Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health, Aging and Long-Term Care

Assembly Bill 1016

Relating to: requiring public and private schools to offer a minimum amount of physical activity each week.

By Representatives Penterman, Rozar, Hurd, Behnke, Schmidt, O'Connor, Mursau, Melotik, Goeben, Edming and S. Johnson; cosponsored by Senators Tomczyk, Cabral-Guevara and Cowles.

January 25, 2024 Referred to Committee on Health, Aging and Long-Term Care

January 31, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (0) None.

Absent: (14) Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar, Dittrich, Gundrum, Magnafici, Murphy, Sapik,

Schutt, Summerfield, VanderMeer, Subeck, Riemer, J. Anderson and Drake.

Excused: (2) Representatives Brooks and Vining.

Appearances For

- Representative Karen Hurd 68th Assembly District
- Dr. Sachin Jogal SSM Health

Appearances Against

David Martin - Wisconsin Association of School Boards

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

• Senator Cory Tomczyk - Senate District 29

Registrations Against

- Kevyn Radcliffe DPI
- Daniel Henderson WI Council of Religious and Independent Schools

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 14, 2024 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar, Brooks, Dittrich, Gundrum, Murphy, Sapik, Schutt, Summerfield, VanderMeer, Subeck, Riemer, J. Anderson, Vining and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Magnafici.

Moved by Representative Rozar, seconded by Representative Summerfield that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representative Moses; Representatives
Rozar, Brooks, Dittrich, Gundrum, Murphy,
Sapik, Schutt, Summerfield, VanderMeer,
Subeck, Riemer, J. Anderson, Vining and
Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Summerfield, seconded by Representative Rozar that **Assembly Bill 1016** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (8) Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar, Brooks, Murphy, Schutt, Summerfield, VanderMeer and Riemer.

Noes: (7) Representatives Dittrich, Gundrum, Sapik, Subeck, J. Anderson, Vining and Drake.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 7

Maryjane Behm Committee Clerk