# **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on State Affairs**

## **Assembly Bill 219**

Relating to: creating a grant program for public safety interoperable communication system upgrades.

By Representatives Kurtz, Armstrong, Binsfeld, Brandtjen, Duchow, Edming, Green, Gundrum, Moses, Mursau, Nedweski, Novak, Palmeri, Petryk, Rettinger, Spiros and Swearingen; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Felzkowski, James, Quinn, Smith and Spreitzer.

October 18, 2023 Referred to Committee on State Affairs

November 01, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present: (10) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Summerfield, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Sinicki, Cabrera and Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Callahan, Gustafson, Ohnstad and Baldeh.

### Appearances For

- Rep, Tony Kurtz 50th Assembly District
- Sheriff Matt Joski Badger State Sheriffs Assn.
- Sheriff Andrew Zobal Juneau Co Sheriff's Office

## Appearances Against

• None.

## Appearances for Information Only

 Jeremy Bonikowske - Juneau Co Emergency Management

#### Registrations For

- Sen. Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- Kyle Christianson WCA
- Bridget Esser Dept. of Military Affairs
- Forbes McIntosh WI EMS Assn.

#### Registrations Against

None.

### Registrations for Information Only

None.

#### November 08, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Summerfield, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Ohnstad, Cabrera

and Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Schraa and Baldeh.

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Gustafson that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Summerfield, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Ohnstad, Cabrera and Hong.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Gustafson that **Assembly Bill 219** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Summerfield, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Ohnstad, Cabrera and Hong.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Taylor Corkran Committee Clerk