Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Housing and Real Estate

Assembly Bill 266

Relating to: judicial review of local governmental decisions related to certain land development, local approval of residential housing development, and amendment of zoning ordinances.

By Representatives Krug, Brooks, Allen, Edming, Moses, Murphy, O'Connor, Penterman, Schraa, Snyder, Sortwell and Spiros; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Quinn, Jagler and Testin.

May 16, 2023 Referred to Committee on Housing and Real Estate

May 18, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Brooks; Representatives
Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Krug,
Murphy, Pronschinske, Summerfield,
Haywood, Emerson, Bare and Clancy.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Schraa and Ortiz-Velez.

Appearances For

- Representative Scott Krug Wisconsin State Legislature-72nd District
- Senator Duey Stroebel Wisconsin State Legislature-20th Senate District
- Tom Larson Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Brad Boycks Wisconsin Builders Association
- Mike Howe Wisconsin Builders Association
- Joe Ruth Wisconsin Towns Association
- Tim Roehl Wisconsin Realtors Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Robert Proctor Wisconsin Builders Association
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Bob Welch Apartment Association of South Central Wisconsin

• Emily Berge - City of Eau Claire

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

June 06, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Brooks; Representatives
Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Krug,
Murphy, Pronschinske, Schraa, Summerfield,
Haywood, Emerson, Ortiz-Velez, Bare and
Clancy.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Bare, seconded by Representative Emerson that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Representatives Emerson, Bare and Clancy.

Noes: (10) Representative Brooks; Representatives
Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben,
Krug, Murphy, Pronschinske, Schraa and
Summerfield.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION, Ayes 3, Noes 10

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Penterman that **Assembly Bill 266** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Brooks; Representatives Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Krug, Murphy, Pronschinske, Schraa and Summerfield.

Noes: (5) Representatives Haywood, Emerson, Ortiz-Velez, Bare and Clancy.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Christopher Schaefer Committee Clerk