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PART 1 
 Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation 

 
 Statutes interpreted:  ss. 344.25 to 344.27, 344.37, 344.61 to 344.67 and 346.70, 

Stats. 
 
 Statutory authority:  ss. 85.16(1), 227.11, 343.02 and 344.66, Stats. 

 
 Explanation of agency authority:  The Department is charged with 

administering the safety responsibility and damage judgment laws contained in Ch. 344.  
This rule making deals with reinstatement of operating privileges following suspension 
for nonpayment of a damage judgment.  The Department is also charged with 

administering provisions of the mandatory insurance law, Subchapter VI to Ch. 344, 
Stats.  This rule making implements that new law. 

 
 Related statute or rule:  s. 344.01(2)(d), Subch. VI  of Ch. 344, Stats. 

 
 Plain language analysis:  This proposed rule making revises those provisions of 

Ch. Trans 100 to reflect statutory requirements and to codify DMV practices and 

procedures that are used in the administration of the safety responsibility and damage 
judgment laws.  The damage judgment law provides that a driver’s operating privilege and 
vehicle registrations may be suspended for up to 20 years if the driver fails to pay down 

the judgment to the same extent it would have been paid had the driver carried the 
minimum insurance required under Wisconsin’s safety responsibility law.  s. 344.25, Stats.  

The safety responsibility law requires drivers involved in accidents without insurance to 
post a deposit with the Department to cover potential damages resulting from the accident.  
Failure to post the deposit or otherwise satisfy the claim results in suspension of operating 

privileges and vehicle registrations.  s. 344.14(1), Stats. 
 

 A second objective of this rule making, discussed below, is to establish standards 
for filings made in lieu of insurance with the Department pursuant to s. 344.63, Stats., as 
created by 2009 Wis. Act 28, and establish any other regulations made necessary by 

Wisconsin’s new mandatory insurance law. 
 

Safety Responsibility and Damage Judgment Law Related Proposed Rules 

 
Section 344.01(2)(d), Stats., sets minimum mandatory insurance limits in 

Wisconsin of $50,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any one 
accident and, subject to such limit for one person, in the amount of $100,000 because 

of bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in any one accident and in the amount 
of $15,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.1  
Section 344.26(3), Stats., provides that unpaid damage judgments in excess of those 

amounts are “deemed satisfied” for purposes of the damage judgment law when 
payments in those amounts have been credited to the judgments.  Payments made in 

                                                 
1 These dollar amounts can be adjusted in accordance with variance in the consumer price index 

beginning in 2017.  The rule text reflects this fact, but for purposes of the analysis, the current $15,000, 
$50,000 and $100,000 amounts shall be used to simplify the text and improve the understandability of the 
analysis. 
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settlement of any claims because of bodily injury, death or property damage arising 
from a motor vehicle accident are credited in reduction of the respective amounts so 

specified. 
 

It should be noted in this regard that the term “satisfied” as used in ss. 344.25 to 
344.27, Stats., is not used in the commonly understood legal parlance of the term.  
Ordinarily, to lawyers, “satisfaction” of a judgment means the payment of all amounts 

due under the judgment.  In s. 344.26(3), Stats., however, the different meaning 
described in the preceding paragraph is ascribed to the term solely for purposes of the 

damage judgment law.  This is consistent with the safety responsibility law.  Under the 
safety responsibility law, a person who had a contract of insurance with the minimum 
coverages described in s. 344.01(2)(d), Stats., would not be subject to that law’s bond 

requirements.  s. 344.14(2)(a), Stats. 
 

This proposed rule making would amend Ch. Trans 100 to make clear that 
payment of a judgment to the $15,000 for property damage plus $50,000 or $100,000 
level for injuries is sufficient to warrant release of any damage judgment suspension by 

the Division of Motor Vehicles.  It also imposes a requirement that any settlement 
agreement between the parties state the nature of the damages involved and the 

amount at which the possibility of re-suspension under the DMV damage judgment law 
expires. 

 

An additional proposed amendment to Ch. Trans 100 is intended to resolve a 
potential ambiguity in ss. 344.25 to 344.27, Stats.  Since the inception of this program, 

DMV has required satisfaction of an unpaid damage judgment as a condition of 
reinstatement following default on any judicially ordered payment plan because of the 
s. 344.27(3), Stats., requirement that “[I]f the judgment debtor fails to pay any 

installment as specified by such order, the secretary, upon notice of such default, shall 
immediately suspend the operating privilege and registrations of the judgment debtor 

until such judgment is satisfied as provided in s. 344.26.”  Historically, DMV has treated 
the order entered by the court as a judicial order that DMV is compelled to follow. 

