
 

Clearinghouse Rule 06-112 

 

 

BEFORE THE 

 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF WISCONSIN 

 

Revisions to Renewable Resource Credits Rule 1-AC-221 

 

 

 

NOTICE OF HEARING 

 

Hearing Date: Monday, December 4, 2006, 9:00 a.m. 

Hearing Location: Public Service Commission, 610 North Whitney 

Way, Madison, WI 

 

Comments Due: 

Wednesday, December 13, 2006– Noon 

 

FAX Due: 

Tuesday, December 12, 2006– Noon 

Address Comments To: 

 Sandra J. Paske, Secretary to the 

 Commission 

 Public Service Commission 

 P.O. Box 7854 

 Madison, WI  53707-7854 

 FAX (608) 266-3957 

 

The Public Service Commission of Wisconsin proposes an order to repeal ch. 

PSC 118.02(5), (9), and (10), 118.03(2) and (3)(a), 118.04(1) and (2)(a) to (d), and 118.05(4); to 

renumber and amend PSC 118.05(6); to amend PSC 118 (title), 118.01, 118.02(7), 118.04(2)(e) 

and (3), 118.05(1), (2) (intro.) and (3), and 118.06(1) and (4)(a); to repeal and recreate 

PSC 118.02(13) and 118.06(2); and to create PSC 118.04(2)(g) and 118.07; relating to a 

renewable resource credit tracking program. 

 

ANALYSIS PREPARED BY THE  

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF WISCONSIN 

 Statutory authority: ss. 196.02(1) and (3), 196.378(3) and 227.11, Stats. 

 Statute interpreted:      s. 196.378, Stats. 

 

 2005 Wis. Act 141 (Act 141) modified Wisconsin’s renewable portfolio standard (RPS), 

which prescribes minimum levels of electric energy that public utilities and electric cooperatives 

must produce from renewable resources for delivery to their customers.  The new law sets a 

specific minimum level for each electric provider, using a baseline of the provider’s average 

renewable energy production for the years 2001, 2002, and 2003: 
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Years  RPS Requirement 

2006 through 2009 Not less than the 2001-2003 baseline percentage 

2010 through 2014 Baseline plus 2 percent 

After 2014 Baseline plus 6 percent 

 

Previously, state law had specified a gradually increasing RPS that started with 

0.5 percent of retail sales in 2001 and would have risen to 2.2 percent by 2011.  Act 141 also 

changes what is defined as a “renewable facility.”  Prior law excluded most of the energy from 

pre-1998 hydroelectric facilities in the state.  Act 141 includes all existing renewable generation 

for the years 2001-2003 to establish the baseline renewable percentage for each electric provider. 

 

If an electric provider delivers more renewable energy to its customers than its RPS 

requirement from a “new” renewable facility that is placed in service after December 31, 2003, 

Act 141 allows the electric provider to create renewable resource credits (RRCs) that can be sold 

or saved for up to four years for future use.  RRCs were also created under prior law, but Act 141 

specifies that these old RRCs will expire on December 31, 2011.  The proposed rules incorporate 

these changes in state law and establish an RRC tracking program, which can be either statewide 

or a multi-state, regional program.  The proposed rules also identify the responsibilities of the 

program administrator, who must establish and operate a system that creates an account for each 

renewable generation facility, each electric provider, and any wholesale supplier that acts as an 

aggregator for its members or customers.  In addition, the tracking system will record the amount 

of electricity each renewable facility in the area produces, will issue a certificate for every RRC, 

and will track RRCs from their creation until an electric provider uses them to meet its RPS or 

otherwise retires them.  The proposed rules give the program administrator authority to audit the 

records of participating renewable generators and to perform any other function the Public 

Service Commission may designate. 

 

INITIAL REGULATORY FLEXIBILITY ANALYSIS 

 

The rule will have no effect on small business. 

 

TEXT OF PROPOSED RULE 

 

The text of the proposed rule is set forth as Attachment A. 

 

FISCAL ESTIMATE 

 

A completed Fiscal Estimate form is included as Attachment B.  There is also no 

financial impact on the private sector. 

