Record of Committee Proceedings

Joint Committee on Finance

Assembly Bill 1020

Relating to: expansion of the second individual income tax bracket.

By Representatives Katsma, Born, Allen, Armstrong, August, Behnke, Binsfeld, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Donovan, Edming, Green, Gundrum, Hurd, Krug, Kurtz, Macco, Magnafici, Maxey, Melotik, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, O'Connor, Oldenburg, Penterman, Petryk, Plumer, Rettinger, Schmidt, Schraa, Schutt, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Steffen, Tranel, Wichgers, Wittke, Zimmerman and Swearingen; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, LeMahieu, Ballweg, Bradley, Cabral-Guevara, Felzkowski, Feyen, Jagler, Nass, Quinn, Stroebel, Testin, Wanggaard and Tomczyk.

January 29, 2024 Referred to Joint Committee on Finance

February 01, 2024 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(15)	Senator Marklein; Representative Born;
		Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Ballweg,
		Testin, Wimberger, L. Johnson and Roys;
		Representatives Katsma, Rodriguez, Kurtz,
		Dallman, McGuire and Andraca.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Zimmerman.

Appearances For

• Senator Howard Marklein - 17th Senate Dist

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Brian Dake WI Independent Businesses
- Alex Ignatowski IRG Action Fund
- Evan Umpir WMC
- Paul Rozeski WI Property Taxpayers

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 07, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present:	(15)	Senator Marklein; Representative Born;
		Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Ballweg,
		Testin, Wimberger, L. Johnson and Roys;
		Representatives Katsma, Zimmerman, Kurtz,
		Dallman, McGuire and Andraca.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Rodriguez.

Moved by Representative Katsma, seconded by Senator Marklein that **Assembly Bill 1020** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(11)	Senator Marklein; Representative Born;
		Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Ballweg,
		Testin and Wimberger; Representatives
		Katsma, Zimmerman, Kurtz and Dallman.
Noes:	(4)	Senators L. Johnson and Roys;
		Representatives McGuire and Andraca.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 4

Joe Malkasian Committee Clerk