Record of Committee Proceedings

Joint Committee on Finance

Senate Bill 301

Relating to: county and municipal aid; imposing a city sales tax and an additional county sales tax to pay the unfunded actuarial accrued liability of city and county retirement systems; requiring newly hired city and county employees of certain city agencies and counties to be enrolled in the Wisconsin Retirement System; fire and police commissions of first class cities; eliminating the personal property tax; reporting certain crimes and other incidents that occur on school property or school transportation; advisory referenda; local health officers; local public protection services; exceptions to local levy limits; local regulation of certain quarry operations; emergency services; local approval of projects and activities under the Warren Knowles-Gaylord Nelson Stewardship 2000 Program; requiring a referendum; and granting rule-making authority.

By Senators Felzkowski, Cabral-Guevara, James, Quinn and Knodl; cosponsored by Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Vos, August, Born, Armstrong, Behnke, Binsfeld, Callahan, Dallman, Dittrich, Donovan, Duchow, Edming, Green, Gundrum, Gustafson, Hurd, Katsma, Kitchens, Krug, Magnafici, Maxey, Michalski, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, O'Connor, Oldenburg, Penterman, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pronschinske, Rozar, Sapik, Schmidt, Schraa, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Steffen, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tusler and Zimmerman.

June 13, 2023 Referred to Joint Committee on Finance

June 13, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Senator Marklein; Representative Born; Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Testin, Wimberger, L. Johnson and Roys; Representatives Katsma, Rodriguez, Kurtz, Dallman, Goyke and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Senator Ballweg; Representative Zimmerman.

Moved by Senator Marklein, seconded by Representative Born that **Senate Bill 301** be recommended for passage, with emergency statement attached, pursuant to S. 16.47 (2), Wisconsin Statutes.

Ayes: (10) Senator Marklein; Representative Born; Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Testin and Wimberger; Representatives Katsma, Rodriguez, Kurtz and Dallman.

Noes: (4) Senators L. Johnson and Roys; Representatives Goyke and McGuire.

PASSAGE, WITH EMERGENCY STATEMENT ATTACHED, PURSUANT TO S. 16.47 (2), WISCONSIN STATUTES RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 4

Joe Malkasian Committee Clerk