 

The Department draft rule presented for hearing proposed to codify this statutory 
interpretation.  WisDOT received testimony at its rule hearing and a number of written 

comments regarding this particular provision.  The testimony and comments led 
WisDOT to reexamine the statute and reconsider this longstanding policy.  

 

The persons testifying at hearing and commenting on the rule suggested that 
DMV examine whether it may, under the current statutes, permit an injured party and a 

driver to agree to a voluntary repayment plan after the driver has defaulted on a court-
ordered plan.  As described above, s. 344.27(3) clearly states that DMV cannot allow a 
person to reinstate from a court-ordered plan unless the driver “satisfies” the judgment 

in the manner s. 344.26 provides.  Section 344.27(3) never mentions s. 344.25, Stats., 
and does not suggest that a 344.25 payment plan should be permitted following default 

on a court-ordered plan.  This is not unusual.  In general, if parties want the provisions 
of a judicial order to be changed, they have to ask the court to change the order.  They 
can’t just agree on the side to ignore what the court, by law, has decreed. 
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But, in the particular area of driver licensing, the interaction between the courts 
and the Division of Motor Vehicles is peculiar.  Courts lack inherent authority to grant or 

revoke motor vehicle operating privileges. State v. Darling, 143 Wis. 2d 839, 422 
N.W.2d 886 (Ct. App. 1988).  Any judicial authority with regard to driver licensing issues 

is derived from the statutes after a grant of power by the legislature.  Id.  The 
Administrator of the Division of Motor Vehicles is the licensing authority for the state.  
ss. 343.17(1), 343.02(1), Stats.  When judges are called upon to make driver licensing 

decisions, those decisions are considered administrative in nature, rather than judicial. 
State v. Marcus, 259 Wis. 543, 49 N.W.2d 447 (1951); State ex rel. Marcus v. County 

Court of Chippewa County, 260 Wis. 532, 51 N.W.2d 503 (1952); State v. Darling, 143 
Wis. 2d 839, 422 N.W.2d 886 (Ct. App.1988). 

 

In State v. Marcus, 259 Wis. 543, 49 N.W.2d 447 (1951), the Wisconsin Supreme 
Court examined the nature of occupational license orders issued by judges in 

Wisconsin.  At that time, the law called for judges to issue orders permitting a driver to 
obtain an occupational license.  In Marcus, a court issued such an order, but DMV 
refused to issue the license because of a statutory prohibition against issuing the 

license.  The defendant brought contempt proceedings. 
 

The Marcus court examined the statutory basis for occupational license issuance 
and noted that after the court entered its order to issue an occupational license, the 
DMV still had authority not to issue the license for various reasons, such as failure to 

post proof of financial responsibility for the future.  The court concluded that the DMV 
could not have such authority to independently reject a judicial order and concluded that 

the order to issue an occupational license was therefore administrative in nature. 
 
The Department has concluded that this same logic applies with respect to the 

damage judgment laws being interpreted in this rule making.  Section 344.25(2) has a 
provision that suggests that, if the injured party and the driver agree on a plan following 

default on a court-ordered plan, that DMV has discretion to permit the driver to reinstate 
suspended operating privileges and vehicle registrations: 

 

344.25(2) If the judgment creditor consents in writing in such form as the 
secretary may prescribe that the judgment debtor be allowed to retain or 

reinstate the operating privilege and registrations, the same may be 
allowed by the secretary for 6 months from the date of such consent and 
thereafter until such consent is revoked in writing, notwithstanding 

default in the payment of such judgment or of any installments 
thereof as prescribed in s. 344.27, provided the judgment debtor 

furnishes proof of financial responsibility for the future and maintains such 
proof at all times when such license and registrations are in effect during a 
period of 3 years following the date on which the agreement is filed with 

the secretary.  [emphasis mine.] 
 

The fact that DMV may allow payment by installments notwithstanding a 
judgment debtor’s failure to conform to a court order issued under s. 344.27 suggests 
that a s. 344.27 damage judgment payment plan order is administrative rather than 

judicial in nature.  The fact that such an order has no effect upon the underlying damage 
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judgment other than to permit motor vehicle operation also suggests that the order is an 
administrative order.  A s. 344.27 order does not, for example, stay execution of the 

judgment, garnishment of wages, accrual of interest on the judgment or in any other 
manner affect the judgment.  s. 344.27(1).   It is merely an order permitting a person to 

obtain a driver license; an order for which contempt is not available if the driver fails to 
comply. 

