Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 1

Relating to: changes to the educational assessment program and the school and school district accountability report.

By Representatives Wittke, Novak, O'Connor, Kreibich, Tusler, Gundrum, Duchow, Penterman, Murphy, Sortwell, Born, Maxey, Behnke, Melotik, Mursau, Piwowarczyk, Nedweski, Gustafson, Donovan, Green, Dittrich, Dallman, Brill, B. Jacobson, Rodriguez, Spiros, Allen, Knodl, Kaufert and Moses; cosponsored by Senators Jagler, Quinn, Feyen, Wanggaard, Tomczyk, Nass, Bradley, Wimberger, Kapenga, Marklein, James, Jacque, Testin and Cabral-Guevara.

January 31, 2025 Referred to Committee on Education

February 06, 2025 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(11)	Representative Kitchens; Representatives
		Goeben, Duchow, Snyder, Penterman, Melotik,
		Brill, Hong, Cruz, Phelps and Sheehan.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Mursau and Dittrich.

Appearances For

- Senator John Jagler 13th Senate District
- Representative Robert Wittke 63rd Assembly District
- Colleston Morgan CFC Action Fund
- Kyle Koenen Wisconsin Institute for Law and Liberty
- Laura Ackman Moms 4 Liberty
- Scarlet Johnson Moms for Liberty

Appearances Against

• Tom McCarthy - Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Appearances for Information Only

- Jason Stein Wisconsin Policy Forum
- Amanda Ward Moms 4 Liberty Waupaca

Registrations For

- Evan Eagleson Excel in Ed in Action
- Jim Bender Badger Institute/WI Charter Action
- Rep. Todd Novak 51st Assembly District
- JJ Sherman MMAC

- Jon Plumer MacIver Impact
- Rachel VerVelde WMC
- Paul Rozeski Wisconsin Property Taxpayers
- Brittany Kinser

Registrations Against

• Dave Considine

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 13, 2025 Executive Session Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Kitchens; Representatives
		Goeben, Mursau, Duchow, Snyder, Dittrich,
		Penterman, Melotik, Brill, Hong, Cruz, Phelps
		and Sheehan.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Penterman, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Bill 1** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(9)	Representative Kitchens; Representatives
		Goeben, Mursau, Duchow, Snyder, Dittrich,
		Penterman, Melotik and Brill.
Noes:	(4)	Representatives Hong, Cruz, Phelps and

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Sheehan.

Bob Delaporte Committee Clerk