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Clearinghouse Rule 10-056 

 

 

 

State of Wisconsin 

Department of Children and Families 
 

 

Authorized Hours of Subsidized Child Care  

 
DCF 201 

 

The Wisconsin Department of Children and Families proposes an order to repeal s. 
DCF 201.02(3); to renumber ss. DCF 201.04(2)(b), (d), and (e) to (h); to amend ss. 

DCF 201.01, 201.02(3) and (19), 201.03(3), (5)(a)(intro.) and (b), 201.04(1)(a)2., 
(2)(a)1.b., (2)(c), 201.05(title), (2), (3), and (4), 201.06(title), (1)(b), and (c), 
(2)(a)(intro.) and 2., (b)(intro.) and 1., (d), and (e), and (4), 201.08(3)(a); and to create 

ss. DCF 201.02(2m), 201.04(2g)(title), (b), and (c), relating to authorized hours of 
subsidized child care and affecting small businesses. 

 

 

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Children and Families 

 
Statutory authority:  Sections 49.155 (6g), Stats., as created by 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, 

and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats. 
Statutes interpreted: Sections 48.651 and 49.155, Stats. 
 

Explanation of Agency Authority 

Section 49.155 (1m) (a), Stats., provides the work, training, and educational activities 

for which an eligible individual can receive a subsidy for child care.  A child care 
administrative agency determines the hours of child care authorized per week and 

authorizes payment to a child care provider.   
 
Maximum number of authorized hours.  Section 49.155 (6g) (a), Stats., as created by 

2009 Wisconsin Act 28, provides that no more than 12 hours of child care per day per 
child may be authorized unless the parent provides written documentation of work or 
transportation requirements that exceed 12 hours in a day.  The child care administrative 

agency may authorize more than 12 hours, not exceeding 16 hours, of child care per day 
for a child whose parent provides written documentation of work or transportation 

requirements that exceed 12 hours in a day.  If the authorized hours of child care per day 
for a child will be reduced from more than 12 to 12 or less because the child’s parent 
does not provide the written documentation, the child care administrative agency shall 

provide to the child’s parent and to the child care provider 4 weeks’ notice of the 
reduction in authorized hours before actually reducing the child’s authorized hours. 
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Adjusting authorized hours.  Section 49.155 (6g) (am) and (b), Stats., as created by 
2009 Wisconsin Act 28, provides that if payment to a child care provider is based on 

authorized hours of child care, the department shall do all of the following with respect to 
establishing and adjusting the number of authorized hours per child: 

 The department shall track a child’s hourly usage of child care authorizations over 
a 6−week period. 

 If the child’s hourly usage tracked is less than 60 % of the authorized hours of 

child care, the department shall reduce the authorized hours of child care for the 
child to 90% of the maximum number of hours of child care that the child 

attended during that 6−week period. 

 The department shall provide written notice of the proposed adjustment to the 

child’s parent, the child care provider, and the applicable county department or 
agency. 

 The department shall provide a grace period after the number of authorized hours 

are reduced during which time the child care subsidy amount paid to the child 
care provider for the child shall remain the same as before the reduction in 

authorized hours was made. 
 
The department shall exclude from a child’s hourly usage calculation all of the 

following: 

 One week per year of vacation time for the child care provider. 

 One week per year of sick time for the child care provider. 

 Two weeks per year of vacation time for the child’s parent. 

 
The department shall promulgate rules that specify how these requirements will be 

implemented.   
 

Summary of the Rule   

The proposed rules will incorporate the provisions of s. 49.155 (6g), Stats., regarding 
authorized hours of subsidized child care.   

 
The statute requires a grace period during which the subsidy paid to the provider 

remains the same after the authorized hours are reduced. The proposed rules will provide 
that the grace period will be 2 weeks.   

