# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Ways and Means**

### **Assembly Bill 302**

Relating to: a sales and use tax exemption for data center equipment or software. By Representatives Zimmerman, Wittke, Allen, Armstrong, Binsfeld, Green, Krug, Murphy, Nedweski, O'Connor, Petryk, Pronschinske and Rettinger; cosponsored by Senators Quinn, Bradley, Cowles, Feyen, Nass and Wanggaard.

June 01, 2023 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means

June 08, 2023 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (11) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Callahan, Binsfeld, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and Baldeh.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Gustafson.

#### Appearances For

- Representative Shannon Zimmerman 30th WI Assembly District
- Sam Rikkers WEDC
- Jenny Kuderer-Radcliffe Dairyland Power Cooperative
- Zachary Hill Alliant Energy
- Coleman Peiffer Alliant Energy
- Steve Delbianco NetChoice
- Congresswoman Barbara Comstock NetChoice
- Irene Plenefisch Microsoft Corporation

#### Appearances Against

None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

Brian Hanson - Involta

## Registrations For

- Senator Romaine Quinn 25th WI Senate District
- Representative Robert Wittke 62nd WI Assembly District
- Tom Fonfara Microsoft Corporation
- Josh Levi Data Center Coalition
- Rob Richard WI Electric Cooperative Association
- Joel Haubrich WEC Energy Group

- Steve Lyons WI Technology Council
- Gus Schultz The Boldt Co.
- Evan Umpir Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce
- Michael Welsh Wisconsin Economic Development Association
- Matt Pagel Xcel Energy-WI
- Matt Spencer Madison Gas & Electric
- Bill Skewes Wisconsin Utilities Association

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### June 15, 2023 Executive Session Held

Absent:

Present: (10) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Binsfeld, Gustafson, Conley, Ohnstad and Baldeh.

(0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Callahan and Riemer.

Moved by Representative Armstrong, seconded by Representative Gustafson that **Assembly Bill 302** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Binsfeld, Gustafson, Conley, Ohnstad and Baldeh.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Reanna Rasmussen
Committee Clerk