WHEREAS, Title I of the Crime Control Act of 1973 empowers the Governor to establish and maintain a state planning agency to carry-out the purposes of the Act; and

WHEREAS, it is in the interest of the State of Wisconsin that the Governor encourage local law enforcement and criminal justice improvement efforts through state assistance; and

WHEREAS, the Act provides an opportunity for units of general local government or combinations of such units to participate in the formulation of the comprehensive state criminal justice improvement plan; and

WHEREAS, ten (10) criminal justice planning regions have been established to facilitate local government involvement by Executive Order of the Governor of Wisconsin on June 13, 1972; and

WHEREAS, the Act provides that each state planning agency be responsible to the Governor of each state; and

WHEREAS, the Wisconsin Council on Criminal Justice was duly established by Executive Order of the Governor of Wisconsin on February 21, 1969, and continued in existence by Executive Order of the Governor of Wisconsin on January 20, 1971;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, PATRICK J. LUCEY, Governor of the State of Wisconsin, do hereby order that the Wisconsin Council on Criminal Justice and the several criminal justice planning regions shall continue in existence, and do designate said Council as the state planning agency pursuant to the Crime Control Act of 1973, and do vest said Council with all the powers and responsibilities required to administer Title I of the Act, including the power to appoint such standing and ad hoc committees as appropriate, and do hereby direct the Council to establish by-laws and otherwise administer Title I of the Act consistent with the provisions hereinafter enumerated:

Section I

Membership of the Council and the Executive Director shall be appointed by the Governor and shall report to the Governor on matters relating to policy and administration as may be necessary and shall perform other related functions as designated by the Governor. The Governor shall serve as chairman of the Council and shall designate a first vice-chairman to preside in his absence and a second vice-chairman to preside in the absence of both the chairman and the first vice-chairman. Such officers shall have the powers and responsibilities required to insure the orderly conduct of Council business consistent with Council by-laws.



Section II

The Governor shall appoint an Executive Committee with at least five permanent members and shall designate alternates from among the remaining membership of the Council. The Executive Committee shall be responsible for reviewing all applications for grants and recommending final action to the Governor. Further, the Executive Committee shall give advice and counsel to the Executive Director and provide general oversight of the operation of the agency. Two additional members of the Executive Committee may be designated from among the Council membership in a manner established by Council by-laws.

Section III

The Executive Director shall be chief-of-staff and shall be responsible for the administration of funds received under the Act consistent with provisions of this Order and Council by-laws and shall appoint all other staff pursuant to Chapter 16 of the Wisconsin Statutes.

Section IV

The State of Wisconsin shall be divided into ten (10) criminal justice planning regions. Each region shall have an advisory board known as a Regional Criminal Justice Planning Council composed of not less than 13 nor more than 19 members nominated by the Executive Director of the Council consistent with the provisions of the Act and confirmed by the Governor, except that an area bounded by Milwaukee County shall be in and of itself a criminal justice planning region of special character with its structure and organization established by a Memorandum of Agreement entered into by the Governor, the Mayor of Milwaukee, the Milwaukee County Executive and a designated representative of the Inter-Governmental Cooperation Council of Milwaukee County.

Section V

The ten (10) regions shall be numbered as hereinafter provided and the counties under each region designated shall comprise said region. The consolidation of two or more regions shall be permitted upon the request of a majority of the membership of each of the Regional Criminal Justice Planning Councils affected. Such consolidation shall also require the approval of the Council.

- a) Region One Northwest: Douglas, Bayfield, Ashland, Iron,
 Burnette, Washburn, Sawyer, Price,
 Rusk, Taylor
- b) Region Two Northeast: Vilas, Oneida, Lincoln, Forest, Florence, Langlade, Oconto, Marinette, Menominee, Shawano

c) Region Three - Upper West Central:

Polk, Barron, St. Croix, Pierce, Dunn, Pepin, Eau Claire, Chippewa, Clark

d) Region Four - Lower West Central:

Buffalo, Trempealeau, Jackson, LaCrosse, Monroe, Vernon, Crawford

- e) Region Five Central: Marathon, Wood, Portage, Juneau,
 Adams, Waushara, Marquette, Green Lake
- f) Region Six East Central:

Waupaca, Outagamie, Winnebago, Fond du Lac, Sheboygan, Manitowoc, Calumet, Brown, Kewaunee, Door

g) Region Seven - Southwest:

Grant, Iowa, LaFayette, Green, Richland

h) Region Eight - South Central:

Sauk, Columbia, Dodge, Dane, Jefferson, Rock

i) Region Nine- Southeast: Ozaukee, Washington, Waukesha,

Walworth, Racine, Kenosha

j) Region Ten - Metropolitan Milwaukee:

City of Milwaukee, Milwaukee County, Suburban Municipalities of Milwaukee County

Section VI

The organization and operation of Regional Criminal Justice Planning Councils shall be governed by policy established by the Council provided such policy is consistent with provisions of the Act.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Great Seal of the State of Wisconsin to be affixed. Done at the Capitol in the City of Madison this 274 day of January in the year of our Lord one thousand nine-hundred and seventy-five.

PATRICK J. LUCEY

Govermor

By the Governor

DOUGLAS LAFOLLETTE