 

The rules also provide that weeks for which the child care administrative agency 
approved payment to a provider to hold a slot during a parent’s temporary break in 
employment shall be excluded from a child’s hourly usage calculation.  Section DCF 

201.04 (2) (h) currently provides that the child care administrative agency may authorize 
payment to a provider to hold a slot for a child if the parent has a temporary break in 

employment and intends to return to work and continue to use the child care provider 
upon return to work. The agency may authorize payment for no more than 6 weeks if the 
absence is due to a medical reason and is documented by a physician or for no more than 

4 weeks if the absence is for other reasons. 
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In addition, the proposed rules update agency terminology and definitions to reflect 
changes in 2009 Wisconsin Act 28 that authorize the department to contract with 

counties, tribes, W-2 agencies, child care resource and referral agencies, or other agencies 
to administer the child care subsidy program and to certify child care providers.  Act 28 

also provides for department administration of child care in Milwaukee County.  
 

Summary of Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies 

The Governor’s veto message requested the department to implement a 2-week grace 
period. 

 
Summary of Related Federal Requirements 

None 
 

Comparison to Adjacent States 

Michigan. A provider may only receive payment for a child’s hours of attendance, 

except for absences due to the child’s illness, not to exceed 2 consecutive weeks, and 
state holidays. 

Illinois. Payment to licensed and license-exempt child care centers are based on 

authorized days if the total of days attended for all publicly-funded children at the center 
location are 80% of the authorized days for the month. 

Payment to licensed home providers are based on authorized days if the total of days 
attended for all children in a family are 80% of the family’s authorized days for the 
month. 

Payment to license-exempt home providers are based only on attendance.  
Iowa. Payment is based on authorized days with payment allowed for a child not in 

attendance not to exceed 4 days per calendar month.  
Minnesota. Payment is based on authorized days except child care providers may not 

be reimbursed for more than 25 full-day absent days per child, excluding holidays, in a 

fiscal year, or for more than 10 consecutive full-day absent days, unless the child has a 
documented medical condition that causes more frequent absences. 

 
Agency Contact Person   

Pirkko Moilanen, Division of Early Care and Education, (608) 261-4595, 

pirkko.moilanen@wisconsin.gov. 
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SECTION 1.  DCF 201.01 is amended to read: 

DCF 201.01 Authority, purpose, and applicability. This chapter is promulgated 

under the authority of s. 49.155, Stats., excluding subs. (1d) and (1g), and s. 227.11 (2), 

Stats., to provide definitions, procedures, and standards for the administration of child 

care funds. This chapter applies to the department, county and tribal agencies, child care 

administrative agencies, Wisconsin works agencies, private agencies under contract to 

administer child care funds, licensed and certified child care providers, and eligible 

parents. 

 

SECTION 2.  DCF 201.02 (2m) is created to read: 

DCF 201.02 (2m) “Certification agency” means the department in a county having a 

population of 500,000 or more or any agency that has a contract with the department to 

certify child care providers under s. 48.651 and ch. DCF 202 in a particular county or 

tribal area.  

 
SECTION 3.  DCF 201.02 (3) and (19) are amended to read: 

DCF 201.02 (3) “Child care administrative agency” or “agency” means any agency 

that has a contract with the department to administer child care funds; or any agency that 

has a subcontract to administer child care funds with an agency that has a contract with 

the department; or, in a county having a population of 500,000 or more, the department or 

the “unit” as defined in s. 49.825 (1) (e), Stats. 

(19) “Rate” means the maximum amount a county or tribal child care administrative 

agency will pay for child care. 
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SECTION 4.  DCF 201.03 (3), (5) (a) (intro.) and (b) are amended to read: 

DCF 201.03 (3) ASSISTANCE TO COUNTIES, TRIBES AND W−2 CHILD CARE 

ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCIES. The department shall provide information and 

technical assistance to county, tribal and W−2 child care administrative agencies 

regarding administration of the child care funding program. 

(5) RATE REVIEW. (a) (intro.) The department shall annually review child care 

rates set by each county and tribe child care administrative agency and shall approve or 

disapprove each county agency’s rates and tribal agency’s rates based on the following 

criteria: 

(b) The department may grant a variance to a nonstatutory requirement under ss. DCF 

201.04 to 201.06 on written request of a county or tribal child care administrative agency 

if the department is convinced that an alternative means meets the intent of the 

requirement. 