 

DMV has statutory authority to permit drivers to be licensed pursuant to voluntary 
payment agreements related to unpaid judgments under s. 344.25(2), Stats.  Because a 

judicial payment plan under s. 344.27, Stats., is an administrative rather than a judicial 
order, DMV is not committing contempt or violating a court order if it permits a s. 344.25 
voluntary payment plan to follow default on a judicial payment plan authorized under s. 

344.27, Stats. 
 

Accordingly, DMV has elected to establish uniform rules for exercising its 
discretionary authority with regard to permitting voluntary payment plans under s. 
344.25, Stats.  This proposed rule would permit an unlimited number of voluntary or 

judicially approved payment plans under ss. 344.25 and 344.27, Stats.  The Department 
does not anticipate that this change in procedure and policy will lead to problems with 

the administration of the law.  But, if the Department finds that the change leads to 
abuse by parties or creates an unmanageable workload increase, the Department may 
revisit this issue and reestablish limits on the availability of these options. 

 
With regard to the public policies underlying this decision, outside of the technical 

provisions of the underlying statutes, the Department believes that permitting multiple 
payment plans will not result in any danger to the travelling public.  First, it is widely 
recognized that the majority of drivers whose operating privileges are suspended 

continue to drive in violation of the law.  By permitting drivers whose licenses are 
suspended under the damage judgment law to reach accord with the judgment 

creditors, post an SR-22 or other proof of financial responsibility for the future, and be 
relicensed, this rule will enhance employment opportunities for affected judgment 
debtors and improve the likelihood of their eventually satisfying the unpaid judgment.  

The SR-22 requirement license reinstatement protects other drivers from the risk of a 
second uninsured accident by that same judgment debtor. 

 
In short, both the safety responsibility and damage judgment laws essentially boil 

down to collection tools primarily used by insurance companies to collect on damages 

resulting from accidents with their insured drivers.  To the extent this rule change will 
allow those private parties to reach private agreements regarding satisfaction of the 

debt, the Department does not believe there is any public policy served by preventing or 
prohibiting those agreements.  

 

The other changes to the rule related to the safety responsibility and damage 
judgment laws relate to inconsistent use of terms and updating formulas to reflect the 

increased minimum mandatory insurance required in Wisconsin.  Proposed 
amendments to s. Trans 100.08(1) are intended to eliminate inconsistent use of 
language in the amended paragraphs.  The paragraphs amended used alternatively the 

term “check” or the term “draft,” when either a check or a draft is adequate in any of 
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those instances and either is accepted by DMV.  The amendments simply make it clear 
that either is acceptable in lieu of cash.   

 
Finally, the unencumbered asset base formula amount required for self-

insurance in s. Trans 100.16(4)(a) is raised from $60,000 to $115,000 to match the new 
minimum liability limits required under state law.  The formula is expressed in a manner 
that will allow the amount to rise or fall as minimum insurance limits rise or fall under s. 

344.11, Stats. 
 

 
Mandatory Insurance Related Proposed Rules 

 

As stated above, one purpose of this proposed rule making is to set interim 
standards for filings made in lieu of insurance with the Department pursuant to s. 344.63, 

Stats., as created by 2009 Wis. Act 28.  The statutes require the Department to accept 
and release deposits made in lieu of mandatory insurance under particular circumstances, 
and these rules cannot modify those statutorily established requirements.  The 

Department believes the legislature may wish to consider modifying some of those 
requirements in the future because the effects of some of the provisions may undermine 

the legislature’s apparent intentions in enacting the laws.  These effects are explained 
below. 

 

 One deposit accepted in lieu of insurance under s. 344.63, Stats., is $60,000 cash. 
The $60,000 amount is set in the statutes and is far less than the minimum insurance 

required under the law.  U.S. currency, cashiers and certified checks, money orders, bank 
checks, and attorney trust fund checks may be accepted as a cash deposit by the 
Department.  In addition to depositing cash, the depositor must prove no judgments are 

outstanding against the depositor in the depositor’s county of residence.  s. 344.37(1), 
Stats. 

 
 A second deposit accepted by the Department is a bond.  There are two types of 
bonds.  First, a bond issued by a surety company for the minimum liability coverage 

amounts required by law (currently $15,000 property, $50,000 personal injury to one 
person, $100,000 personal injury of multiple persons).  The bond will need to be in a form 

approved by the Department.  The other form of bond permitted under the statutes is a 
judicial bond.  If requested, judges will have to approve or disapprove of applications to 
create a bond secured by $330,000 in real estate (twice the amount of the bond). 

