Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Local Government

Assembly Bill 492

Relating to: method for establishing proof of financial responsibility for municipal solid waste facilities; payments for closure, long-term care, and corrective action costs for certain solid or hazardous waste facilities; extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures; providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures; granting rule-making authority; and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Mursau and Schmidt; cosponsored by Senator Jacque.

October 12, 2023 Referred to Committee on Local Government

November 16, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present: (11) Representative Novak; Representatives
Donovan, Gundrum, Maxey, Krug, Michalski,
S. Johnson, Baldeh, Conley, C. Anderson and
Ratcliff.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Pronschinske.

Appearances For

- Rep. Jeff Mursau Wisconsin State Assembly
- Paul Klose Mar-Oco Landfill
- Meleesa Johnson
- John Welch Dane County; Solid Wate Association of North America; Wisconsin Counties Solid Waste Management Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Katie Strom Hiorns WI Department of Natural Resources
- Michael Schmit WI Department of Natural Resources

Registrations For

- Sen. Andre Jacque Wisconsin State Senate
- Katie Scott Wisconsin League of Municipalities

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

December 14, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (10) Representative Novak; Representatives Donovan, Gundrum, Maxey, Krug, Michalski,

S. Johnson, Baldeh, C. Anderson and Ratcliff.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Pronschinske and Conley.

Moved by Representative Gundrum, seconded by Representative Michalski that **Assembly Bill 492** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Novak; Representatives
Donovan, Gundrum, Maxey, Krug,
Michalski, S. Johnson, Baldeh, C. Anderson
and Ratcliff.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Managa O'Elahuita

Morgan O'Flahrity Committee Clerk