Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

For the Public Hearing on 04/23/2025 01:00 PM

Senate Bill 181

Relating to: a levy limit exemption for regional emergency medical systems and eligibility for the expenditure restraint incentive program.

By Senators Marklein, James, Cabral-Guevara, Nass, Pfaff, Spreitzer and Testin; cosponsored by Representatives Kurtz, Gustafson, Behnke, Dittrich, Donovan, Duchow, Franklin, Green, Kaufert, Kitchens, Maxey, Melotik, Moses, Mursau, Neubauer, Palmeri, Piwowarczyk, Steffen, Subeck, Udell, VanderMeer and Nedweski.

April 14, 2025 Referred to Committee on Health

Present: (5) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Testin, James, Smith and Drake.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- State Senator Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- City Administrator Brandon Hennes City of Omro
- Chief Bruce Peterson Fort Atkinson Fire Dept
- Chief Lynn Kirschbaum Glen Haven Volunteer Fire Department
- Fire Chief Robert Whitaker North Shore Fire Department
- Fire Chief Randall Pickering Edgerton Fire Protection District
- Executive Director Alan DeYoung Wisconsin EMS Association
- Deputy Chief EMS Jon Schultz City of Eau Claire
- Village Administrator Logan Fuller The Village of Winneconne
- Matt Schuenke Village of McFarland
- Fire Chief Christopher Dallas Wisconsin State Fire Chiefs
- Fire Chief Steve Denzien Wisconsin State Fire Chiefs Association
- Government Affairs Director Toni Herkert League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Joe Ruth Wisconsin Towns Association

- Allan Weckwerth Town of Princeton chair, Green Lake County
- Chief Christopher Leopold Mauston EMS
- State Representative Tony Kurtz 41st Assembly District
- Tim Fiocchi Wisconsin Farm Bureau
- Jerry Biggart Professional Fire Fighters of WI
- Richland County Chief of Emergency Services Michael Jessen Richland County Emergency Services

Appearances Against

 Vice President of Legal and Public Affairs Cori Lamont -Wisconsin REALTORS Association

Appearances for Information Only

 Rural EMS Outreach program Manager James Small -Wisconsin Office of Rural Health

Registrations For

- Councilman David Wiese City of Omro
- Fire Chief Matthew Jaggar City of Eau Claire Fire Department
- Deputy Chief Steve Bakos Marshfield Fire and Rescue Department
- Deputy Chief Damian Kruse Mauston EMS
- Fire Chief Joe Pulvermacher Wisconsin State Fire Chiefs Association
- Chris Anderson Professional Ambulance Association of WI
- Wayne Jurecki Bell Ambulance
- Tim Fiocchi Wisconsin Farm Bureau

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

Michael Moscicke
Committee Clerk