 
 The third mechanism available under the statute is posting securities.  Securities 

are the most problematic from an administrative and enforcement standpoint.  The value 
of securities can vary greatly over time.  The Department cannot and will not know the 
value of securities after deposit.  The burden will be on the depositor to be able to prove 

the value of any securities deposited with the Department to police when asked.  Deposits 
of securities must be accompanied by an opinion of counsel verifying that the securities 

meet the statutory requirements for use in lieu of insurance.  The depositor will need to 
provide an affidavit as to the value of the securities at the time of deposit and will need to 
pledge the securities in a manner that permits the Department to sell them in order to use 

the proceeds to satisfy damages resulting from accidents.  The share or bond certificates 
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will need to be physically deposited with the Department.  The Department proposes in 
this rulemaking to require that the securities be of a type readily sold on a recognized 

market, such as the NASDAQ or New York Stock Exchange, so that DMV has a means of 
converting the securities to cash if the securities must be used to pay damages resulting 

from an accident.  Securities in closely held corporations, certificates of deposit that are 
subject to early withdrawal penalties, and other types of securities that are not readily 
converted to cash would not be accepted.  Minimum standards of capitalization and 

liquidity are suggested as mechanisms for ensuring that penny stocks and unmarketable 
securities that are difficult to sell will not be accepted.   

 
As set forth at the outset of this plain language analysis, there are some issues 

related to the return of deposits made in lieu of mandatory insurance established by the 

new mandatory insurance law that may merit further legislative attention.  For example, 
s. 344.63(3)(a) provides that any bond, cash or securities deposited in lieu of insurance 

with the Department would have to be returned to the depositor if the owner or operator 
of the vehicle for whom the deposit was made obtains insurance, dies, becomes 
permanently incapacitated to operate a motor vehicle, no longer holds a valid operator’s 

license or no longer owns a motor vehicle registered with the Department.  The 
Department lacks authority under that statute to retain any bond or deposit to satisfy 

damages resulting from an accident once any of those events triggering return of the 
deposit occurs. 
 

Because of this statutory requirement, the person posting the bond or deposit will 
have ample opportunity to withdraw any deposit prior to the Department being able to 

apply it to any judgment for damages for the injured party’s benefit.  For example, if the 
depositor were to be involved in an accident, he or she could walk into any DMV service 
center, surrender his or her license and demand return of the deposit.  Under the new 

law, DMV has a ministerial non-discretionary responsibility to cancel the bond or return 
the deposit, even if the Department knows that the accident has occurred.  Once the 

bond is cancelled or the deposit is returned, the driver can request DMV reinstate his or 
her license, and DMV is required to do so.  Similarly, if the driver who made the deposit 
in lieu of insurance killed himself by negligently causing an accident injuring others, the 

Department is required to return the deposit to the depositor’s estate and may not be 
able to retain the deposit for the benefit of the persons the depositor negligently injured.  

In these and other foreseeable types of situations, the deposit made in lieu of insurance 
would not be available to satisfy the damages suffered by those injured in the accident.  
The legislature may wish, at some point, to consider amending the statutory provisions 

that lead to such results so that deposits made in lieu of insurance could be held by the 
Department in order to help offset damages caused by drivers using deposits in lieu of 

insurance.  
 
A second issue related to the new mandatory insurance law that may merit 

further legislative attention is whether exceptions to the law for religious groups, or other 
modifications to Wisconsin law for such groups should be considered.  The Department 

received detailed written comments and testimony at both emergency and permanent 
rule hearings for Ch. Trans 100 from persons of the Mennonite faith.  The testimony 
established that a core religious tenet of some Mennonites is that buying commercial 

insurance violates their ethical principles.  Kenneth Wittmer, a deacon in a Neshkoro, 
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Wisconsin congregation, testified that one primary reason Mennonites believe that is 
because they believe in the importance of brotherly aid amongst their community 

(Galatians 6:2, “Bear ye one another's burdens, and so fulfil the law of Christ.)  Thus, 
they believe that each member has a duty to help others during times of adversity.  

They also believe in acceptance of personal responsibility for their actions.  (Galatians  
6:5, “For every man shall bear his own burden.”)  He further explained that to trust in an 
insurance contract is, in their view, elevating trust in man above trust in God. (Psalm 

118:8, “[It is] better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.”)  Finally, he 
explained that Mennonites also dislike the use of litigation and courts to resolve 

differences and prefer to settle matters directly between persons.  A subrogated insurer, 
holding the right to press a claim on behalf of a church member, could violate their 
beliefs regarding when and how to settle such claims.  Because of their beliefs, the 

church members asked DMV to exempt Mennonites from the new statutory requirement 
that all persons either carry insurance or post a form of security in the manner specified 

in s. 344.63, Stats.  Other witnesses explained that while there is variation between 
communities in some particulars of their faith, they share these basic beliefs. 

