#### **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

### **Committee on Transportation**

#### Assembly Bill 313

Relating to: increased penalties for failing to stop for a school bus.

By Representatives Penterman, S. Johnson, Allen, C. Anderson, Armstrong, Behnke, Bodden, Conley, Dittrich, Goeben, Gundrum, Kitchens, Kurtz, Moses, Murphy, Oldenburg, Ortiz-Velez, Palmeri, Rettinger, Schmidt, Spiros, Stubbs, Brooks and Subeck; cosponsored by Senators James, Ballweg and Marklein.

June 09, 2023 Referred to Committee on Transportation

December 05, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(12)	Representative VanderMeer; Representatives
		Hurd, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt,
		Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Haywood, Moore
		Omokunde and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Plumer and Ortiz-Velez.

Appearances For

- Representative William Penterman 37th Assembly District
- Cherie Hime WI School Bus Association
- Dan Kobussen
- Representative Scott Johnson 33rd Assembly District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Senator Jesse James 23rd Senate District
- Dan Johnson WI Motorcoach Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

Present:	(13)	Representative VanderMeer; Representatives
		Hurd, Plumer, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson,
		Schmidt, Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Haywood,
		Moore Omokunde and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Ortiz-Velez.

Moved by Representative Edming, seconded by Representative Hurd that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Hurd, Plumer, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt, Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Haywood, Moore Omokunde and Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

# ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Hurd, seconded by Representative Edming that **Assembly Bill 313** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Hurd, Plumer, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt, Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Haywood, Moore Omokunde and Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Had I been present for the Assembly Committee on Transportation Executive Session on January 9th, 2024, I would have voted Aye on Assembly Bill 313.

~Representative Ortiz-Velez

Jesse Johnson Committee Clerk