Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Ways and Means

Assembly Bill 627

Relating to: various changes to the business development tax credit.

By Representatives Armstrong, Macco, Behnke, Donovan, Hurd, Maxey, Mursau, O'Connor, VanderMeer and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Feyen and Ballweg.

November 08, 2023 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means

November 29, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and Baldeh.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Callahan, Binsfeld and Gustafson.

Appearances For

- Jeff Hoffman The Boerke Company/Waukesha County Business Alliance
- Michael Welsh Wisconsin Economic Development Association
- Coleman Peiffer Alliant Energy Economic Development Manger
- Charlie Walker President and CEO of the Chippewa County Economic Development Corporation
- Angel Whitehead President and CEO of Centergy
- Jenny Campbell Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation
- Representative Dave Armstrong 75th WI Assembly District
- Senator Dan Feyen 18th WI Senate District
- Scott Fleming
- Michael Donatello Senator Cory Tomczyk Office

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Paul Rozeski Wisconsin Property Taxpayers
- Toni Herkert League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Evan Umpir Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce
- Carol Ann Schneider SEEK Careers/Staffing
- Jason Culotta Midwest Food Products Association
- Rob Kleman Oshkosh Chamber
- Amanda Payne Waukesha County Business Alliance
- Misha Lee Fincantieri Marine Group

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

December 12, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present: (7) Representative Macco; Representatives Snyder, Armstrong, Callahan, Gustafson, Riemer and Baldeh.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (5) Representatives Brooks, Dittrich, Binsfeld, Conley and Ohnstad.

Appearances For

 Representative Dave Armstrong - 75th WI Assembly District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Senator Dan Feyen 18th WI Senate District
- Katie Scott League of WI Municipalities
- Jenny Campbell WEDC

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 04, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Callahan, Binsfeld, Gustafson, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and Baldeh.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Armstrong, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Callahan, Binsfeld, Gustafson, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and Baldeh.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Snyder, seconded by Representative Conley that **Assembly Bill 627** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Callahan, Binsfeld, Gustafson, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and Baldeh.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Reanna Rasmussen

Committee Clerk