 

NOTICE OF HEARING 

 

 NOTICE IS GIVEN that pursuant to s. 227.16(2)(b), Stats., the Commission will hold a 

public hearing on these proposed rule changes in the Amnicon Falls Hearing Room at the Public 
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Service Commission Building, 610 North Whitney Way, Madison, Wisconsin, on Monday, 

December 4, 2006, at 9:00 a.m.  This building is accessible to people in wheelchairs through the 

Whitney Way (lobby) entrance.  Handicapped parking is available on the south side of the 

building. 
 

WRITTEN COMMENTS 
 

 Any person may submit written comments on these proposed rules.  The hearing record 

will remain open for written comments from the public until December 13, 2006.  All written 

comments must include a reference on the filing to docket 1-AC-221.  File by one mode only. 
 

Industry:  File comments using the Electronic Regulatory Filing system.  This may be accessed 

from the Commission’s website psc.wi.gov. 
 

Members of the Public: 
 

 If filing electronically:  Use the Public Comments system or the Electronic Regulatory 

Filing system.  Both of these may be accessed from the Commission’s website psc.wi.gov.  
 

 If filing by mail, courier, or hand delivery:  Address your comments as shown in the box 

on page 1.   
 

 If filing by fax:  Send fax comments to (608) 266-3957.  Fax filing cover sheet must state 

“Official Filing,” the docket number 1-AC-221, and the number of pages (limited to 25 pages for 

fax comments). 

CONTACT PERSON 
 

 Questions regarding this matter should be directed to Paul Helgeson at (608) 266-3905.   

Media questions should be directed to Linda Barth, Director of Governmental and Public Affairs 

at (608) 266-9600.  Hearing or speech-impaired individuals may also use the Commission’s TTY 

number, if calling from Wisconsin (800) 251-8345, if calling from outside Wisconsin 

(608) 267-1479. 
 

 The Commission does not discriminate on the basis of disability in the provision of 

programs, services, or employment.  Any person with a disability who needs accommodations to  

participate in this proceeding or who needs to get this document in a different format should 

contact Paul Helgeson, as indicated in the previous paragraph, as soon as possible. 
 

Dated at Madison, Wisconsin October 12, 2006___ 
 

By the Commission. 

 

/s/ Sandra J. Paske 

__________________________________________ 

Sandra J. Paske 

Secretary to the Commission 

 
SJP:PCH:kcd g:\Rules\Active\1-AC-221\2-Notice of hearing step\NoticeofHeariang.doc 



 

ATTACHMENT A 

 

TEXT OF PROPOSED RULE 

 

 SECTION 1.  Chapter PSC 118 (title) is amended to read: 1 

CHAPTER PSC 118 2 

RENEWABLE RESOURCE CREDIT TRACKING PROGRAM 3 

 SECTION 2.  PSC 118.01 is amended to read: 4 

 PSC 118.01 Scope.  This chapter applies to each Wisconsin electric provider that creates 5 

an RRC or uses an RRC to meet the requirements of s. 196.378 (2) (a), Stats. 6 

 SECTION 3.  PSC 118.02 (5) is repealed. 7 

 SECTION 4.  PSC 118.02 (7) is amended to read: 8 

 PSC 118.02 (7)  "Program administrator" means the person responsible for carrying who 9 

carries out the administrative responsibilities related to the renewable resource credit trading 10 

tracking program. 11 

 SECTION 5.  PSC 118.02 (9) and (10) are repealed. 12 

 SECTION 6.  PSC 118.02 (13) is repealed and recreated to read: 13 

 PSC 118.02 (13)  “RRC tracking program” means a program that tracks the selling, 14 

transferring, purchasing, and retiring of RRCs created on or after January 1, 2004. 15 

 SECTION 7.  PSC 118.03 (2) and (3) (a) are repealed. 16 

 SECTION 8.  PSC 118.04 (1) and (2) (a) to (d) are repealed. 17 

 SECTION 9.  PSC 118.04 (2) (e) is amended to read: 18 

 PSC 118.04 (2) (e)  Renewable energy that would meet the definition of an RRC under s. 19 

PSC 118.02(10) 196.378(1)(i), Stats., except that it consists of less than one MWh, shall 20 

constitute a fraction of an RRC.  A fractional RRC may not be smaller than 0.01 MWh. 21 
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 SECTION 10.  PSC 118.04 (2) (g) is created to read: 1 

