Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Housing and Real Estate

Assembly Bill 689

Relating to: pay for performance grant requirements, use of public lands to provide temporary residence for the homeless, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Dallman, Kurtz, Behnke, Brandtjen, Murphy, O'Connor, Penterman, Steffen and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Tomczyk and Cabral-Guevara.

November 27, 2023 Referred to Committee on Housing and Real Estate

January 09, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (12) Representative Brooks; Representatives
Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Krug,
Murphy, Summerfield, Haywood, Emerson,
Bare and Clancy.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Pronschinske, Schraa and Ortiz-Velez.

Appearances For

- Representative Alex Dallman Wisconsin State Legislature-41st Assembly District
- Devon Kurtz Cicero Action

Appearances Against

- Michael Basford Wisconsin Interagency Council on Homelessness
- Torrie Kopp Mueller Homeless Services
 Consortium/Wisconsin Housing First Coalition

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Rebecca Hogan Cicero Action
- Senator Cory Tomczyk Wisconsin State Legislature-29th Senate District

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 24, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Brooks; Representatives
Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Krug,

Murphy, Pronschinske, Schraa, Summerfield, Haywood, Emerson, Ortiz-Velez, Bare and

Clancy.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Summerfield that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (8) Representative Brooks; Representatives Penterman, Goeben, Krug, Murphy, Pronschinske, Schraa and Summerfield.

Noes: (7) Representatives Allen, Armstrong, Haywood, Emerson, Ortiz-Velez, Bare and Clancy.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Summerfield, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Bill 689** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (8) Representative Brooks; Representatives Penterman, Goeben, Krug, Murphy, Pronschinske, Schraa and Summerfield.

Noes: (7) Representatives Allen, Armstrong, Haywood, Emerson, Ortiz-Velez, Bare and Clancy.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 7

Christopher Schaefer
Committee Clerk