# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Housing and Real Estate**

### Assembly Bill 39

Relating to: changes to the low-income housing tax credit.

By Representatives Armstrong, Kurtz, Allen, Dittrich, Edming, Green, Kitchens, Magnafici, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Snyder, Spiros, Summerfield, Tusler and VanderMeer; cosponsored by Senators Feyen and Quinn.

February 13, 2023 Referred to Committee on Housing and Real Estate

May 18, 2023 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (13) Representative Brooks; Representatives

Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Krug,

Murphy, Pronschinske, Summerfield, Haywood, Emerson, Bare and Clancy.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Schraa and Ortiz-Velez.

### Appearances For

- Representative Dave Armstrong Wisconsin State Legislature-75th Assembly District
- Senator Dan Feyen Wisconsin State Legislature-18th Senate District
- Sean O'Brien North Pointe Development
- Alex Johnson Advantage Capital
- Dan Kruetz The Commonwealth Companies
- Mary Wright Wisconsin Housing Preservation Corporation
- Dave Ginger Wisconsin Housing Preservation Corporation

#### Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

• Elmer Moore - WHEDA

#### Registrations For

• Emily Berge - City of Eau Claire

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

None.

### June 06, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Brooks; Representatives
Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Krug,
Murphy, Pronschinske, Schraa, Summerfield,
Haywood, Emerson, Ortiz-Velez, Bare and
Clancy.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Armstrong, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representative Brooks; Representatives
Penterman, Armstrong, Murphy,
Pronschinske, Schraa, Summerfield,
Emerson, Ortiz-Velez, Bare and Clancy.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Penterman, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representative Brooks; Representatives
Penterman, Armstrong, Murphy,
Pronschinske, Schraa, Summerfield,
Emerson, Ortiz-Velez, Bare and Clancy.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Pronschinske that **Assembly Bill 39** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representative Brooks; Representatives Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Murphy, Pronschinske, Schraa, Summerfield, Haywood, Emerson, Ortiz-Velez, Bare and Clancy.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Christopher Schaefer Committee Clerk