Clearinghouse Rule 07-084

PROPOSED ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION ADOPTING RULES

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation proposes an order to repeal TRANS 129.09(3); amend TRANS 129.03(1)(b), 129.09(1)(f) and (2)(e), 129.10(2)(c), (d) and (4), and 129.15(2)(c)(intro.); and create TRANS 129.11(3) and (4), and 129.21 to 129.23, relating to motorcycle courses.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 85.30, Stats., and interpreting ss. 85.16(1), 227.11, 343.06(1)(c), 343.07(4)(b) and 343.16(1)(a), Stats., the Department of Transportation will hold a public hearing in **Room 551** of the Hill Farms State Transportation Building, 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin on the **30th** day of **October**, 2007, at **1:00 PM**, to consider the amendment of ch. Trans 129, Wisconsin Administrative Code, relating to motorcycle courses.

An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on request for this hearing.

Please make reservations for a hearing interpreter at least 10 days prior to the hearing.

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible entrance are available.

PROPOSED ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION ADOPTING RULES

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation proposes an order to repeal TRANS 129.09(3) and 129.10(2)(b); amend TRANS 129.01(intro.) and (2), 129.02(1) and (2)(d), 129.03(1)(b), 129.08(1)(a), 129.09(1)(f) and (2)(e), 129.10(1), (2)(c), (d) and (4)(c), 129.12(1)(j) and 129.15(2)(c)(intro.); repeal and create 129.20; and create TRANS 129.10(2)(e), 129.11(3) and (4), 129.19, 129.21 and 129.22, relating to motorcycle courses.

<u>Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation</u>

Statutes interpreted: ss. 85.30, 343.06(1)(c), 343.07(4)(b) and 343.16(1)(a), Stats.

Statutory authority: ss. 85.16(1), 85.30 and 227.11, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority: Under the law, the Department is responsible for the motorcycle safety program. That requirement includes establishment and approval of motorcycle rider courses.

Related statute or rule: Chapter Trans 105

Plain language analysis: This rule making will amend ch. Trans 129, relating to motorcycle courses, by changing the maximum number of motorcycles allowed on the range as prescribed in the Basic Rider Course and Experienced Rider Course curriculums developed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF). It will also require a 10-day reporting time frame for site inspection reports. Finally, it will make changes necessary as a result of removing private motorcycle training schools from ch. Trans 105 including background checks, and insurance and bond requirements.

Summary of, and preliminary comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 32 CFR 536.28(h) requires persons operating motorcycles on Fort Stewart Georgia to attend an approved motorcycle defensive driving course.

Comparison with Rules in the Following States:

Michigan: R257.1701-7727, Michigan Administrative rules. The Michigan motorcycle safety education rules are similar but the course is based upon the Motorcycle Safety Foundation standards entitled, Motorcycle Rider Course," January 1989. Michigan appears to provide more public funding than Wisconsin for students of the course.

Illinois: 92 III. Adm. Code 455. The proposed rule of Illinois incorporates by reference the most current editions of the Motorcycle Safety Foundation's Rider Coach Guide and Rider Course Suite. The current Illinois rule is similar to but more detailed than the proposed Wisconsin rule. The rule provides for more state funding than Wisconsin. The proposed Illinois rule has higher insurance limits than the proposed Wisconsin rule but no bonding requirement.

lowa: 76 Iowa Adm. Code 635. The Iowa Motorcycle Rider Education rules are similar to the proposed Wisconsin rules but classroom size has not been reduced, insurance requirements are higher, they do not refer specifically to the Motorcycle Safety Foundation courses and there is not a bonding requirement.

Minnesota: Ch. 7411, Minn. Adm. Code. The Minnesota motorcycle rider training rules are similar to the proposed Wisconsin rules. They do incorporate the Motorcycle Safety foundation Basic Rider Course Manual, 2001.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies used and how the related findings support the regulatory approach chosen: This proposed rule does not change the regulatory approach chosen. It continues to follow the procedures and curriculum proscribed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation as they have been updated. It also includes some regulations previously applicable but removed from ch. Trans 105 as a result as the change in the definition of driver schools.

