Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation and Local Government

Senate Bill 212

Relating to: restrictions on use or sale of motor vehicles based on power source. By Senators Tomczyk, Bradley, Cabral-Guevara, Feyen, Marklein, Quinn, Testin, Wanggaard, Felzkowski and Nass; cosponsored by Representatives Schutt, Green, Armstrong, Behnke, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Edming, Gustafson, Maxey, Michalski, Murphy, O'Connor, Rozar, Sapik, Schmidt, Sortwell, Spiros, Tranel, VanderMeer, Plumer and Rettinger.

April 03, 2023 Referred to Committee on Transportation and Local Government

April 12, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Tomczyk; Senators Cowles, Hutton, Carpenter and Pfaff.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Ed Cassel Milwaukee Model T Club
- Mr Steve Panten ABATE of Wisconsin
- Grass roots snowmobiler Greg Roscizewski -Snowmobiling and motorsports enthusiasts
- Wayne Ball Myself & small farms
- David Dwyer Motorcycle Riders Foundation
- Bill Sepic Automobile & Truck Dealers Association
- Representative Ellen Schutt
- Sen. Cory Tomczyk
- Dan Johnson Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association
- Craig Summerfield Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Ed Cassel Oconto Area ATV Club
- Mr. Robert Tieberg Waukesha old car club
- Mr Mike Halvorson Twin Lakes Country Club

- Ed Cassel Green Bay Yacht Club
- Ex dir John Reblin Abate of wisconsin
- Matt Hauser WPMCA
- Catherine McDermott American petroleum Institute
- State director Megan Novak Americans for Prosperity
- Andy Engel Alliance for Automotive Innovation
- Michelle Kussow Wisconsin Propane Gas Association
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses

Registrations Against

• Peter Burress - Wisconsin Conservation Voters

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

June 01, 2023 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (5) Senator Tomczyk; Senators Cowles, Hutton, Carpenter and Pfaff.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Bill 212** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (3) Senator Tomczyk; Senators Cowles and Hutton.

Committee Clerk

Noes: (2) Senators Carpenter and Pfaff.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Michael Donatello