 

SECTION 5.  DCF 201.04 (1) (a) 2. and (2) (a) 1. b. are amended to read: 

DCF 201.04 (1) (a) 2. Providers certified by a county or tribal certification agency 

under standards specified in s. DCF 202.08 or 202.09. The child care administrative 

agency may authorize payment to providers who become certified from the date the 

certification application was received by the child care administrative certification 

agency. 

(2) (a) 1. b. A voucher shall be in writing and shall authorize a parent to obtain child 

care services stipulated in that voucher from a provider under sub. (3) (1). 

 

SECTION 6.  DCF 201.04 (2) (b) is renumbered DCF 201.04 (2g) (d).  
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SECTION 7.  DCF 201.04 (2) (c) is amended to read: 

DCF 201.04 (2) (c) If a county or tribal child care administrative agency authorizes 

payment for child care services by means of a voucher issued to the parents or by contract 

with a provider, billing and collection of any parent co−payment requirement is the 

responsibility of the provider. 

 

SECTION 8.  DCF 201.04 (2) (d) is renumbered DCF 201.04 (2g) (a) and DCF 

201.04 (2) (e) to (h) are respectively renumbered DCF 201.04 (2g) (e) to (h). 

 

SECTION 9.  DCF 201.04 (2g) (title), (b), and (c) are created to read: 

DCF 201.04 (2g)  PAYMENT AUTHORIZATION.  

(b) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., the child care administrative agency shall 

authorize no more than 12 hours of child care per day per child. 

2. The child care administrative agency may authorize more than 12 hours, not 

exceeding 16 hours, of child care per day for a child whose parent provides written 

documentation of work or transportation requirements that exceed 12 hours in a day. 

3. If the authorized hours of child care per day for a child will be reduced from more 

than 12 to 12 or fewer because the child’s parent does not provide the written 

documentation required under subd. 2., the child care administrative agency shall provide 

to the child’s parent who is receiving the subsidy under s. 49.155, Stats., and to the 

child’s child care provider 4 weeks’ notice of the reduction in authorized hours before 

actually reducing the child’s authorized hours. 
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(c) 1.  If reimbursement to a child care provider is based on weekly authorized hours 

of child care, the department shall do all of the following with respect to establishing and 

adjusting the number of authorized hours per child: 

a. The department shall track a child’s weekly usage of child care authorizations over 

a 6−week period. 

b. If the child’s hourly usage tracked under subd. 1.a. is less than 60 percent of the 

authorized hours of child care, the department shall reduce the authorized hours of child 

care for the child to 90 percent of the maximum number of hours of child care that the 

child attended during any week of that 6−week period. 

c. The department shall provide written notice of the adjustment under subd. 1. b. to 

the child’s parent who is receiving the subsidy under this section, the child’s child care 

provider, and the applicable child care administrative agency. 

d. The department shall provide a grace period of 2 weeks after the number of 

authorized hours are reduced under subd. 1. b., during which time the child care subsidy 

amount paid to the child care provider for the child shall remain the same as before the 

reduction in authorized hours was made. 

2. The department shall exclude from a child’s hourly usage calculation under subd. 

1. b., all of the following: 

a. One week per year of vacation time for the child’s provider. 

b. One week per year of sick time for the child’s provider. 

c. Two weeks per year of vacation time for the child’s parent who is receiving the 

subsidy under s. 49.155, Stats., with the child. 
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d. Weeks for which the child care administrative agency approved payment to a 

provider to hold a slot during a parent’s temporary break in employment under par. (h). 

 

SECTION 10.  DCF 201.05 (title), (2), (3), and (4) are amended to read: 

DCF 201.05 County and tribal Child care administrative agency responsibilities. 

(2) TRAINING REQUIREMENT. County and tribal Child care administrative 

agencies shall ensure that each new child care worker completes the department’s initial 

training during the first 6 months of employment. 

