## Assembly

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Health, Aging and Long-Term Care

#### Assembly Bill 507

Relating to: prior authorization for coverage of physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy, chiropractic services, and other services under health plans.

By Representatives VanderMeer, Gustafson, Billings, Brandtjen, Brooks, Donovan, Gundrum, Macco, Magnafici, Maxey, Rettinger, Rozar, Schmidt, Shankland, Wichgers, Wittke and Melotik; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Ballweg, Cowles, L. Johnson, Larson and Nass.

October 18, 2023 Referred to Committee on Health, Aging and Long-Term Care

November 08, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar,
		Brooks, Dittrich, Magnafici, Murphy,
		Summerfield, VanderMeer, Subeck, Riemer, J.
		Anderson, Vining and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(3)	Representatives Gundrum, Sapik and Schutt.

### Appearances For

- Rep. Nancy VanderMeer Assembly District 70
- Lynn Steffes APTA-WI
- Rob Cadwallader Chiropractic Society of WI
- Craig Jankuski Grafton
- Heidi Weidner APTA-WI
- Dr. Jeff Wilder WI Chiropractic Association
- Kristen Traino Ploc UW Health
- Nicole Boyington WOTA
- Joseph Kucksdorf Bellin Health
- Dr. Susan Griffin APTA-WI

### Appearances Against

- Tim Lundquist WI Assoc of Health Plans
- Rebecca Hogan Alliance of Health Insurers
- Rebecca Hogan WPS Health Insurance

## Appearances for Information Only

• None.

### Registrations For

• Senator Patrick Testin - 24th Senate District

- Jennifer Eggert WI Speech Language Pathology & Audiology Assoc.
- John Murray WI Chiropractic Assocation
- Connie Schulze UW Health & UW School of Medicine & Public Health
- Jim Steineke WI Occupational Therapy Association
- Jermey Levin Rural WI Health Cooperative

#### **Registrations** Against

- Ryan Murray America's Health Insurance Plans
- Liz Portz Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield
- Rachel VerVelde WMC

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

#### February 14, 2024 Executive Session Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar,
		Brooks, Dittrich, Gundrum, Murphy, Sapik,
		Schutt, Summerfield, VanderMeer, Subeck,
		Riemer, J. Anderson, Vining and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Magnafici.

Moved by Representative VanderMeer, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

> Ayes: (15) Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar, Brooks, Dittrich, Gundrum, Murphy, Sapik, Schutt, Summerfield, VanderMeer, Subeck, Riemer, J. Anderson, Vining and Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Rozar, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Bill 507** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar, Brooks, Dittrich, Gundrum, Murphy, Sapik, Schutt, Summerfield, VanderMeer, Subeck, Riemer, J. Anderson, Vining and Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Maryjane Behm Committee Clerk