Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture and Tourism

Senate Bill 134

Relating to: farmland preservation agreements and tax credits.

By Senators Testin, Taylor, Pfaff, Spreitzer, Ballweg, Hesselbein, Marklein, Quinn, Smith, Tomczyk, Carpenter, Roys and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Oldenburg, Novak, Shankland, Tranel, C. Anderson, Considine, Hurd, Jacobson, Mursau, Schmidt, VanderMeer, Bare, Joers, Krug, Nedweski, Penterman and Subeck.

March 23, 2023 Referred to Committee on Agriculture and Tourism

April 20, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Senator Ballweg; Senators Tomczyk, Marklein, Quinn, Pfaff, Smith, Spreitzer and Hesselbein.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Senator Testin.

Appearances For

- Land and resource manager at DATCP Katy Smith -DATCP
- Farman preservation program manager Wednesday Coye
 DATCP
- Rep Loren Oldenburg
- Chad Zuleger Dairy Business Association
- Tim Fiocchi Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation
- Matt Krueger WI Land and Water Conservation Assn
- Senator Brad Pfaff

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Association Of Professional Agricultural Consultants
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Cattlemens Association
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Farm Credit Services
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Pork Association

- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Potato And Vegetable Growers Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Soybean Association
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin State Cranberry Growers Association
- Senator Patrick Testin SD24
- Senator Mark Spreitzer
- Policy Coordinator Michelle Ramirez-White Wisconsin Farmers Union
- Tom Bressner WI Agri Business Assn
- Peter Burress Wisconsin Conservation Voters
- Bob Welch WI Corn Growers Assoc
- Bob Welch WI BioFuels Assoc

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

May 08, 2023 **Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot**

Present: (9) Senator Ballweg; Senators Tomczyk, Marklein, Testin, Quinn, Pfaff, Smith, Spreitzer and

Hesselbein.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Bill 134** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Senator Ballweg; Senators Tomczyk, Marklein, Testin, Quinn, Pfaff, Smith, Spreitzer and Hesselbein.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

David Specht-Boardman
Committee Clerk