Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 240

Relating to: directing school boards to provide instruction on Hmong Americans and Asian Americans.

By Senators Tomczyk, James, Agard, Cabral-Guevara, Pfaff and Spreitzer; cosponsored by Representatives Snyder, Tusler, Hong, Shankland, C. Anderson, Andraca, Armstrong, Baldeh, Behnke, Cabrera, Clancy, Conley, Considine, Donovan, Doyle, Drake, Emerson, Goyke, Jacobson, Joers, Kitchens, Madison, Mursau, Ortiz-Velez, Palmeri, Ratcliff, Stubbs, Subeck, Vining, Sinicki, Wichgers and Allen.

April 14, 2023 Referred to Committee on Education

January 23, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (7) Senator Jagler; Senators Quinn, Nass, Stroebel,

Cabral-Guevara, Larson and L. Johnson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Patrick Snyder 85th Assembly District
- Educational Leader Duy Nguyen
- Kabby Hong 2022 Wi teacher of the year
- Representative Francesca Hong 76th AD
- Nathan Ugoretz WEAC Wisconsin Education Association Council
- Kaleb Her
- Zon Moua Freedom Inc
- Hope Vang Freedom, Inc.
- Uw madison researcher Tony Delarosa Independent community member
- Deepak Jonnalagedda
- Mr Emilio DE torre The Milwaukee Turners
- Autumn Fearing-Kabler
- Yee Leng Xiong

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- CEO Ana Simpson Girl Scouts Of Wisconsin Southeast
- Rep. Katrina Shankland
- Mrs Mary Lou Yang Green Bay Asian Allies United
- Chai Moua
- Cecilia Thao Freedom Inc.
- Youth Justice Organizer Zoua Pa Yang Freedom, Inc
- Ann Yang Freedom Inc
- Sen Cory Tomczyk
- Ms. Kevyn Radcliffe DPI
- Laura Lahti AMASIAN SB 240

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 27, 2024 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (7) Senator Jagler; Senators Quinn, Nass, Stroebel, Cabral-Guevara, Larson and Agard.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Bill 240** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (6) Senator Jagler; Senators Quinn, Nass, Cabral-Guevara, Larson and Agard.

Noes: (1) Senator Stroebel.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 1

Charlie Bellin

Committee Clerk