konrad Nurse Practioner & CNS
- Megan Novak Americans for Prosperity
- Sarah Endicott
- Kristi Opper Clinical Nurse Specialist, APNP
- Amy Boyer United Healthcare
- Forbes McIntosh WI Assisted Living Assoc.
- Forbes McIntosh Oneida Nation
- Pamela Koniath WIACNS & WNA
- Charmaine Mohr WNA
- Mary Czech-Mrochinski Marquette University
- Tabitha Uitenbroek
- Kaylee Litchfield
- Melissa Paulson-Conger
- Melissa Paulson-Conger
- Molly Liddell
- Rebecca McConeghy APNP
- April Garcia APRN & SSM Health

### Registrations Against

- Michael Welsh WI Dermatological Society
- Dr. Jennifer Larson WI Academy of Ophthalmology
- Michael Bottcher WI Soceity of Anesthesiologists
- Tony Thrasher WI Psychiatric Association

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### January 23, 2024 Executive Session Held

Present: (16) Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar, Brooks, Dittrich, Gundrum, Magnafici, Murphy, Sapik, Schutt, Summerfield,

		VanderMeer, Subeck, Riemer, J. Anderson,
		Vining and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Magnafici that **Senate Bill 145** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes:	(8)	Representative Moses; Representatives
		Brooks, Gundrum, Magnafici, Murphy, Sapik, Schutt and Summerfield.

Noes: (8) Representatives Rozar, Dittrich, VanderMeer, Subeck, Riemer, J. Anderson, Vining and Drake.

WITHOUT RECOMMENDATION, Ayes 8, Noes 8

Maryjane Behm Committee Clerk