Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Workforce Development and Economic Opportunities

Assembly Bill 916

Relating to: a technology and innovation hub grant to BioForward, Inc., and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Nedweski, C. Anderson, Armstrong, Dittrich, Duchow, Goeben, Gundrum, Kitchens, Macco, Maxey, Murphy, Petryk, Rettinger, Sapik, Steffen, Mursau and Penterman; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Ballweg, Felzkowski, Pfaff, Smith, Spreitzer and Quinn.

January 04, 2024 Referred to Committee on Workforce Development and Economic Opportunities

January 09, 2024 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(14)	Representative Petryk; Representatives
		Michalski, Gundrum, Snyder, Armstrong,
		Rozar, Nedweski, O'Connor, Rettinger, Sapik,
		Shankland, Sinicki, Jacobson and Madison.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Shelton.

Appearances For

- Representative Amanda Nedweski
- Aaron Olver University Research Park
- Daniel Biank Accuray
- Lisa Johnson Bio Forward
- Wendy Harris Bio Forward

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Senator Duey Stroebel
- Nathan Franklin Bellin and Gundersen Health System
- Bill McCoshen GE Healthcare
- Andrew Davis MMAC
- Connie Schulze UW Health and UW School of Medicine and Public Health

- Crystal Potts UW Madison
- Peter Welch Wisconsin Startup Coalition
- Missy Hughes WEDC
- President Jay Rothman Universities of Wisconsin
- Morna Foy WTCS

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 24, 2024 Executive Session Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Petryk; Representatives Michalski, Gundrum, Snyder, Armstrong, Rozar, Nedweski, O'Connor, Rettinger, Sapik, Shankland, Sinicki, Shelton, Jacobson and Madison.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Nedweski, seconded by Representative Shankland that **Assembly Bill 916** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (15) Representative Petryk; Representatives Michalski, Gundrum, Snyder, Armstrong, Rozar, Nedweski, O'Connor, Rettinger, Sapik, Shankland, Sinicki, Shelton, Jacobson and Madison.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

BJ Dernbach Committee Clerk