Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture and Tourism

Senate Bill 468

Relating to: eligibility for farmland preservation tax credits.

By Senators Tomczyk, Cowles, Marklein, Nass, Stroebel and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Schutt, Behnke, Bodden, Donovan, Goeben, Green, Gustafson, Hurd, Kitchens, Kurtz, Macco, Melotik, Michalski, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, O'Connor, Penterman, Plumer, Rettinger and Wichgers.

September 29, 2023 Referred to Committee on Agriculture and Tourism

January 10, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Senator Ballweg; Senators Tomczyk, Marklein,

Testin, Quinn, Pfaff, Smith and Spreitzer.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Ellen Schutt
- Scott Fleming
- Jason Mugnaini WI Farm Bureau

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Senator Cory Tomczyk

Registrations Against

• Erik Kanter - Clean Wisconsin

Registrations for Information Only

• Mike Kuglitsch - Clean Grid Alliance, dba Powering Wisconsin

January 11, 2024 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (8) Senator Ballweg; Senators Tomczyk, Marklein, Testin, Quinn, Pfaff, Smith and Spreitzer.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Senator Ballweg; Senators Tomczyk, Marklein, Testin, Quinn, Smith and Spreitzer.

Noes: (1) Senator Pfaff.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 1

Moved by that **Senate Bill 468** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (5) Senator Ballweg; Senators Tomczyk, Marklein, Testin and Quinn.

Noes: (3) Senators Pfaff, Smith and Spreitzer.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

David Specht-Boardman Committee Clerk