 PSC 118.04 (2) (g) 1.  An RRC created before January 1, 2004, may be sold or used to 2 

meet an electric provider’s minimum percentage requirement under s. 196.378 (2) (a), Stats.  The 3 

RRCs described in this subdivision may only be used until December 31, 2011, as provided in s. 4 

196.378 (3) (c), Stats. 5 

 2.  An RRC created on or after January 1, 2004, but produced by a renewable facility that 6 

was placed into service before January 1, 2004, may be sold or used to meet an electric 7 

provider’s minimum percentage requirement under s. 196.378 (2) (a), Stats., only if the RRC 8 

constituted an incremental increase in output from the renewable facility due to capacity 9 

improvements that were made on or after January 1, 2004, as provided in s. 196.378 (3) (a) 2., 10 

Stats.  If the renewable facility was originally constructed prior to January 1, 2004, but is entirely 11 

replaced with a new and more efficient facility, all of the output from the new facility constitutes 12 

an incremental increase and can be used to create RRCs.  The RRCs described in this subdivision 13 

may only be used through the fourth year after their creation, as provided in s. 196.378 (3) (c), 14 

Stats.  15 

 3.  An RRC created on or after January 1, 2004, that is produced by a renewable facility 16 

placed into service on or after January 1, 2004, may be sold or used to meet an electric provider’s 17 

minimum percentage requirement under s. 196.378 (2) (a), Stats.  The RRCs described in this 18 

subdivision may only be used through the fourth year after their creation, as provided in s. 19 

196.378 (3) (c), Stats.  20 

 SECTION 11.  PSC 118.04 (3) is amended to read: 21 
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 PSC 118.04 (3)  When an RRC is credited to an electric provider’s account under sub. 1 

(2), the account owner may sell or transfer the RRC to another electric provider.  Any person 2 

selling or transferring an RRC shall report the sale or transfer to the program administrator 3 

within 10 days of the transaction.  The program administrator shall then credit the RRC account 4 

of the new owner and debit the RRC account of the prior owner.  An RRC may continue to be 5 

sold or traded only if each seller or transferor reports the transaction to the program administrator 6 

within 10 days of its consummation.  7 

 SECTION 12.  Section PSC 118.05 (1), (2) (intro.) and (3) are amended to read: 8 

 PSC 118.05 (1) (a)  An electric provider may only use the energy of a certified renewable 9 

facility for creation of an RRC.  The commission shall certify renewable facilities or it may 10 

delegate this responsibility to the program administrator. 11 

 (b)  The program administrator may not award an RRC before the date that the 12 

commission certifies a renewable facility is certified, but the program administrator may award 13 

an RRC for energy that a certified renewable facility produced subsequent to the date the 14 

commission received the it delivered its request for certification. 15 

 (2) (intro.)  To obtain commission certification, the electric provider generating or 16 

purchasing energy from a renewable facility, or a designated representative, shall provide the 17 

following registration information in a format approved by the commission: 18 

 (3)  The commission shall inform both the program administrator and or the program 19 

administrator shall inform the electric provider, or its designated representative, whether it has 20 

certified a renewable facility for which it has received an application under sub. (2). 21 

 SECTION 13.  Section PSC 118.05 (4) is repealed.   22 
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 SECTION 14.  Section PSC 118.05 (6) is renumbered PSC 118.06 (5) and is amended to 1 

read: 2 

 PSC 118.06 (5)  The program administrator may not create award RRCs for energy 3 

produced by a decertified renewable facility. 4 

 SECTION 15.  Section PSC 118.06 (1) is amended to read: 5 

 PSC 118.06 (1)  The commission shall, using a competitive process, contract with a 6 

program administrator who may operate either a statewide or a regional RRC tracking program. 7 

 SECTION 16.  Section PSC 118.06 (2) is repealed and recreated to read: 8 

 PSC 118.06 (2)  The program administrator shall: 9 

 (a)  Create an account for each electric provider. 10 

 (b)  Create an account for each certified renewable facility that participates in the tracking 11 

program and record the amount of metered MWh sold at retail that is reported for the facility. 12 

