Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Mental Health and Substance Abuse Prevention

Assembly Bill 576

Relating to: public safety peer counseling and privilege for peer support and critical incident stress management services communications and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Kitchens, Dittrich, Donovan, Michalski, O'Connor, Snyder and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators James, Ballweg and Jacque.

October 30, 2023 Referred to Committee on Mental Health and Substance Abuse Prevention

November 01, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (10) Representative Tittl; Representatives Dittrich, VanderMeer, Wichgers, Gundrum, Plumer, Magnafici, Vining, Considine and Moore Omokunde.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Behnke and Palmeri.

Appearances For

- Representative Joel Kitchens State Assembly 1st District
- Senator Jesse James State Senate 23rd District
- George Papaschristol Milwaukee Police Associatioin
- Patrick McCarty Door County Sheriff's Office
- Dane County Sheriff, Ret. David Smetana Village of Pleasant Prairie
- Felicia Labatore Kenosha Police
- Stacy Lenz WI Department of Justice
- Dr. Ashlee Gethner Calming Waves Therapy, LLC
- Melissa Wiesner Two Rivers Police Department
- Pete Deates Kenosha Police Department
- Jason Tetrick Kenosha Police Department
- Mahlon Mitchell Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin
- Eric Daun Milwaukee Firefighters Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Dane County Sheriff, Ret. David Mahoney
- Catherine McDermott Badger State Sheriffs'
 Association and Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs
 Association
- Senator Joan Ballweg State Senate 14th District

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

November 09, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative Tittl; Representatives Dittrich, VanderMeer, Wichgers, Gundrum, Plumer, Magnafici, Behnke, Vining, Considine, Moore Omokunde and Palmeri.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Dittrich that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representative Tittl; Representatives
Dittrich, VanderMeer, Wichgers, Gundrum,
Plumer, Magnafici, Behnke, Vining,
Considine and Palmeri.

Noes: (1) Representative Moore Omokunde.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Dittrich, seconded by Representative VanderMeer that **Assembly Bill 576** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (11) Representative Tittl; Representatives
Dittrich, VanderMeer, Wichgers, Gundrum,
Plumer, Magnafici, Behnke, Vining,
Considine and Palmeri.

Noes: (1) Representative Moore Omo	okunde.
------------------------------------	---------

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 1

Steve Hall

Committee Clerk