Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Universities and Revenue

Senate Bill 268

Relating to: Department of Revenue enforcement and providing a penalty. By Senators Wanggaard, Taylor, Cowles and James; cosponsored by Representatives Spiros, Drake, Macco, Steffen, Gundrum, Ohnstad, O'Connor, Considine, Subeck, Donovan, Baldeh, Palmeri, Goyke, Conley, C. Anderson, Wittke, Green and Summerfield.

May 02, 2023 Referred to Committee on Universities and Revenue

August 17, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Nass,

Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Larson, Roys and

Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Chief Kirk Schend Lottery Security
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association
- Officer Gunner Witthun Fall River Police Department
- Chief of Police Ronald Spurbeck Fall River Police Department
- Senator Van Wanggaard 21 Senate District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Tanner Gregory Wisconsin Lottery Security
- Director Richard Fitzgerald Lottery security
- Matt Swenkofske MolsonCoors
- Rep John Spiros 86th Assembly District
- Andrew Davis MMAC
- Joe Zietlow Kwik Trip
- Andy Engel Walmart
- Mike Semmann WI Grocers Association
- Matthew Hauser Wisconsin Fuel & Retail Association

- Alice OConnor WPPA
- Executive Director Jim Palmer WPPA
- Steve Lyons Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- State Rep. Dora Drake
- Tom Fonfara Wisconsin Craft Beverage coalition
- Tom Moore Mark Anthony Brands

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

September 06, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (8) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Nass, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Larson, Roys and Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Hutton, seconded by Senator James that **Senate Bill 268** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (7) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Larson, Roys and Smith.

Noes: (1) Senator Nass.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 1

Nicholas Esbeck

Committee Clerk