Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Senate Bill 145

Relating to: advanced practice registered nurses, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, and granting rule-making authority.

By Senators Testin, Cabral-Guevara, Roys, Ballweg, Cowles, Felzkowski, Jacque, Marklein, Nass, Quinn, Stroebel and Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Magnafici, Armstrong, Behnke, Bodden, Dittrich, Donovan, Green, Gundrum, Gustafson, S. Johnson, Kitchens, Krug, Kurtz, Macco, Murphy, Nedweski, Novak, Rodriguez, Schmidt, Schutt, Sortwell, Spiros, Steffen, Tittl, Tusler, Wichgers and Schraa.

April 03, 2023 Referred to Committee on Health

May 24, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (6) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Dr. Jen Yeager Testifying in support of SB 145
- Diane Schadewald
- Alyson Leon
- Alyssa Pollow Self
- Ms Georgina Dennik-Champion Wisconsin Nurses Association
- Jennifer Popies WIACNS
- Amie Neumaier
- Tina Bettin WNA NP FORUM AND SELF
- Fnp Jean Roedl
- TERRI VANDENHOUTEN Self
- Dr Jeff Bauer Self
- Fnp Cathy Devalk-holl Self
- Jake Brehm Tailored FamilyCare Clinic
- Rep Gae Magnafici 28th Assembly district
- Jenna Palzkill WI Association of Nurse Anesthetists
- DR Carol Klingbeil UWMPs and CNS
- Dr Lisa Hanson
- Dr. Gina Bryan Tellurian Inc
- Jonathan Gelfman Shalem Healing

- Ms Margot Walker SB 145
- Dr Barbara Nichols Wisconsin center for nursing

Appearances Against

• Mark Grapentine - Wisconsin Medical Society

Appearances for Information Only

Robert Jaskulski - Wisconsin Association For Justice

Registrations For

- Shannan Cantu Santoli
- Clinical nurse specialist Katherine Walczak Not speaking self
- Jennifer Backes
- Joseph Liggett Self
- Mrs Jill Redding Self
- Michael Redding Self
- Deanna Birling Myself
- Forbes McIntosh Oneida Nation
- Katherine Rembalski Wisconsin clinical nurse specialists
- Kathy Bruning WIACNS
- Elizabeth Evans
- Michael Pochowski Wisconsin Assisted Living Association
- Dr Allison Wier WIACNS
- Dr. Molly Liddell
- Clinical nurse specialist Angela Burns
- Jaclyn Wirkus
- Devinne Bahr
- Cassidy Gomez
- Rn Kathy Back
- CRNA Jenea Waraxa
- Amy Boyer UnitedHealthcare
- Melissa Paulson-Conger
- Dr Rebecca Gilbertson Tailored family care clinic
- Stephanie Kraus
- Joe Rodriguez American Association of Nurse Anesthesiology
- Dr Rosina Bloomingdale APRN, CNS, UWMilwaukee
- Rachel Ver Velde WMC
- Sierra Legg ACNM
- Dianne Danis Nurses
- Dr Erin Tenney Herself
- Rebecca Hogan ACNM

- Jack O'Meara
- Mary Czech-Mrochinski Marquette University
- Govt. Affairs Associate Chelsea Shanks WI Counties Association
- Cns Brittany Dimaggio
- Teri White Wisconsin nursesaN
- CNS Jonathan Milton
- Clinical Professor Roberta Pawlak WNA Public Policy
- Jack O'Meara Wisconsin Association of School Nurses
- Dr. April Garcia SSM Health
- Np Kimberly Day Family Nurse Practitioners
- Peter Welch Concordia University wi
- Mrs Marni Hebert WNA
- Bob Welch Wisconsin nurses association
- Afp state director Meg Novak Americans for Prospertg

Registrations Against

- Dr. Gregg Bogost Wisconsin Radiological Society
- Michael Welsh Wi Dermatological Society
- Nathan Butzlaff Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians
- Dr. Michael Bottcher WI Society of Anesthesiologists
- Greg Hubbard WI Psychiatric Association
- Dr. Tony Thrasher WI Psychiatric Association
- Dr David Nash Wisconsin Academy of Ophthalmology
- Dr. Kerry Ahrens WI Chapter, American College of Emergency Physicians

Registrations for Information Only

None.

October 04, 2023 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (6) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Bill 145** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (4) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Testin, Felzkowski and Jacque.

Noes: (2) Senators Hesselbein and Carpenter.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 2

Michael Moscicke Committee Clerk