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine effect on small businesses: There were approximately 10,000 Motorcycle Safety students in public school courses and 3,000 students in commercial rider education schools each year. The vast majority of the schools comply with current Motorcycle Safety Foundations requirements, and proposed rule change, as to class size and number of motorcycles allowed on the range. Some of the commercial schools may not currently have bonding. Bond costs for entities with good credit are minimal.

Effect on small business: These proposed changes will have minimal effect upon small businesses. The Department's Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by e-mail at ralph.sanders@dot.state.wi.us, or by calling (414) 438-4585.

Fiscal effect: The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal impact on the liabilities or revenues of any county, city, village, town, school district, vocational, technical and adult education district, sewerage district, or federally-recognized tribes or bands.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector: The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal impact on state or private sector revenues or liabilities.

Agency contact person and place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: The public record on this proposed rule making will be held open until close of business November 6, 2007, to permit the submission of comments in lieu of public hearing testimony or comments supplementing testimony offered at the hearing. Any such comments should be submitted to Ron Thompson, Department of Transportation,

Division of State Patrol, Transportation Safety Programs, Room 551, P. O. Box 7936, Madison, WI 53707-7936. You may also contact Mr. Thompson by phone at (608) 266-7855 or via e-mail: ron.thompson@dot.state.wi.us.

To view the proposed amendments to the rule, view the current rule, and submit written comments via e-mail/internet, you may visit the following website: http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/library/research/law/rulenotices.htm.

TEXT OF PROPOSED RULE

SECTION 1. Trans 129.01(intro.) and (2) are amended to read:

Trans 129.01 Purpose and scope. The purpose of this chapter, as authorized by ss. 85.16(1), 85.30, 227.11, 343.06(1)(c), 343.07(4)(b) and 343.16(1)(a), Stats., is as follows:

(2) To establish the department's administrative interpretation of ss. 343.60 to 343.73, Stats., with regard to motorcycle instruction schools.

SECTION 2. Trans 129.02(1) and (2)(d) are amended to read:

Trans 129.02(1) The words and phrases defined in ss. 340.01, and 343.01 and 343.60, Stats., have the same meaning in this chapter unless a different definition is specifically provided.

(2)(d) "Motorcycle instruction school" means a driver commercial school that provides training on the operation of Type 1 motorcycles.

SECTION 3. Trans 129.03(1)(b) is amended to read:

Trans 129.03(1)(b) Provide proof that the person has completed a basic rider course on or after January 1, 1992. The proof may be in the form of a waiver authorization form meeting the requirements of s. Trans 129.13 or other proof from another jurisdiction showing the person is entitled to a waiver under s. Trans 129.07. The waiver shall be

valid for one year from the date of rider course completion. Waivers shall be original documents.

SECTION 4. Trans 129.08(1)(a) is amended to read:

Trans 129.08(1)(a) Hold any license required under s. 343.61(1), Stats.

SECTION 5. Trans 129.09(1)(f) and (2)(e) are amended to read:

Trans 129.09(1)(f) Class size may not exceed 36 24 students in the classroom or 15 12 students on the range except as permitted under sub. (3). The department may make approval of a course contingent on range class sizes of less than 15 students if the physical layout of the range may not safely accommodate a 15-student class or if the physical layout of the range would not be conducive to the education of a group as large as 15 students.

(2)(e) Class size may not exceed 24 students in the classroom or 45 12 students on the range, except as provided in sub. (3). The department may make approval of a course contingent on range class sizes of less than 15 students if the physical layout of the range may not safely accommodate a 15-student class or if the physical layout of the range would not be conducive to the education of a group as large as 15 students.

SECTION 6. Trans 129.09(3) is repealed.

SECTION 7. 129.10(1) is amended to read:

Trans 129.10(1) APPLICATION. Instructors seeking authorization to participate in the waiver of skills test program shall complete and submit an application to the department on the department's form.

NOTE: Application forms can be obtained from and should be submitted to the Department of Transportation, Transportation Safety Programs, P. O. Box 7936, Room 551, Madison, WI 53707-7936.

SECTION 8. Trans 129.10(2)(b) is repealed.

