Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 395

Relating to: restrictions on the revenue ceiling for school districts.

By Senators Testin, Wanggaard, Ballweg, Cowles, Felzkowski, Larson, Pfaff, Smith, Spreitzer and Quinn; cosponsored by Representatives Green, Armstrong, C. Anderson, Binsfeld, Dittrich, Doyle, Goeben, S. Johnson, Novak, Oldenburg, Ortiz-Velez, Sapik, Schmidt, Shankland, Steffen, Considine and Tittl.

August 25, 2023 Referred to Committee on Education

September 26, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present: (7) Senator Jagler; Senators Quinn, Nass, Stroebel,

Cabral-Guevara, Larson and L. Johnson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Director of Business Services Thomas Owens Stevens Point Area Public School District, WASBO, WSAA
- Executive director of Business Servi es Robert Chady -School District of Beloit
- Superintendent Willie Garrison School District of Beloit
- Director of Business Services Ross MacPherson Milton School District
- Richard Dahman School District of Milton
- Dr. Tonya Olson Lake Mills Area School District
- Superintendent Rich Appel School District of Horicon
- Superintendent Sam Russ Sparta Area School District
- District Administrator Kevin Yeske School District of Auburndale
- Senator Patrick Testin 24 Senate District

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Director of Business Services Tasha Naylor
- Christopher Kulow WASB

- Dee Pettack Saa
- Senator Mark Spreitzer Himself
- Legislative Liaison Kevyn Radcliffe Department of Public Instruction
- Representative Chanz Green

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

September 28, 2023 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (7) Senator Jagler; Senators Quinn, Nass, Stroebel, Cabral-Guevara, Larson and L. Johnson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that Senate Bill 395 be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (7) Senator Jagler; Senators Quinn, Nass, Stroebel, Cabral-Guevara, Larson and L. Johnson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Charlie Bellin

Committee Clerk