 

The Mennonite witnesses explained that their congregations band together to 
settle damage claims after they arise and they all contribute to paying claims against 

their members.  They suggested that WisDOT consider whether it could exempt 
persons of their faith from the mandatory insurance requirements of Ch. 344, Stats., or 
whether it could permit Mennonite churches to “self insure” the vehicles owned by 

members of their congregations.  They testified that their congregations have an 
excellent history, nationwide, of paying damage judgments against their members.  The 

Department did not investigate or conduct additional research into that contention 
because it concluded that regardless of whether the representations are accurate, the 
Department lacks authority to promulgate the rule amendment the witnesses requested. 

 
It did come out at hearing that Mennonite congregations do not pay damage 

judgments against persons who leave their congregations.  In this respect, the 
community arrangements of the Mennonites differ from traditional insurance, which 
covers a driver for damages caused as of the date of an accident regardless of whether 

the driver remains insured by the insurer after the accident date. 
 

The Mennonite witnesses provided copies of laws or regulations from Ohio and 
Pennsylvania that permit congregations to post a bond or security for the entire 
congregation as security for potential damages in the future.  They requested the 

department also consider adopting that type of scheme which would protect other 
drivers involved in accidents with their members while permitting them to maintain their 

religious practice of avoiding the purchase of insurance. 
 
The Department carefully considered the requests made by the Mennonite 

groups, but concluded it lacks authority to grant the types of exemption they requested 
and that such exemptions to the mandatory insurance law would need to be created by 

the legislature.  
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Under Wisconsin law, the legislature has given executive agencies such as 
WisDOT limited legislative authority in areas they administer.  This authority is subject 

to the legislature’s oversight through the rule making process as set forth in 
s. 227.11(2)(a), Stats.: 

 
Each agency may promulgate rules interpreting the provisions of any 
statute enforced or administered by it, if the agency considers it necessary 

to effectuate the purpose of the statute, but a rule is not valid if it 
exceeds the bounds of correct interpretation.  [emphasis mine.] 

 
The last sentence is important because it is basic to administrative law that 

executive agencies have only limited powers.  Unlike natural persons, who enjoy 

freedom to engage in any activity unless there is a law prohibiting it, state agencies 
have no power to engage in activities unless the legislature grants them that power.  

The legislature has granted many powers to WisDOT, but WisDOT has no authority to 
“trump” or ignore any legislative enactment by administrative rule.  In a conflict between 
a statute and a rule, the statute controls.  Debeck v. DNR, 172 Wis. 2d 382, 493 N.W.2d 

234 (Ct. App. 1992). 
 

Thus, WisDOT rule making authority with regard to the mandatory insurance, 
safety responsibility and damage judgment laws is limited to the parameters set by the 
legislature.  WisDOT cannot contravene a statutory mandate.  Statutory provisions that 

impose burdens on citizens must be corrected by amendment of the statutes by the 
legislature. 

 
Section 344.62 is quite clear in providing that “Except as provided in s. 344.63, 

no person may operate a motor vehicle upon a highway in this state unless the owner or 

operator of the vehicle has in effect a motor vehicle liability policy with respect to the 
vehicle being operated.”  Section 344.63 permits limited exceptions to the requirement 

of holding insurance.  Some of those exemptions are available to individuals, including 
members of Mennonite congregations.  For example, the owner or operator of the motor 
vehicle may file a bond or deposit cash or securities with WisDOT and thereby be 

exempted from the requirement of buying auto insurance.  To this extent, the legislation 
already accommodates persons who may have religious qualms about the purchase of 

insurance.  The legislation, however, provides these optional mechanisms to 
individuals, not to congregations or groups of persons. 

 

Nothing in s. 344.62 nor 344.63 permits WisDOT to exempt a particular group 
from the requirements of the mandatory insurance law.  Only the legislature may create 

such an exemption, and this rule making therefore lacks any proposal to create such an 
exemption. 

 

With regard to self-insurance, s. 344.16(1) provides that “Any person in whose 
name more than 25 motor vehicles are registered may qualify as a self-insurer…”  

Accordingly, a Mennonite Church or organization that registers 25 or more vehicles in 
its name may qualify for self-insurance.  But, nothing in the statute permits a collection 
of individually-owned and registered vehicles to qualify for “self insurance.”  Accordingly, 

this rule does not propose any amendment to permit groups persons owning individually 
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titled and registered vehicles to qualify as a single self-insured person.  Any such 
change to Wisconsin law would need to be made statutorily by the legislature. 

 
 Summary of, and preliminary comparison with, existing or proposed federal 

regulation:  There are no existing or proposed federal regulations on this issue. 

