Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 61

Relating to: injuring or killing a police or fire animal and providing a penalty. By Representatives Nedweski, Dittrich, Piwowarczyk, Andraca, Armstrong, Behnke, Brill, Callahan, Donovan, Goeben, Gundrum, B. Jacobson, Kaufert, Kitchens, Kreibich, Maxey, Miresse, O'Connor, Penterman, Sinicki, Steffen, Tittl and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, Carpenter, L. Johnson, Marklein and Nass.

February 24, 2025 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

March 05, 2025 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Piwowarczyk, Duchow, Novak, Steffen,
Sortwell, Donovan, Melotik, B. Jacobson,
Franklin, Emerson, Doyle, McGuire, Taylor
and Spaude.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Amanda Nedweski 32nd Assembly District
- Senator Van Wanggaard 21st Senate District
- Sergeant Terry Tifft and K9 Riggs Kenosha County Sheriff's Office
- Sheriff David Zoerner Kenosha County Sheriff's Office
- Chief Jim Olson WI Chiefs of Police Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Captain Eric Klinkhammer and K9 Mika Kenosha County Sheriff's Office
- Deputy Tyler Brady Kenosha County Sheriff's Office
- Deputy John Lanctot and K9 Fritz Kenosha County Sheriff's Office

- Deputy John Booth and K9 Riv Kenosha County Sheriff's Office
- Deputy Matt Kasulke and K9 Arlo Kenosha County Sheriff's Office
- Tyler Clark Badger State Sheriffs Association
- Tyler Clark WI Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Mahlon Mitchell Professional Fire Fighters Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

March 11, 2025 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Piwowarczyk, Duchow, Novak, Steffen,
Sortwell, Donovan, Melotik, B. Jacobson,
Franklin, Emerson, Doyle, McGuire, Taylor

and Spaude.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Duchow, seconded by Representative Novak that **Assembly Bill 61** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Piwowarczyk, Duchow, Novak, Steffen,
Sortwell, Donovan, Melotik, B. Jacobson,
Franklin, Emerson, Doyle, McGuire, Taylor
and Spaude.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Suzy Geroux

Committee Clerk