SECTION 9. Trans 129.10(2)(c) and (d) are amended to read:

Trans 129.10(2)(c) The instructor teaches shall teach an average of one range or and one classroom course per year for each full year of an authorization period. For purposes of this paragraph, teaching either the classroom portion portions or range portion portions of a class shall count as one class, and teaching both the classroom and range portions of one class shall count as one class.

(d) The instructor attends shall attend a minimum of one department conducted or approved pre-approved instructor in-service program during each authorization period.

At least 70 percent of the agenda shall be curriculum oriented.

SECTION 10. Trans 129.10(2)(e) is created to read:

Trans 129.10(2)(e) The instructor shall successfully complete all knowledge tests and all skill tests and other evaluations required for instructor certification.

SECTION 11. Trans 129.10(4)(c) is amended to read:

Trans 129.10(4)(c) An applicant for authorization under this section, or an instructor currently authorized under this section, may utilize demerit point reduction pursuant to s. Trans 101.07. If sufficient point reduction to bring the demerit point total below 7 points is thereby achieved, the applicant or instructor may reapply for authorization immediately. A rider course is not acceptable for demerit point reduction.

SECTION 12. Trans 129.11(3) and (4) are created to read:

Trans 129.11(3) An official on-site visit evaluation may not be conducted by a person who teaches at that site.

(4) On-site visit reports shall be submitted to the Department within 10 days of the evaluation.

SECTION 13. Trans 129.12(1)(j) is amended to read:

Trans 129.12(1)(j) The motorcycle instruction school or instructor does not hold a license required by s. 343.61(1) or 343.62, Stats.

SECTION 14. Trans 129.15(2)(c)(intro.) is amended to read:

Trans 129.15(2)(c)(intro.) The department may award a grant or provide funding under this chapter to a vocational, <u>Wisconsin</u> technical <u>college</u> or adult education district, a school district, a unit of state, county, or municipal government, or any other person or legal entity that provides motorcycle education courses that does all of the following:

SECTION 15. Trans 129.19 is created to read:

Trans 129.19 Motorcycle instruction school licensing. (1) A person providing training on the operation of Type 1 motorcycle for compensation shall be licensed.

- (2) Application shall be on the form provided by the department.
- (3) Application shall include the required documents and an application fee of \$25.
- (4) Applications shall be submitted annually.

NOTE: Application forms can be obtained from and should be submitted to the Department of Transportation, Transportation Safety Programs, P. O. Box 7936, Room 551, Madison, WI 53707-7936.

SECTION 16. Trans 129.20 is repealed and recreated to read:

Trans 129.20 Fitness for rider education school license. (1) For the purpose of determining the fitness of a person to hold a rider education school license, the department shall consider all relevant arrests and convictions, and make such further examinations and checks as it determines are necessary.

(2) The department may not issue or renew a rider education school license to any person who, during their lifetime was convicted of any of the following state laws or any local ordinance in conformity with any of the following state laws or any federal law or law of a federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state or law of another

jurisdiction that would be a violation of any of the following state laws if the person had committed the offense in this state and been convicted of the offense under the laws of this state:

| Statute | Description |
|----------------------|---|
| 940.01 | 1st degree intentional homicide |
| 940.03 | Felony murder |
| 940.05 | 2 nd degree intentional homicide |
| 940.225(1) to (3) | Sexual assault |
| 940.305 | Taking hostages |
| 940.31 | Kidnapping |
| 941.32 | Administering dangerous or stupefying drug |
| 944.34 | Keeping a place of prostitution |
| 946.01 | Treason |
| 946.02 | Sabotage |
| 946.03 | Sedition |
| 948.02(1) and (2) | Sexual assault of a child |
| 948.025 | Engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of the same child |
| 948.03(2) | Physical abuse of a child |
| 948.04(1) | Causing mental harm to a child |
| 948.05 | Sexual exploitation of a child |
| 948.055 | Causing a child to view or listen to sexual activity |
| 948.06 | Incest with a child |
| 948.07 | Child enticement |
| 948.075 | Use of computer to facilitate a child sex crime |
| 948.08 | Soliciting a child for prostitution |
| 948.095 | Sexual assault of a student age 16 or older by a |
| | school instructional staff person |
| 948.10 | Exposing genitals or pubic area to child |
| 948.11(2)(a) or (am) | Exposing a child to harmful material or harmful |
| | descriptions or narrations |
| 948.12 | Possession of child pornography |
| 948.13(2) | Child sex offender working with children |
| 944.06 | Incest |
| 940.22(2) | Sexual exploitation by a therapist |