 
 Comparison with Rules in the Following States: 

  
 Michigan:  Owners of passenger vehicles, vans, and light trucks must purchase 

Michigan no-fault insurance before registering their vehicle.  Out-of-state insurance 
policies cannot be used to meet Michigan insurance requirements for registering a vehicle. 
Motorcycles must also be insured, but it is not no-fault insurance. 

 
 Required coverages include bodily injury/property damage, personal injury 

protection, and property protection insurance.  These required coverages do not pay for 
damage to vehicles or cover theft.  Drivers may carry collision coverage (damage) and 
comprehensive coverage (theft) at their option. 

 
 Drivers are required to keep a Michigan no-fault insurance certificate in their vehicle 

or carry it with them when they drive.  If they cannot show proof of insurance to a law 
enforcement officer, their operating privilege or vehicle registration may be suspended. 
 

 Persons (usually companies) owning more than 25 vehicles may be exempt from 
the mandatory insurance requirement by obtaining a certificate of self insurance from the 

Michigan Secretary of State.  Applicants must have a net worth in excess of $20 million to 
be exempt from carrying insurance, or a have net worth in excess of $5 million and carry 
an excess insurance policy.  Section R  257.532, Michigan Admin. Code. 

 
 Department staff did not find any provision of Michigan law allowing deposits in lieu 

of insurance similar to those set forth in s. 344.63, Stats.   
 
 Michigan has a damage judgment law similar to Wisconsin’s.  If someone is driving 

a vehicle without insurance and is at-fault in an accident, the injured party may file a suit 
against the uninsured motorist in court for damages. The court may award a judgment for 

damages to the injured party against the uninsured motorist. Unlike Wisconsin, if the 
uninsured motorist cannot pay the judgment, their driver license is suspended until the 
judgment is paid in full.  Wisconsin requires only that the minimum mandatory insurance 

amounts be paid before a driver may reinstate his or her license. 
 

 Michigan does not have a safety responsibility law similar to Wisconsin’s. 
 
 Minnesota:  The Minnesota No-Fault Act (M.S. 65B.48), requires owners of 

registered motor vehicles to maintain no-fault insurance. The law makes it a crime for a 
vehicle owner to operate or permit operation of any uninsured motor vehicle or motorcycle 

upon any public road, street, or highway.  Violation of the law can result in fines or 
imprisonment and/or loss of driving privileges.  
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 Drivers must carry liability, personal injury protection, uninsured motorist, and 
underinsured motorist coverage.  Collision and comprehensive coverage are optional. 

 
 Minnesota Law (M.S. 169.791) requires drivers to carry proof of insurance in the 

vehicle at all times and to provide it to peace officers upon demand. 
 
 Minnesota does not appear to have a safety responsibility law.  Minn. Stat. 171.182 

provides for revocation of operating privileges for drivers who have unpaid damage 
judgments resulting from automobile accidents.  Unlike Wisconsin, complete payment of 

the judgment is required prior to reinstatement. 
 
 Illinois:  All motor vehicles operated in Illinois must be covered by liability 

insurance.  Vehicle owners are required to provide insurance information at the time of 
registration renewal. 

 
Drivers operating without proof of insurance in Illinois, are subject to a five hundred 

dollar fine and a sixty day suspension of vehicle registration. Illinois requires drivers to 

carry bodily injury liability limits of $20,000/$40,000, property damage liability limits of 
$15,000, and uninsured motorist coverage. 

 
 Illinois does not appear to have a safety responsibility law.  Illinois law does provide 
for revocation of operating privileges for drivers who have unpaid damage judgments 

resulting from automobile accidents.  Unlike Wisconsin, complete payment of the judgment 
is required prior to reinstatement. 
 
 Iowa:  Iowa does not mandate that drivers or vehicle owners carry insurance.  Iowa 

has a safety responsibility law similar to Wisconsin’s, which is used to compel uninsured 

drivers to post deposits in order to cover damages potentially attributable to them from an 
accident.  Any person involved in an accident in Iowa, as either the driver or owner of a 

motor vehicle, is subject to the requirements of the law. 
 
 Iowa does not have a compulsory insurance law.  Instead, the Financial & Safety 

Responsibility Act provides for: 
 

 Suspending the operating and registration privileges of a driver or owner who 
cannot show immediate financial responsibility following an accident; and, 

 

 By requiring anyone whose driver's license has been suspended or revoked 
because of a conviction, unsatisfied judgment or violation of the OWI law to 

prove financial responsibility for any future damages or injuries that driver may 
cause. 