 (c)  Register each renewable facility the commission has certified, including the 13 

following data about the facility: 14 

 1.  Its electric provider’s account number. 15 

 2.  Its location, owner, technology, date placed in service, and rated capacity. 16 

 3.  Its expected annual energy production. 17 

 4.  Information about the facility’s meter that allows the program administrator to verify 18 

its accuracy.  19 

 5.  Any additional data the commission considers necessary for proper operation of the 20 

tracking program. 21 

 (d)  Establish and maintain a system for tracking RRCs that does all of the following: 22 
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 1.  Issues a unique electronic certificate for each MWh of renewable energy produced by 1 

a certified renewable facility that is located in the area covered by the tracking system, that is 2 

owned by a participating electric provider, or that is under contract to deliver electric energy to a 3 

participating electric provider.  The certificate shall identify which certified renewable facility 4 

produced the MWh, when it was produced, and any other characteristics the commission 5 

considers necessary. 6 

 2.  Records RRC ownership and each transfer between account holders. 7 

 3.  Retires each RRC that meets any of the following: 8 

 a.  An electric provider uses to meet all or part of its minimum percentage requirement 9 

under s. 196.378 (2) (a), Stats. 10 

 b.  Becomes four years old. 11 

 c.  An electric provider chooses to retire for any other reason. 12 

 (e)  Audit registered renewable facilities, as needed, to verify the accuracy of metered 13 

production data. 14 

 (f)  Track and report each electric provider’s compliance with the minimum percentage 15 

requirement under s. 196.378 (2) (a), Stats. 16 

 (g)  Perform any other function the commission may designate. 17 

 SECTION 17.  Section PSC 118.06 (4) (a) is amended to read: 18 

 PSC 118.06 (4) (a)  Annually, the program administrator shall report to the commission 19 

the costs incurred in operating the RRC trading tracking program and recommend an assessment 20 

of these costs to electric providers and other tracking system participants that hold RRC 21 

accounts.  The program administrator shall base part of this proposed assessment of costs on the 22 
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number of each electric provider's RRC transactions, the size of these transactions, or 1 

both.  These factors shall determine how a majority of the costs are assessed. 2 

 SECTION 18.  Section PSC 118.07 is created to read: 3 

 PSC 118.07 Aggregation and allocation by wholesale suppliers.  If a wholesale 4 

supplier aggregates the minimum percentage requirements of its members or customers under s. 5 

196.378(2)(a), Stats., or allocates RRCs among its members or customers, it shall do so in a 6 

manner that is acceptable to the members or customers.   7 

 EFFECTIVE DATE:  This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following 8 

publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, as provided in s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 9 

(End)10 



 

 

 Attachment B                                 
2005 Session      

 LRB or Bill No./Adm. Rule No.        
   ORIGINAL  UPDATED Ch. PSC 118 – 1-AC-

221 

FISCAL ESTIMATE  CORRECTED  SUPPLEMENTAL 

DOA-2048 N(R10/96) 

Amendment No. if Applicable         

 
Subject 
Amend PSC Rule -  Revision to Renewable Resource Tracking Program 
 

Fiscal Effect 

 State:   No State Fiscal Effect 

 

 Check columns below only if bill makes a direct appropriation   Increase Costs - May be possible to Absorb 

  or affects a sum sufficient appropriation.      Within Agency's Budget     Yes         No 

  

   Increase Existing Appropriation   Increase Existing Revenues  

   Decrease Existing Appropriation   Decrease Existing Revenues   Decrease Costs 

   Create New Appropriation  

 Local:   No local government costs   

1.   Increase Costs 3.  Increase Revenues 5. Types of Local Governmental Units Affected: 

   Permissive  Mandatory   Permissive  Mandatory  Towns  Villages  Cities 

2.   Decrease Costs 4.  Decrease Revenues  Counties  Others _____ 

   Permissive  Mandatory   Permissive  Mandatory  School Districts  WTCS Districts 

Fund Sources Affected 

  GPR      FED      PRO     PRS      SEG      SEG-S 

Affected Ch. 20 Appropriations 

20.155 (1) (g) 

Assumptions Used in Arriving at Fiscal Estimate 

  

The proposed rule changes allow for the establishment of a regional renewable credit tracking 
system and other changes required by WI Act 141 laws of 2005.  There are no additional costs to 
state or local government as a result of these changes. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Long-Range Fiscal Implications 

NONE 
 
 
Agency/Prepared by:  (Name & Phone No.) Authorized Signature/Telephone No. Date 

Gordon Grant 267-9086 Gordon Grant 9/7/2006 
   

 


