
ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN  

NATURAL RESOURCES BOARD 

AMENDING AND CREATING RULES 
 

The Wisconsin Natural Resources Board proposes an order to amend NR 660.10 (107) and create 
NR 660.10 (70m), relating to hazardous waste management. 

WA-30-09 

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Natural Resources  

 
1.  Statutes interpreted: Sections 227.11 (2) (a) and 289.67 (2) (b) 1., Stats. 
 
2.  Statutory Authority: Sections 227.11 (2) (a), 289.67 (2) (de) and 291.07 (2) Stats. 
  

3.  Explanation of agency authority to promulgate the rules under the statutory authority:  
Section 227.11(2) (a), Stats., expressly confers rulemaking authority upon the department to 
promulgate rules interpreting any statute enforced or administered by it, if the agency considers it 
necessary to effectuate the purpose of the statute. 

Section 289.67 (2) (de), Stats., as created by 2009 Wisconsin Act 28 (the 2009-2011 biennial 
budget bill), requires the department to promulgate by rule definitions of “large quantity 
generator” and “small quantity generator” for purposes of the hazardous waste generator fees 
established by s. 289.67 (2) (b) 1., Stats., as amended by 2009 Wisconsin Act 28.   
 
Under s. 291.07 (2), Stats., discretionary rulemaking authority is granted to the department to 
exempt by rule certain persons who generate hazardous wastes from requirements that would 
otherwise apply if such action does not present a significant hazard to public health and safety or 
the environment. 

4.  Related statute or rule:  Chapters 160, 287, 289, 292, 293 and 299, Stats., and chs. NR 660 
to 679, Wis. Adm. Code. 
 
5.  Plain language analysis of the proposed rule:  This proposed rule adds a definition of “large 
quantity generator” and revises the definition of “small quantity generator” in ch. NR 660.  Under 
current hazardous waste rules, standards are set for large quantity and small quantity hazardous 
waste generators, so their status is functionally described, but there are no specific, 
comprehensive definitions of these terms.  

 

6.  Summary of and preliminary comparison with any existing or proposed federal 
regulation: There is no specific definition of “large quantity generator” in the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency’s hazardous waste regulations in 40 CFR § 260.10, upon which 
s. NR 660.10 is based. Large quantity generator status is functionally described in text in 40 CFR 
Part 262, Standards Applicable to Generators of Hazardous Waste.  40 CFR § 260.10, includes a 
definition of “small quantity generator” but the definition is incomplete.  Small quantity generator 
status is functionally described in text in 40 CFR Part 262.  The department proposes to add 
explicit, complete definitions of large and small quantity generators to s. NR 660.10 based on the 
state and federal functional definitions.  
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7.  Comparison of similar rules in adjacent states (Minnesota, Iowa, Illinois and Michigan):  
Minnesota’s hazardous waste rules in s. 7045.026 define large and small quantity generators. 
These definitions are similar to the definitions in the proposed rule.  All hazardous waste 
generators in Minnesota are assessed hazardous waste fees.  For 2008, businesses and institutions 
that were very small quantity generators paid an annual base fee of $453.  Small quantity and 
large quantity generators paid the $453 base fee and $.0817 per pound ($163.40 per ton) of 
hazardous waste generated.  These fees are revised annually by a formula in the state’s 
administrative rules to generate revenues to meet a budget amount set by the state legislature.  
Minnesota’s base fee is comparable to the new base fee established by 2009 Wisconsin Act 28 for 
Wisconsin large quantity generators; however, Minnesota’s per ton fee is much higher.  
Minnesota’s fees for small quantity generators are much higher than Wisconsin’s new base fee of 
$350 base, and current fee of $20 per ton.  Very small quantity generators are not charged fees in 
Wisconsin.    

Iowa does not have a federally authorized hazardous waste program.  The program is 
administered by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 7 office in Kansas City, Mo., 
and the federal regulations are in effect in the state.   
 
