Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Workforce Development and Economic Opportunities

Assembly Bill 152

Relating to: various changes to the unemployment insurance law and authorizing the secretary of administration to transfer employees from any executive branch agency to the Department of Workforce Development for certain purposes.

By Representatives O'Connor, Gundrum, Brooks, Rozar, Petryk, Sortwell, Edming, Behnke, Moses, Nedweski, Plumer, Knodl, Macco, Brandtjen, Petersen, Wichgers, Gustafson and Rettinger; cosponsored by Senators Feyen, Stroebel, Nass and Felzkowski.

April 07, 2023 Referred to Committee on Workforce Development and Economic Opportunities

April 12, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Petryk; Representatives Michalski, Gundrum, Snyder, Armstrong, Rozar, Nedweski, O'Connor, Rettinger, Shankland, Sinicki, Shelton, Jacobson and

Madison. Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Sapik.

Appearances For

- Representative Jerry O'Connor
- Senator Dan Feyen
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Businesses
- Adam Gibbs Opportunity Solutions Partnership
- Rachel VerVelde Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce

Appearances Against

Victor Forberger

Appearances for Information Only

Shane Griesbach - Self

Registrations For

• Kyle Koenen - Wisconsin Institute for Law & Liberty

Registrations Against

• Peter Bakken - Wisconsin Council of Churches

Registrations for Information Only

• Arielle Exner - Department of Workforce Development

April 18, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Petryk; Representatives
Michalski, Gundrum, Snyder, Armstrong,
Rozar, Nedweski, O'Connor, Rettinger, Sapik,
Shankland, Sinicki, Shelton, Jacobson and
Madison.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Rettinger, seconded by Representative Armstrong that **Assembly Bill 152** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Petryk; Representatives Michalski, Gundrum, Snyder, Armstrong, Rozar, Nedweski, O'Connor, Rettinger and Sapik.

Noes: (5) Representatives Shankland, Sinicki, Shelton, Jacobson and Madison.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

BJ Dernbach Committee Clerk