Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on State Affairs

Assembly Bill 141

Relating to: restriction on the sale or use of a device based on its energy source. By Representatives Schutt, Green, Armstrong, Behnke, Binsfeld, Bodden, Brandtjen, Duchow, Edming, Gustafson, Maxey, Murphy, O'Connor, Rozar, Sapik, Sortwell, Spiros, Tittl, Tranel, VanderMeer and Rettinger; cosponsored by Senators Tomczyk, Bradley, Cabral-Guevara, Feyen, Marklein, Quinn, Testin and Wanggaard.

April 04, 2023 Referred to Committee on State Affairs

April 11, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (12) Representative Swearingen; Representatives
Green, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses,
Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Cabrera, Baldeh
and Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Summerfield and Ohnstad.

Appearances For

- Rep. Ellen Schutt 31st Assembly District
- Sen. Cory Tomczyk 29th Senate District
- Rep. Chanz Green 74th Assembly District
- Craig Summerfield WMC
- Ed Cassel MKE Model T Club
- Greg Roscizewski Snowmobilers & Motorsport Enthusiasts
- Brian Dake WIB
- David Dwyer
- Wayne Ball
- Sreve Panten ABATE WI
- Mike Halvorson Twin Lakes Country Club
- James Lone Racine County Alliance of Snowmobile Clubs

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Rep. Robin Vos
- Michael Semman WI Grocers Assn.
- Susan Quam WRA
- Kathi Kilgore WI Hotel & Lodging Assn.
- Rebecca Zarling Oconto Area ATV Club
- Matt Hauser WPMCA
- Rebecca Zarling Green Bay Yacht Club
- Brian Casey US Venture
- Steve Loehr Kwik Trip
- Megan Novak AFP
- Catherine McDermott American Petroleum Institute
- Michelle Kussow WI Propane Gas Assn.

Registrations Against

• Peter Burress - WI Conservation Voters

Registrations for Information Only

None.

April 13, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (12) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Summerfield, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Baldeh and Hong.

Absent: (1) Representative Cabrera. Excused: (1) Representative Ohnstad.

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Schraa that **Assembly Bill 141** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Summerfield, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan and Gustafson.

Noes: (3) Representatives Sinicki, Baldeh and Hong.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 3

Taylor Corkran
Committee Clerk