Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on State Affairs

Assembly Bill 337

Relating to: eliminating the 13-week limit on the garnishment of earnings of certain debtors.

By Representatives Tusler, Allen, Behnke, Conley, Gustafson, Kitchens, Murphy, O'Connor, Penterman, Rettinger, Rozar, Spiros and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Hutton, Cabral-Guevara, Wanggaard, Ballweg and Stroebel.

June 30, 2023 Referred to Committee on State Af	ffairs
---	--------

January 10, 2024 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(11)	Representative Swearingen; Representatives
		Green, Summerfield, Brooks, Spiros, Moses,
		Callahan, Sinicki, Ohnstad, Baldeh and Hong.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Cabrera.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Schraa and Gustafson.

Appearances For

- Rep. Ron Tusler 3rd Assembly District
- Sen. Rob Hutton 5th Senate District
- Matt Richburg CEO WCRA
- J. Adam Dobberstein WCRA
- Paul Thelhelm WCRA

Appearances Against

• Abby Wiley - Legal Action of WI

Appearances for Information Only

• John Vander Leest - WI Clerks of Courts Assn.

Registrations For

• Andy Franken - WI Insurance Alliance

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 17, 2024 Executive Session Held

Present:	(14)	Representative Swearingen; Representatives
		Green, Summerfield, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros,
		Moses, Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Ohnstad,
		Cabrera, Baldeh and Hong.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Brooks, seconded by Representative Spiros that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Summerfield, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Ohnstad, Cabrera, Baldeh and Hong.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Callahan that **Assembly Bill 337** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (12) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Summerfield, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Ohnstad and Baldeh.
- Noes: (2) Representatives Cabrera and Hong.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 2

Taylor Corkran Committee Clerk