(3) The department may not issue or renew a rider education school license to any person who within the past 10 years immediately preceding the date of application was convicted of any of the following state laws or any local ordinance in conformity with any

of the following state laws or any federal law or law of a federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state or law of another jurisdiction that would be a violation of any of the following state laws if the person had committed the offense in this state and been convicted of the offense under the laws of this state:

| Statute | Description |
|------------------------|--|
| 948.21 | Abandonment of a child – neglecting a child |
| 948.23 | Concealing death of a child (at birth) |
| 948.30 | Abduction of another's child, constructive custody |
| 961.42(1) | Keep or maintain any place for drug use, manufacture, keeping or delivering |
| 961.41(1)(a) to (1)(j) | Manufacture, distribution or delivery of drugs |
| 961.41 (1m)(a) to (j) | Possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or deliver drugs |
| 961.41(4)(am) | Distribution or delivery or attempt to deliver or distribute an imitation controlled substance |
| 961.455 | Using a child for illegal drug distribution or manufacturing |
| 961.46 | Distribution of controlled substances to persons under age 18 |
| 944.17 | Sexual gratification |
| 944.30 | Prostitution |
| 944.31 | Patronizing prostitutes |
| 944.32 | Soliciting prostitutes |
| 944.33 | Pandering |
| 941.21 | Disarming a peace officer |
| 943.201 | Unauthorized use of an individual's personal |
| | identifying information or documents |
| 940.02 | 1 st degree reckless homicide |
| 940.06 | 2 nd degree reckless homicide |
| 940.09 | Homicide by intoxicated use of vehicle or firearm |
| 943.32 | Robbery |
| 948.09 | Sexual intercourse with a child age 16 or older |

(4) The department may not issue or renew a rider education school license to any person who within the past 5 years immediately preceding the date of application was convicted of any of the following state laws or any local ordinance in conformity with any of the following state laws or any federal law or law of a federally recognized American

Indian tribe or band in this state or law of another jurisdiction that would be a violation of any of the following state laws if the person had committed the offense in this state and been convicted of the offense under the laws of this state:

| Statute | Description | |
|------------------|--|--|
| 944.15 | Public fornication | |
| 944.20 | Lewd and lascivious behavior | |
| 944.21 | Obscene material or performance | |
| 944.23 | Making lewd, obscene or indecent drawings | |
| 944.25 | Sending obscene or sexually explicit electronic | |
| | messages | |
| 940.25(1) | Injury by intoxicated us of a vehicle | |
| 941.26 | Possession of machine guns and other weapons | |
| 941.28 | Possession of short-barreled shotgun or rifle | |
| 941.29 | Possession of firearm by felon | |
| 941.295 | Possession of electric weapon | |
| 941.296 | Use or possession of a handgun and an armor- | |
| | piercing bullet during crime | |
| 941.298 | Firearm silencer | |
| 941.30 | Recklessly endangering safety | |
| 941.31 | Possession of explosives | |
| 941.325 | Placing foreign objects in edibles | |
| 941.327 | Tampering with household products | |
| 943.02 | Arson of buildings, damage of property by | |
| | explosives | |
| 943.03 | Arson of property other than buildings | |
| 943.04 | Arson with intent to defraud | |
| 943.06 | Molotov cocktails | |
| 944.10 | Burglary | |
| 943.28 | Loan sharking | |
| 943.30 | Threats to injure or accuse of crime | |
| 943.38(1) or (2) | Forgery | |
| 946.415 | Failure to comply with officer's attempt to take | |
| | person into custody | |
| 946.43 | Assaults by prisoners | |
| 946.44 | Assisting or permitting escape | |
| 946.47 | Harboring or aiding felons | |
| 946.48 | Kidnapped or missing persons; false information | |
| 946.60 | Destruction of documents subject to subpoena | |
| 946.65 | Obstructing justice | |
| 947.015 | Bomb scare | |
| 961.41(1n) | Possession of piperdine | |
| 961.41(3g) (f) | Possession – gamma-hydroxybutyric acid, | |
| | gamma-butyrolactone, ketamine or flunitrazepam | |