(3) RATE−SETTING METHOD. Each county and tribal child care administrative 

agency shall submit a written statement to the department which describes the method by 

which the county or tribal child care administrative agency has determined reasonable 

and customary child care prices and the maximum rate that the county or tribal child care 

administrative agency will allow for the purchase of child care services. The department 

may prescribe standard units of service by which rates are set in order to achieve 

statewide consistency. 

(4) INFORMATION TO PROVIDERS. (a) County and tribal Child care 

administrative agencies shall distribute information to child care providers regarding 

child care funding policies. 

(b) County and tribal Child care administrative agencies shall require child care 

providers to sign a memorandum of understanding prior to receiving authorization or 

payment that specifies that the provider agrees to adhere to child care subsidy attendance 

reporting policies and cooperate with the agency in all program monitoring efforts. 
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SECTION 11.  DCF 201.06 (title); (1) (b), and (c); (2) (a) (intro.) and 2., (b) (intro.) 

and 1., (d), and (e); and (4) are amended to read: 

 
DCF 201.06 Establishing county and tribal agency child care rates.  

(1) (b) Survey. The county or tribal child care administrative agency, except a tribal 

agency acting under par. (a) 2., shall annually contact all licensed group day care centers 

and licensed family day care centers in the county or tribal area to determine the child 

care prices they charge to the general community, except if the department arranges for a 

survey independent of the county or tribal child care administrative agency. The child 

care prices shall be submitted in writing to be included in the survey. 

(c) Group. The county or tribal child care administrative agency shall set separate 

maximum rates for the following groups of children: 

(2) MAXIMUM RATES. (a) Licensed group day care centers. In setting maximum 

rates for licensed group day care centers, the county or tribal child care administrative 

agency shall comply with the following: 

2. In determining whether 75% of the day care slots can be purchased at or below the 

maximum rate, the county or tribal child care administrative agency may exclude day 

care centers that operate less than 5 days a week or 5 hours a day, receive funding from a 

county department established under s. 51.42 or 51.437, Stats., do not have a set 

full−time, weekly child care price, or at which more than 75% of the children’s care is 

subsidized under s. 49.155, Stats., excluding subs. (1d) and (1g). 

(b) Licensed family day care centers. In setting maximum rates for licensed family 

day care centers, the county or tribal child care administrative agency shall comply with 

the following: 
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1. Maximum rates shall be set so that at least 75% of the family day care center slots 

in the county or tribal area may be purchased at or below the maximum rates. The 

number of slots attributed to a center shall be equal to the center’s licensed capacity. In 

determining whether 75% of the day care slots can be purchased at or below the 

maximum rate, the county or tribal child care administrative agency may exclude day 

care centers that operate less than 5 days a week or 5 hours a day, receive funding from a 

county department established under s. 51.42 or 51.437, Stats., do not have a set 

full−time, weekly child care price, or at which more than 75% of the children’s care is 

subsidized under s. 49.155, Stats., excluding subs. (1d) and (1g). 

(d) In−home day care. For in−home care, the county or tribal child care 

administrative agency shall establish the maximum rate at the level of no less than the 

state minimum wage established under ch. 104, Stats., and ch. DWD 272. The child care 

administrative agency may authorize payment to the child care provider at the local 

reimbursement rate for the type of care provided multiplied by the number of children in 

care if this rate exceeds the minimum wage. 

(e) Other day care providers. For a day care program established or contracted for by 

a school board or for a certified school−age day care program, the county or tribal child 

care administrative agency shall establish maximum rates in accordance with par. (a). 

(4) SPECIAL RATES. A county or tribal child care administrative agency may set 

maximum reimbursement rates that are different from the rates allowed under subs. (1) 

and (2) for child care provided for less than a 2−week period, provided sporadically or 

provided for care of an ill child through negotiations with the child care provider. 

 



 11 

SECTION 12.  DCF 201.08 (3) (a) is amended to read: 

DCF 201.08 (3) (a) 1. A change in child care prices or in the rates paid by county or 

tribal agencies. 

 

SECTION 13.   EFFECTIVE DATE.  This rule shall take effect on May 17, 2010, as 

provided in s. 227.24 (1) (c), Stats. 

 

 


