Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs

Assembly Bill 174

Relating to: nuisance wildlife management at airports.

By Representatives Murphy, Tusler, Behnke, S. Johnson and Mursau; cosponsored by Senators Cowles, Cabral-Guevara, Felzkowski, Feyen, Marklein and Stroebel.

April 10, 2023 Referred to Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs

May 31, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Edming; Representatives

VanderMeer, Allen, Michalski, Penterman, Petryk, Snyder, Sortwell, Summerfield, Tittl, Riemer, Sinicki, Andraca, Ortiz-Velez and

Ratcliff.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Dave Murphy 56th Assembly District
- Evan Miller Office of Senator Rob Cowles
- Abe Weber Appleton Airport
- Michael Riechers Wisconsin Airport Management Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Brad Koele Department of Natural Resources
- Dan Hirchert USDA Wildlife Services

Registrations For

- Sen. Rob Cowles 2nd Senate District
- Dan Bahr Wisconsin Counties Association
- Toni Herkert League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Mark Wadium Outagamie County Board of Supervisors

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

June 13, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Edming; Representatives
VanderMeer, Michalski, Petryk, Snyder,
Sortwell, Summerfield, Tittl, Riemer, Sinicki,
Andraca, Ortiz-Velez and Ratcliff.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Allen and Penterman.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Andraca that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative Edming; Representatives VanderMeer, Michalski, Petryk, Snyder, Sortwell, Summerfield, Tittl, Riemer, Sinicki, Andraca, Ortiz-Velez and Ratcliff.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Tittl, seconded by Representative Sortwell that **Assembly Bill 174** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative Edming; Representatives VanderMeer, Michalski, Petryk, Snyder, Sortwell, Summerfield, Tittl, Riemer, Sinicki, Andraca, Ortiz-Velez and Ratcliff.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Representative Penterman indicated that he would have voted Aye if he had been present.

Tyler Longsine

Committee Clerk