| Statute | Description |
|------------------------|---|
| 961.41(1x) | Conspiracy |
| 961.41(2)(a) to (d) | Counterfeit substances |
| 961.41(3g) | Possession of controlled substance |
| 961.43(1) and (2) | Acquiring or obtaining possession of controlled |
| | substance by fraud or forgery – counterfeit |
| | substance or packaging |
| 961.67 | Possession or disposal of waste from manufacture |
| | of methamphetamine |
| 940.10 | Homicide by negligent operation of a vehicle |
| 940.19(2), (4), (5) or | Battery, substantial battery or aggravated battery |
| (6) | |
| 940.195 | Batter to a pregnant woman or unborn child |
| 940.21 | Mayhem |
| 941.38 | Criminal gang member solicitation and contact |
| 940.23 | Reckless injury |
| 940.285 | Abuse of vulnerable adults |
| 940.295 | Abuse and neglect of patients and residents |
| 948.40 | Contributing to the delinquency of a minor |
| 948.55 | Leaving or storing a loaded firearm within reach or |
| | easy access of child |
| 948.605 | Possession of a firearm in school zone |

(5) The department may not issue or renew a rider education school license to any person who within the past 2 years immediately preceding the date of application was convicted of any of the following state laws or any local ordinance in conformity with any of the following state laws or any federal law or law of a federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state or law of another jurisdiction that would be a violation of any of the following state laws if the person had committed the offense in this state and been convicted of the offense under the laws of this state:

| Statute | Description |
|---------|---|
| Various | Any felony not listed in subs. (3) to (5) |
| 940.12 | Assisting suicide |
| 941.01 | Negligent operation of a motor vehicle |
| 941.20 | Endangering safety by use of a dangerous |
| 0.44.07 | weapon |
| 941.37 | Obstructing emergency or rescue personnel |
| 943.07 | Criminal damage to railroads |

| 941.11 Unsafe burning of a building | |
|-------------------------------------|--|
|-------------------------------------|--|

(6) Notwithstanding any conviction of a listed law or ordinance in this section, if the person convicted presents evidence satisfactory to the department that the conviction was for a misdemeanor, the department may reduce the period of disqualification.

SECTION 17. Trans 129.21 and Trans 129.22 are created to read:

Trans 129.21 Insurance and bond requirements. (1) A commercial rider education school shall do all of the following:

- (a) Hold minimum insurance of not less than \$500,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident and, subject to that limit for one person, to a limit of not less than \$500,000 because of bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in any one accident and, if the accident has resulted in injury to or destruction of property, to a limit of not less than \$50,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.
- (b) Adjust the insurance amounts under par. (a) every 5 years by multiplying the requirement amounts by the percentage increase of the consumer price index from January 1, 2007 to January 1 of the next fifth year [2012, 2017] and adding that amount to the amounts in par. (a) rounded to the nearest \$10,000 increment.
 - (c) Maintain a standard liability insurance of not less than \$500,000.
- (d) File certification of insurance with the department with the application for license.
- (e) Require the insurance carrier to notify the department not less than 30 days before the policy expires or is materially changed or canceled.

(2) The school shall obtain a surety bond or provide an acceptable alternative based on size.

| School Size Based on Signed | | |
|---------------------------------------|----------|--|
| Completion Slips for the Prior Period | | |
| 0-300 | \$10,000 | |
| 301-1100 | \$15,000 | |
| 1101 or more | \$20,000 | |

- (3) Customer shall apply to bond company if obligations of the training contract cannot be met.
- (4) A copy of the bond or evidence of acceptable alternative shall be provided to the department with the application for license.

Trans 129.22 Cooperative rider education testing program. The department may enter into a cooperative driver testing agreement with a basic rider course provider to conduct knowledge tests as permitted by s. 343.16(1)(c), Stats. A basic rider course provider may administer the knowledge and highway signs tests to students who are currently enrolled in motorcycle rider education.

| shall take effect on the first day of the month following inistrative Register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.) |
|--|
| Signed at Madison, Wisconsin, this day of September, 2007. |
| FRANK J. BUSALACCHI |
| Secretary Wisconsin Department of Transportation |