<u>Senate</u>

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

For the Public Hearing on 04/23/2025 01:00 PM

Senate Bill 182

Relating to: emergency medical services education, tuition and materials reimbursement for emergency medical responders and emergency medical services practitioners, and a live 911 pilot program.

By Senators Marklein, James, Cabral-Guevara, Nass, Pfaff and Testin; cosponsored by Representatives Kurtz, Novak, Summerfield, Dittrich, Donovan, Duchow, Franklin, Goeben, Green, Gustafson, Kaufert, Kitchens, Knodl, Maxey, Melotik, Murphy, Mursau, Ortiz-Velez, Palmeri, Piwowarczyk, Steffen, Subeck, VanderMeer and Nedweski.

April 14, 2025 Referred to Committee on Health

Present:	(5)	Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Testin,
		James, Smith and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- State Senator Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- City Administrator Brandon Hennes City of Omro
- Chief Lynn Kirschbaum Glen Haven Volunteer Fire Department
- Fire Chief Robert Whitaker North Shore Fire Department
- Executive Director Alan DeYoung Wisconsin EMS Association
- Village Administrator Logan Fuller The Village of Winneconne
- Matt Schuenke Village of McFarland
- Fire Chief Steve Denzien Wisconsin State Fire Chiefs Association
- Government Affairs Director Toni Herkert League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Valerie Bruggeman Superior Ambulance
- Martha Augustine Superior Ambulance
- State Representative Tony Kurtz 41st Assembly District
- Michelle Krysiak Superior Ambulance
- Jerry Biggart Professional Fire Fighters of WI

• Richland County Chief of Emergency Services Michael Jessen - Richland County Emergency Services

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Layla Merrifield - WTCS

Registrations For

- Councilman David Wiese City of Omro
- Deputy Chief Steve Bakos Marshfield Fire and Rescue Department
- Fire Chief Matthew Jaggar City of Eau Claire Fire Department
- Deputy Chief EMS Jon Schultz Eau Claire Fire Dept.
- Joe Ruth Wisconsin Towns Association
- Ben O'Connell Emplify Health
- Deputy Chief Damian Kruse Mauston EMS
- Fire Chief Joe Pulvermacher Wisconsin State Fire Chiefs Association
- Tim Fiocchi Wisconsin Farm Bureau
- Chris Anderson Professional Ambulance Association of WI
- Wayne Jurecki Bell Ambulance

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• Rural EMS Outreach Program Manager James Small - Wisconsin Office of Rural Health

Michael Moscicke Committee Clerk