Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 330

Relating to: increasing the per pupil payments in parental choice programs and the Special Needs Scholarship program and the per pupil payments made to independent charter schools and increasing the revenue ceiling for school districts.

By Senators Stroebel, Hutton and Jagler; cosponsored by Representative Vos.

June 09	9, 2023	Referred	to Committee	on Education
---------	---------	----------	--------------	--------------

June 12, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(7)	Senator Jagler; Senators Quinn, Nass, Stroebel,
		Cabral-Guevara, Larson and L. Johnson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Sen. Duey Stroebel
- James Bender Wisconsin Independent Charter School Advocates
- Howard Fuller Wisconsin Independent. Charter School Advocates
- Jadius McGhee Wisconsin Independent Charter School Advocates
- Karla Vega-Guzman
- Nataly Andrade Hispanics For School Choice
- Colleston Morgan City Forward Collective
- John Hoch St. Thomas More High School
- Aryeh Borsuk Yeshiva school

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- James Bender Badger institute
- James Bender The Lincoln Academy
- Jerry Ponio Americans for Prosperity
- Susan Mitchell SCW and Scwa
- CEO and Founder Kaleem Caire One City Schools

- Rachel Ver Velde WMC
- Speaker Robin Vos Assembly author of SB 330
- Rabbi Chaim Twerski Yeshiva school
- David Earleywine Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Policy Director Kyle Koenen Wisconsin Institute for Law & Liberty
- Brian Pleva Northwestern Mutual
- Executive Director Sharon Schmeling WI Council of Religious and Independent Schools
- VP of Governmental Affairs Andrew Davis MMAC
- Alex Ignatowski Institute for Reforming Government

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

Present:	(7)	Senator Jagler; Senators Quinn, Nass, Stroebel,
		Cabral-Guevara, Larson and L. Johnson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Senator Jagler, seconded by Senator Cabral-Guevara that **Senate Bill 330** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (6) Senator Jagler; Senators Quinn, Nass, Stroebel, Cabral-Guevara and L. Johnson.
- Noes: (1) Senator Larson.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 1

Charlie Bellin Committee Clerk