 
 Just as in Wisconsin, in Iowa drivers must file an accident report and must be filed 
with the Office of Driver Services within a set timeframe if an accident results in bodily 

injury, death or total property damage over a statutorily established amount.  Drivers do 
not need to file a personal accident report if the accident was investigated by a law 

enforcement agency and the investigating officer files a report. 
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 A driver who causes personal injury or damage exceeding $1,000 to the other party 
must prove his or her financial responsibility or be subject to license suspension.  Similar 

to Wisconsin’s safety responsibility law, drivers can prove financial responsibility by 
showing that they were covered by automobile liability insurance at the time of the 

accident, posting cash, getting releases from all other damaged or injured parties, being 
absolved of responsibility by a court judgment, filing an agreement to pay the other 
damaged or injured parties on an installment plan, or reaching a settlement with the 

injured persons.  Iowa also allows the uninsured motorist to confess judgment and enter 
into a judicially-approved payment plan as a mechanism for resolving safety responsibility 

matters. 
 
 Both the owners and drivers of the vehicles involved in an accident must prove their 

financial responsibility.  This means that the person who owns the vehicle involved in an 
accident has to show financial responsibility even if they weren’t driving. Like Wisconsin, 

Iowa will suspend registrations of all the owners’ vehicles if they do not comply.  Similarly, 
the driver of the vehicle has to show financial responsibility or lose all licenses to operate 
motor vehicles. 

 
 Iowa does not appear to have a damage judgment law similar to Wisconsin’s. 

 
 Overall, it appears that states having mandatory insurance laws do not have a 
safety responsibility law similar to Wisconsin’s.  Iowa, which has a safety responsibility 

law, does not mandate insurance. 
 
 Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies used and how the 
related findings support the regulatory approach chosen:  Section 344.63, Stats., as 

created by 2009 Wis. Act 28, provides exceptions to the requirement of having a motor 

vehicle liability insurance policy to operate a motor vehicle on Wisconsin highways.  The 
exceptions defined in the statutes are nearly identical to those provided for under 

Wisconsin’s Safety Responsibility Law.  The administration of the exceptions, as defined in 
this proposed rule, are purposely drafted to closely mirror the procedures currently in place 
under the Safety Responsibility Law. 

 
 Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine effect on small 

businesses:  This regulatory change has no impact on small business.  This rule making 

largely codifies existing DOT policy with regard to the administration of the safety 
responsibility and damage judgment laws.  The Department does not anticipate any fiscal 

effect upon small businesses from this codification. 
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 Effect on small business:  This regulatory change has no impact on small 

business.  The safety responsibility and damage judgment portions of this rule making 

largely codifies existing DOT policy with regard to the administration of the safety 
responsibility and damage judgment laws.  This proposed rule making related to filings in 

lieu of mandatory insurance are not expected to impact small business in any manner.  
The new mandatory insurance law itself may require small businesses that lack 
automobile coverage to obtain insurance or make a filing in lieu of insurance with the 

Department.  The Department does not anticipate any fiscal effect upon small businesses 
from this codification.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 

contacted by e-mail at ralph.sanders@dot.state.wi.us, or by calling (414) 438-4585. 
  
 Fiscal effect:  This rule making largely codifies existing DOT policy with regard to 

the administration of the safety responsibility and damage judgment laws.  The 
Department believes any fiscal effect from this codification to be indeterminate as the 

number of citations issued for not carrying proof of liability insurance, failure to have 
liability insurance, or fraud in providing proof of liability insurance cannot be surmised at 
this time.  The Department will incur costs for computer changes necessary to develop 

codes used to indicate the new types on convictions on violators driving records and an 
unknown amount of time spent by staff explaining insurance requirements and processing 

license suspensions and reinstatements for persons whose operating privilege is 
suspended for not paying the forfeitures associated with the violations listed above.  The 
Department will also receive an indeterminate amount of revenue resulting from 

reinstatement fees collected from those persons whose operating privilege is suspended 
for not paying forfeitures.  Local revenue has the potential to increase through collection of 

forfeitures and other charges related to the penalties associated with convictions for 
violations of the new charges.  
 

 
Trans 100, Additional Installment Agreements Implementation Costs 

 

The Uninsured Motorist Unit (UMU) processes an average of 285 private and 
court ordered installment agreements for damages per month. UMU also processes an 

average of 34 defaults on these agreements, which is approximately 12%. 
 

Assuming that 10% of installments agreements may default above the current 
12% rate once the knowledge of an opportunity to negotiate subsequent agreements 
becomes well known, we could anticipate a rise in defaults from the current 

12% (34 per month) to a rate of 22% (63 per month).  
 

