Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Financial Institutions and Sporting Heritage

Senate Bill 139

Relating to: establishing a statewide wolf population goal.

By Senators Stafsholt, Cowles, Felzkowski, Marklein, Quinn, Stroebel, Testin and Tomczyk; cosponsored by Representatives Green, Armstrong, Behnke, Bodden, Brooks, Callahan, Dallman, Edming, Gustafson, Magnafici, Mursau, Penterman, Pronschinske, Sapik, Schutt, Summerfield, Tittl, Swearingen, Schraa and Rozar.

March 23, 2023 Referred to Committee on Financial Institutions and Sporting Heritage

September 21, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(5)	Senator Stafsholt; Senators Felzkowski,
		Tomczyk, Spreitzer and Hesselbein.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Senator Rob Stafsholt 10th Senate District
- Representative Chanz Green 74th Assembly District
- Luke Hilgemann T. Roosevelt Action
- Chris Vaughan Hunter Nation
- Scott Goetzka Whitetails of WI/ Wisconsin Game Preserve Association
- Lucas Withrow Self
- George Meyer Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Tim Fiocci Wisconsin Farm Bureau

Appearances Against

• Randy Johnson & Eric Lobner - WI DNR

Appearances for Information Only

• Scott Pitta - Self

Registrations For

- George Meyer Self
- Lucas Withrow Wisconsin Sporting Dogs Association
- Robert Matthews Congressional Sportsman's Foundation
- Mark Wadium Outagamie County Board of Supervisors
- Scott Meyer Self

- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Cattlemen's Association
- Jim Steineke & Bob Welch Wisconsin Bear Hunters Association
- Joel Kleefisch Safari Club International
- Rob Bohmann Wisconsin Conservation Congress

Registrations Against

- Megan Nicholson Humane Society of the United States
- Peter Burress Wisconsin Conservation Voters

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

September 28, 2023 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present:(5)Senator Stafsholt; Senators Felzkowski,
Tomczyk, Spreitzer and Hesselbein.Absent:(0)None.Excused:(0)None.

Moved by that Senate Bill 139 be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (3) Senator Stafsholt; Senators Felzkowski and Tomczyk.
- Noes: (2) Senators Spreitzer and Hesselbein.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Sharlene Konkel Committee Clerk