Illinois’ hazardous waste rules have a definition for small quantity generator that is equivalent to 
the definition in the federal regulations.  There is no definition of large quantity generator; 
however, a note after 35 Ill. Adm. Code 7220.127 states that the “[Illinois Pollution Control] 
Board interprets the term large quantity generator to mean a hazardous waste generator that is not 
a small quantity generator.”  All large quantity generators are assessed an annual fee of $500.  
This fee is comparable to Wisconsin’s new base fee of $470.  Large quantity generators in 
Wisconsin are also assessed a fee of $20 per ton of hazardous waste generated per calendar year, 
unless exempted.   
 
Under Michigan’s rules in R 299.9107 (v), the definition of small quantity generator is equivalent 
to the federal definition.  Large quantity generator is not defined in rule.  Michigan charges an 
annual fee of $100 per year to small quantity generators, $400 to large generators (businesses or 
institutions that generate more than 1,000 kg. per month and up to 9,000 kg. per year) and $1,000 
to very large generators (generate more than 9,000 kg. per year).  The base fee of $100 for small 
quantity generators in Michigan is less than the Wisconsin base fee of $350, in addition to 
tonnage fee, unless exempted.  Michigan’s fee of $400 for large generators is less than 
Wisconsin’s base fee of $470, plus the per ton fee.  Under Michigan’s fee schedule the largest 
generators are assessed $1,000, which is more than twice the Wisconsin base fee amount.   
 

8.  Summary of the factual data and analytical methodologies that the agency used in 

support of the proposed rule and how any related findings support the regulatory approach 
chosen for the proposed rule:   The proposed rule is required by statute and reflects current state 
and federal functional definitions of “large quantity generator” and “small quantity generator” 
used in the hazardous waste management program.  
 

9.  Any analysis and supporting documentation that the agency used in support of the 

agency’s determination of the rule’s effect on small businesses under s. 227.114, Stats., or 
that was used when the agency prepared an economic impact report:  See No. 8, above. 

10.  Effect on small business, including how the rule will be enforced:  There is no direct 
correlation between the definitions of “small business” and “large quantity generator” or “small 
quantity generator”, so a precise assessment of the definitions’ effect on small business is not 
possible.  Small businesses may be either large quantity or small quantity generators of hazardous 
waste, or neither.  In any case, under the revised hazardous waste generator base fee statute, the 
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maximum additional amount that a large quantity generator would have to pay is $470.  A small 
quantity generator would pay a maximum of $350 more than in past years.   
 
Under the statutory language in effect before the 2009-2011 biennial budget bill (2009 Wisconsin 
Act 28), all large quantity generators and small quantity generators who were required to submit a 
hazardous waste annual report were required to pay a base fee of $210 and $20 per ton for 
hazardous waste generated during the reporting year.  The tonnage fee did not apply to any 
wastes that were recycled or reused, and if a generator recycled or reused all of its hazardous 
waste, it was not required to pay the base fee either.  
 
Act 28 amended the statutes to increase the base fee from $210 to $350 for small quantity 
generators, and to $470 for large quantity generators.  It also increased the maximum fee any 
generator would have to pay from $17,000 to $17,500 per year.  In addition, the base fee was 
applied to all generators who are required to report, regardless of whether they recycled or reused 
any or all of their wastes.  The per ton fee remains at $20 per ton.  
 
No new recordkeeping or reporting requirements are created and no new skills are required to 
comply with the proposed rules. 
 
The proposed rules are definitions only, but are a key component of the hazardous waste 
generator annual fee requirements set out in recently-revised s. 289.67, Stats.  The fee 
requirements (statutes and rules) will be enforced by department staff through compliance 
assistance, complaint follow-up and inspections.  If a violation is found, the department normally 
uses a stepped enforcement process similar to the process it uses for other environmental 
programs.   
 
