Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 647

Relating to: limiting the recovery of noneconomic damages from a commercial motor vehicle carrier.

By Representatives Gundrum, Spiros, Armstrong, Callahan, Donovan, Rettinger, Dallman and Kurtz; cosponsored by Senator Tomczyk.

November 08, 2023 Referred to Committee on Transportation

January 09, 2024 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(13)	Representative VanderMeer; Representatives
		Hurd, Plumer, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson,
		Schmidt, Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Haywood,
		Moore Omokunde and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Ortiz-Velez.

Appearances For

- Representative Rick Gundrum 58th Assembly District
- Neal Kedzie Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association
- R.J. Pirlot Wisconsin Civil Justice Council

Appearances Against

• James Rogers - WI Assn for Justice

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Senator Cory Tomczyk 29th Senate District
- Representative John Spiros 86th Assembly District
- Andy Franken Wisconsin Insurance Alliance
- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Business
- John Cronin Sentry Insurance Company
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Evan Umpir WMC
- Craig Wolft E.H. Wolf + Sons Inc.
- Matt Hauser WI Fuel & Retail Assn.
- Mike Semmann WI Grocers Assn
- Cris Greenberg West Bend Transit Inc
- Hannah Huffman Schneider National

- Kristine Hillmer Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Jason Culotta Midwest Food Products Association
- Adam Jordahl Wisconsin Defense Counsel
- Brad Boycks Wisconsin Builders Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 30, 2024 Executive Session Held

Present:	(13)	Representative VanderMeer; Representatives
		Hurd, Plumer, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson,
		Schmidt, Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Ortiz-
		Velez, Moore Omokunde and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Haywood.

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Johnson that **Assembly Bill 647** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (9) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Hurd, Plumer, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt, Maxey and Schutt.
- Noes: (4) Representatives Considine, Ortiz-Velez, Moore Omokunde and Drake.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Jesse Johnson Committee Clerk