# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Energy and Utilities**

#### For the Public Hearing on 03/4/2025 02:00 PM

#### Assembly Bill 25

Relating to: an incumbent transmission facility owner's right to construct, own, and maintain certain transmission facilities and Public Service Commission procedures if the transmission facility is a regionally cost-shared transmission line.

By Representative Petersen; cosponsored by Senator LeMahieu.

February 13, 2025 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

Present:	(13)	Representative Steffen; Representatives
		Summerfield, Callahan, Green, Tittl, Neylon,
		O'Connor, Sortwell, Tranel, Subeck, Moore
		Omokunde, Stubbs and McCarville.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

#### Appearances For

- Representative Kevin Petersen 57th Assembly District
- Senator Devin LeMahieu 9th Senate District
- Representative Karen Hurd 69th Assembly District
- Jessie Singerhouse Dunn Energy Cooperative
- Nick Kumm Marshfield Utilities--MEUW
- Mike Peters WPPI Energy
- Al Felsenthal Self
- Karl Hoesly Xcel Energy
- Mike Hofbauer ATC
- Su Tzu-Yuan Dairyland Power Cooperative
- Bill Skewes Wisconsin Utilities Association
- Ryan Walsh Wisconsin Utilities Association

#### Appearances Against

- Josiah Neeley R Street Institute
- Megan Novak AFP-Wisconsin
- Tom Content Citizens Utility Board of Wisconsin
- Representative Dan Knodl 24th Assembly District
- Bryant Esch WI Cast Metals Association (WIEG panel)
- Marco Gonzalez Charter Manufacturing (WIEG Panel)
- Lane Ruhland WI Industrial Energy Group
- Randy Pilo WI Industrial Energy Group

- Todd Stuart WI Industrial Energy Group
- Eric Olson PhD

### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

### Registrations For

- Nick Webber IBEW Utility Local Unions
- AJ Wilson IBEW State Conference
- Corey Gall WI Pipe Trades Association
- Steve Kwaterski WI Laborers District Council
- Steve Conway ITC
- Andrew Disch Carpenters Union
- Joseph Owen WPPI Energy
- Robb Kahl Construction Business Group
- Kristin Gilkes Customers First Coalition
- Ryan Huebsch Wisconsin Conservative Energy Forum
- David Aguayo Greater Madison Chamber of Commerce
- Stamena Mesec International Union of Operating Engineers Local #139
- Michael Welsh WI Economic Development Association
- Matthew Spencer Madison Gas & Electric
- Joel Haubrich WEC Energy Group
- Joe Mesec WECA

### Registrations Against

- Senator Chris Kapenga 33rd Senate District
- Representative Chanz Green 74th Assembly District
- John Schulze ABC Wisconsin
- Representative Clint Moses 92nd Assembly District
- Tim Lindl Viridon
- Nick Novak Midwest Food Products Association
- Annette Olson MacIver Institute
- Katie Nekola Clean Wisconsin
- Representative Travis Tranel 49th Assembly District
- Representative Duke Tucker 75 Assembly District
- Representative Elijah Behnke 6th Assembly District
- Representative Dave Maxey 83rd Assembly District
- Representative Dave Murphy 56th Assembly District
- Representative Joy Goeben 5th Assembly District
- Representative Nate Gustafson 55th Assembly District
- Representative Rick Gundrum 58th Assembly District
- Representative Lindee Brill 27th Assembly District
- Senator Steve Nass 11th Senate District

- Martin Hernandez AARP Wisconsin
- Isaac Orr Always on Energy Research
- Kyle Koenen Wisconsin Institute for Law and Liberty
- Randal Pilo WIEG
- Representative Chuck Wichgers 84th Assembly District

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

Nicole Walentowski-Domokos Committee Clerk