This stepped process includes the following: 

 Notice of non-compliance, this is typically the first step in dealing with a problem and is 
usually done by a program specialist through a letter to the generator.  It's expected that the 
generator, once notified of the problem will, correct the problem quickly. 

 Notice of Violation, this is typically the second step in dealing with a problem and is a higher 
level of enforcement.  Typically, the Notice of non-compliance hasn't resulted in the problem 
being resolved and this next step includes an opportunity for a face-to-face meeting with 
program and enforcement staff.  At this meeting, it's expected that the generator will make 
commitments to resolve the problem and will follow through.   

 Referral to the Attorney General for prosecution and injunctive relief, when appropriate.  In 
addition to being liable for unpaid fees, a person who fails to pay fees in a timely manner may 
be subject to statutory enforcement mechanisms and penalties for hazardous waste violations 
as established in subchapter V. of ch. 291, Stats. 

 

11.  Agency contact person:  
 
Ms. Patricia Chabot, WA/5 
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources 
P.O. Box 7921 
Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7921 
Telephone:  (608) 264-6015 
E-mail: patricia.chabot@wisconsin.gov 

 
______________________________________________________________________________ 

mailto:patricia.chabot@wisconsin.gov
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SECTION 1.  NR 660.10 (70m) is created to read: 

 NR 660.10 (70m) “Large quantity generator” means a generator who does one or more of 

the following: 

 (a)  Generates more than 1,000 kilograms (2,205 pounds) of hazardous waste in a 

calendar month.  

 (b)  Generates in a calendar month more than 1 kilograms (2.2 pounds) of acute 

hazardous waste or more than 100 kilograms (220 pounds) of any residue or contaminated soil, 

waste or other debris resulting from the clean-up of a spill, into or on any land or water, of any 

acute hazardous wastes listed in s. NR 661.31, 661.32 or 661.33 (5). 

 (c)  Accumulates at any time more than 1 kilograms (2.2 pounds) of acute hazardous 

waste or more than 100 kilograms (220 pounds) of any residue or contaminated soil, waste or 

other debris resulting from the clean-up of a spill, into or on any land or water, of any acute 

hazardous wastes listed in s. NR 661.31, 661.32 or 661.33 (5). 

 

SECTION 2.  NR 660.10 (107) is amended to read: 

 NR 660.10 (107) “Small quantity generator” means a generator who generates does all of 

the following: 

 (a)  Generates more than 100 kilograms (220 pounds) but less than 1,000 kg kilograms 

(2,205 pounds) of non-acute hazardous waste in a calendar month.  

 (b)  Accumulates no more than 6,000 kilograms (13,320 pounds) of non-acute hazardous 

waste at any time. 

 (c)  Generates in a calendar month no more than 1 kilogram (2.2 pounds) of acute 

hazardous waste and no more than 100 kilograms (220 pounds) of residue or contaminated soil, 

waste or other debris resulting from the clean-up of a spill, into or on any land or water, of any 

acute hazardous wastes listed in s. NR 661.31, 661.32 or 661.33 (5). 

 (d)  Accumulates at any time no more than 1 kilogram (2.2 pounds) of acute hazardous 

waste and no more than 100 kilograms (220 pounds) of residue or contaminated soil, waste or 

other debris resulting from the clean-up of a spill, into or on any land or water, of any acute 

hazardous wastes listed in s. NR 661.31, 661.32 or 661.33 (5). 

 
SECTION 3.  EFFECTIVE DATE.  This rule shall take effect upon publication, as provided in 
s. 227.24 (1) (d), Stats. 
 

SECTION 4.  BOARD ADOPTION.  The foregoing rule was approved and adopted by the State 
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of Wisconsin Natural Resources Board on _______June 23, 2010_____. 
 
 Dated at Madison, Wisconsin __________________________. 

 
 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES 

 
 
 

By _________________________________ 
Matthew J. Frank, Secretary   

 
(SEAL) 


