## <u>Senate</u>

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Utilities and Tourism**

## Senate Bill 96

Relating to: exempting certain electric vehicle charging stations located at a residence from the electric vehicle charging tax.

By Senators Marklein, Testin, Dassler-Alfheim and Spreitzer; cosponsored by Representatives VanderMeer, Dittrich, Clancy, Melotik and Udell.

| March 07, 2025 | Referred to Committee on Utilities and Tourism  |  |  |
|----------------|---|--|--|
| April 30, 2025 | Public Hearing Held   |  |  |
|                | Present:(5)Senator Bradley; Senators Feyen, James,<br>Ratcliff and Smith.Absent:(0)None.Excused:(0)None.  |  |  |
|                | <ul> <li><u>Appearances For</u></li> <li>NATE WEBER - WI DEPT OF REVENUE</li> <li>Sen. Howard Marklein - 17th Senate District</li> </ul>  |  |  |
|                | Appearances Against <ul> <li>None.</li> </ul>   |  |  |
|                | <ul> <li><u>Appearances for Information Only</u></li> <li>None.</li> </ul>  |  |  |
|                | <ul> <li><u>Registrations For</u></li> <li>State Representative 70th Assembly District Nancy<br/>VanderMeer</li> <li>MR WILLIAM SKEWES - WIS. UTILITIES ASSN.</li> <li>Joel Haubrich - WEC Energy Group</li> <li>Matthew Spencer - Madison Gas and Electric</li> <li>Matthew Pagel - Xcel energy</li> <li>Susie Schooff - DairyLand Power Cooperative</li> <li>Kristin Gilkes - Customers first coalition</li> <li>Government Affairs Director Toni Herkert - League of<br/>Wisconsin Municipalities</li> </ul> |  |  |

- Matt Hauser WI Fuel & Retail Association
- Emma Heins Advanced Energy United

- Lobbyist Zachary Hill Alliant energy
- Tyler Vorpagel Municipal Electric Utilities of Wisconsin
- Catherine McDermott Alliance for automotive innovation

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

May 06, 2025 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

| Present: | (5) | Senator Bradley; Senators Feyen, James, |
|----------|-----|---|
|          |     | Ratcliff and Smith.                     |
| Absent:  | (0) | None.                                   |
| Excused: | (0) | None.                                   |

Moved that Senate Bill 96 be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Senator Bradley; Senators Feyen, James, Ratcliff and Smith.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Nik Rettinger Committee Clerk