# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on State Affairs**

### Assembly Bill 393

Relating to: regulating kratom products, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Murphy, Brooks and Macco; cosponsored by Senators Cabral-Guevara and Felzkowski.

September 05, 2023 Referred to Committee on State Affairs

September 13, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present: (14) Representative Swearingen; Representatives

Green, Summerfield, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Ohnstad,

Cabrera, Baldeh and Hong.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Dave Murphy 56th Assembly District
- Dr. Jack Henningfield PhD
- Mac Haddow American Kratom Assn.
- John Shinholser Kratom Community
- Curt Bramble
- James Carroll American Kratom Assn.
- Jay Wentwortn Vilas County
- Ila Webster
- Dr. Heidi Kykora
- Jennifer Dzikouoski
- Mitsti Friedl
- James Small Law Enforcement Action Partnership
- April Abraham
- Michael Abraham

# Appearances Against

- Dr. Ritu Bhatnagar WI Society of Addiction Medicine
- Mark Grapentine WI Medical Society
- Sheriff Dale Schmidt Badger State Sheriff's Assn.
- Sgt. Sean Patyk Franklin Police Department

## Appearances for Information Only

Christopher Cunningham

#### Registrations For

- Sen, Rachel Cabral-Guevara 19th Senate District
- Steven Schmitz
- Scott Meyer

### Registrations Against

- James Fenley WI Chiefs of Police Assn.
- Tim Hoven WI Academy of Family Physicians

#### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## January 24, 2024 Executive Session Held

Present: (13) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Summerfield, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Gustafson, Sinicki, Ohnstad, Cabrera, Baldeh and Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Callahan.

Moved by Representative Gustafson, seconded by Representative Spiros that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Summerfield, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Gustafson, Ohnstad, Baldeh and Hong.

Noes: (2) Representatives Sinicki and Cabrera.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Gustafson, seconded by Representative Moses that **Assembly Bill 393** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Summerfield, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Gustafson and Ohnstad.

Noes: (4) Representatives Sinicki, Cabrera, Baldeh and Hong.

# PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Tavlor Corkran

Taylor Corkran Committee Clerk