Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Senate Bill 143

Relating to: the use of certain words and terms that refer to a physician. By Senators Cabral-Guevara, Roys and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Magnafici, Dittrich, Murphy and Rozar.

March 23, 2023 Referred to Committee on Health

May 24, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (6) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Mark Grapentine Wisconsin Medical Society
- Ms Gina Dennik-Champion Wisconsin Nurses Association
- Deanna Birling

Appearances Against

- Dr Rob Cadwallader CSW
- Dr Brian Wussow Chiropractic Society of Wisconsin
- Jenna Palzkill WI Association of Nurse Anesthetists
- Joe Rodriguez American Association of Nurse Anesthesiology
- Dr Gene Yellen Shiring Self
- Dr Heather Miley Wisconsin Chiropractic Association
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Veterinary Medical Association
- Jo-ell Carson Wisconsin Veterinary Medical Association
- Dr. Jeffrey Clements Wisconsin Optometric Association
- Executive Vice President Peter Theo Wisconsin optometric Association

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Diane Schadewald

- Dr. Gregg Bogost Wisconsin Radiological Society
- Jennifer Popies WIACNS
- Katherine Rembalski Wisconsin clinical nurse specialists
- Dr. Molly Liddell
- Dr Allison Wier WIACNS
- Michael Welsh Wi Dermatological Society
- Rep Gae Magnafici 28th Assembly district
- DR Carol Klingbeil UWMPs and CNS
- Dr Rosina Bloomingdale APRN, CNS, UWMilwaukee
- Nathan Butzlaff Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians
- Dr Gina Bryan Tellurian Inc
- Cns Brittany Dimaggio
- Dr. April Garcia SSM Health
- Mrs Marni Hebert WNA
- Dr. Michael Bottcher WI Society of Anesthesiologists
- Greg Hubbard WI Psychiatric Association
- Dr. Tony Thrasher WI Psychiatric Association
- Dr David Nash Wisconsin Academy of Ophthalmology
- Dr. Kerry Ahrens WI Chapter, American College of Emergency Physicians

Registrations Against

- Zach Kasun Self
- John Murray WI Chiropractic Association

Registrations for Information Only

Jaclyn Wirkus

October 04, 2023 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (6) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Bill 143** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (2) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senator Hesselbein.

Noes: (4) Senators Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque and Carpenter.

PASSAGE, Ayes 2, Noes 4

Michael Moscicke Committee Clerk