Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Senate Bill 948

Relating to: healthy food incentive program.

By Senators Ballweg, Carpenter, Pfaff, Quinn, Roys, Spreitzer and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives Joers, Hurd, Vining, Behnke, Penterman, Ratcliff, Rozar, Schmidt, C. Anderson, J. Anderson, Andraca, Baldeh, Bare, Clancy, Conley, Considine, Donovan, Drake, Edming, Emerson, S. Johnson, Madison, Melotik, Moore Omokunde, Mursau, Novak, O'Connor, Ohnstad, Palmeri, Schutt, Shankland, Shelton, Sinicki, Snodgrass, Stubbs, Subeck, Krug, Neubauer, Brandtjen and Jacobson.

January 26, 2024 Referred to Committee on Health

February 06, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (6) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Testin,

Felzkowski, Jacque, L. Johnson and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Nicole Hudzinski American Heart Association
- Sally Zirbel Donisch American Heart Association
- Representative Alex Joers
- State Representative Karen Hurd 68th Assembly District
- Senator Joan Ballweg
- Ashleigh Spitza Children's Wisconsin
- Rep Karen Hurd 68th Assembly District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Mike Semmann Wi grocers
- Jordan Lamb Feeding WI
- Ben Van Pelt SSM Health
- Jennifer Shilling Mayo Clinic Health System
- Sara Sahli American Cancer Society- Cancer Action Network

- Jeremy Levin Rural WI Health Cooperative
- Tim Fiocchi WI Farm Bureau
- Carrie Chapman American heart association
- Tim Hoven Wisconsin academy of nutrition and dietetics
- Tim Hoven Wisconsin Association of Local Health department and boards
- Tim Hoven Wisconsin Public health association
- Richelle Andrae WI Primary Health Care Association
- Matt Wimmer Bellin Gundersen Health System
- Annie Bockhop UW Health

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

- HJ Waukau Department of Health Services
- HJ Waukau Department of Health Services

February 15, 2024 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (6) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, L. Johnson and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Felzkowski, Jacque, L. Johnson and Carpenter.

Noes: (1) Senator Testin.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 1

Moved that **Senate Bill 948** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (5) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Felzkowski, Jacque, L. Johnson and Carpenter.

Noes: (1) Senator Testin.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 1

Michael Moscicke Committee Clerk