Record of Committee Proceedings

Joint Committee on Finance

Assembly Bill 1021

Relating to: increasing and expanding the retirement income subtraction. By Representatives Steffen, Kitchens, Allen, Armstrong, August, Behnke, Binsfeld, Born, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Donovan, Edming, Goeben, Green, Gundrum, Hurd, Katsma, Krug, Kurtz, Macco, Magnafici, Maxey, Melotik, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Myers, Nedweski, O'Connor, Oldenburg, Penterman, Petryk, Plumer, Rettinger, Schmidt, Schraa, Schutt, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Tranel, Wichgers, Wittke and Swearingen; cosponsored by Senators Cabral-Guevara, Wimberger, Ballweg, Bradley, Jagler, Felzkowski, Feyen, Marklein, Nass, Quinn, Stroebel, Testin, Wanggaard and Tomczyk.

Referred to Joint Committee on Finance January 29, 2024

February 01, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

> Senator Marklein; Representative Born; Present: (15)Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Testin, Wimberger, L. Johnson and Roys; Representatives Katsma, Rodriguez, Kurtz, Dallman, McGuire and Andraca.

Absent: (0)None.

Excused: (1) Representative Zimmerman.

Appearances For

- Representative David Steffen 4th Assembly Dist
- Senator Eric Wimberger 30th Senate Dist

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Paul Roleski WI Property Taxypayers
- Alex Ignatowski IRG Action Fund
- Evan Umpir WMC
- Senator Rachael Cabral-Guevara 19th Senate Dist

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 07, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Senator Marklein; Representative Born; Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Testin, Wimberger, L. Johnson and Roys; Representatives Katsma, Zimmerman, Kurtz, Dallman, McGuire and Andraca.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Rodriguez.

Moved by Representative Born, seconded by Senator Marklein that **Assembly Bill 1021** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (11) Senator Marklein; Representative Born; Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Testin and Wimberger; Representatives Katsma, Zimmerman, Kurtz and Dallman.

Noes: (4) Senators L. Johnson and Roys; Representatives McGuire and Andraca.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 4

Joe Malkasian Committee Clerk