## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Ways and Means**

### **Assembly Bill 285**

Relating to: exempting from taxation the pension benefits of certain federal employees.

By Representatives Armstrong, Ohnstad, McGuire, Brooks, Cabrera, Dittrich, Doyle, Green, Joers, Kitchens, Mursau, O'Connor, Ortiz-Velez, Palmeri, Shankland, Sinicki, Snodgrass, Spiros, Stubbs, Subeck and VanderMeer; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, Wirch, Hesselbein, Nass, Spreitzer and Taylor.

May 17, 2023 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means

January 04, 2024 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Callahan, Binsfeld, Gustafson, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and Baldeh.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Representative Dave Armstrong 75th WI Assembly District
- Representative Tod Ohnstad 65th WI Assembly District
- William Bremer National Activist & Retired Federal Employees
- Diane Hedrick National Activist & Retired Federal Employees
- Joseph Deloria Sr, National Activist & Retired Federal Employees
- Richard Gallo National Activist & Retired Federal Employees
- Thomas Miller National Activist & Retired Federal Employees

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

Secretary Peter Barca - WI Department of Revenue

## Registrations For

- Senator Van Wanggaard 21st WI Senate District
- Senator Bob Wirch 22nd WI Senate District

#### Registrations Against

None.

## Registrations for Information Only

None.

### January 11, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (11) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Callahan, Binsfeld, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and Baldeh.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Gustafson.

Moved by Representative Armstrong, seconded by Representative Ohnstad that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Callahan, Binsfeld, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and Baldeh.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Ohnstad, seconded by Representative Armstrong that **Assembly Bill 285** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (11) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Callahan, Binsfeld, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and Baldeh.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Reanna Rasmussen Committee Clerk