Assuming that of the 22% of defaults, 80% (50) would opt for an additional 
agreement if approved by the creditor. 
 

This would bring the total amount of private installment agreements processed by 
the Uninsured Motorist Unit to 323 per month with a continuing 22% defaulting. 
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Transactions 

 

 
 

MPU 

Increase in 

Annual 
Number of 

Transactions 

 

Hours of 
Increased 

work 

 

Number of 
new FTEs 

Needed 

 

 
 

Costs 
Processing 

installment 
agreements 

20 600 200 .12 $6432.00 

Processing 

defaults on 
agreements 

7.5 348 43.5 .025 $1340.00 

Form 
Changes 

240 1 4 .002 $107.20 

Totals  949 247.5 .147 $7900.00 

 
This cost would be offset by the reinstatement fees collected each time.  Fees for 

the reinstatements could amount to between $36,000 and $66,000.   

 
At this time the extra work would be completed by the Uninsured Motorist Unit 

without the addition of any full time employees.  The costs would be offset by the 
reinstatement fees. 
 

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:  The Department estimates that 

there will be no fiscal impact on private sector revenues or liabilities.  
 

 Agency contact person and copies of proposed rule:  Copies of the proposed 

rule may be obtained, without cost, by writing to Reginald Paradowski, Section Chief, 
Division of Motor Vehicles, Driver Information Section, Room 301, P. O. Box 7983, 

Madison, WI  53707-7983, or by calling (608) 264-7002.  You may also contact 
Mr. Paradowski via e-mail at: dotuninsuredmotorist@wisconsin.gov. 

 
PART 2 

 TEXT OF PROPOSED RULE 

 
SECTION 1.  Trans 100.01(1) is amended to read: 

Trans 100.01(1) STATUTORY AUTHORITY.  As authorized by ss. 85.16(1), 

227.11 and 343.02, Stats., the purpose of this chapter is to administratively interpret 

s. 343.23(2), Stats., relating to department records, ss. 344.01 to 344.48, Stats., relating 

to financial responsibility in accidents, and s. 346.70, Stats., relating to accident 

reporting, and ss. 344.25 to 344.27, Stats., relating to damage judgments. 

SECTION 2.  Trans 100.02(11m), (12m), and (13m) are created to read: 
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Trans 100.02(11m) “Multiple injury minimum coverage” means $100,000 until the 

department publishes adjusted liability limit amounts as required by s. 344.11, Stats., 

and means the most recently published adjusted liability amount for multiple injuries 

after that date. 

(12m) “Property damage minimum coverage” means $15,000 until the 

department publishes adjusted liability limit amounts as required by s. 344.11, Stats., 

and means the most recently published adjusted liability amount for property damage 

after that date. 

(13m) “Single injury minimum coverage” means $50,000 until the department 

publishes adjusted liability limit amounts as required by s. 344.11, Stats., and means 

the most recently published adjusted liability amount for a single person injured in an 

accident after that date. 

SECTION 3.  Trans 100.08(1)(a), (b), (d), (e) and (f) are amended to read:  

Trans 100.08(1)(a) Cash United States currency. 

(b) A cashiers cashier’s check or draft. 

(d) A financial institution check or draft. 

(e) A certified personal or business check or draft. 

(f) An attorney trust account check or draft. 

SECTION 4.  Trans 100.09(1m) and (2)(note) are created to read: 

Trans 100.09(1m) A person shall be presumed to own a vehicle if it is titled in the 

person’s name.  Ownership may be disputed and the presumption rebutted informally 

with the department or in a hearing under this chapter.  The person in whose name a 

vehicle is titled shall have the burden of rebutting that presumption. 



 16 
 

 
 

  

Note:  See State v. Kirch, 222 Wis. 2d 598, 587 N.W.2d 919 (Ct. App. 1998); Young 
v. West Bend Mutual Ins. Co., 2008 WI App 147; Kruse v. Weigand, 204 Wis. 195 

(1931); Knutson v. Mueller, 68 Wis. 2d 199 (1974). 

 
(2)(note) Note:  If A loans a vehicle to B, even with conditions or contractual 

obligations on that loan, such as not re-loaning the vehicle, and B loans the vehicle to 

C, C has A’s implied consent to operate the vehicle notwithstanding the conditions or 

agreement between A and B.  A’s relinquishment of control of the vehicle to B makes A 

responsible for any accident in which B is involved or in which any person operating the 

vehicle with B’s consent is involved.  Plevin v. WisDOT, 267 Wis. 2d 281 (Ct. App. 

2003).  A is responsible for maintaining insurance on or covering damages caused by 

A’s vehicle. 

SECTION 5.  Trans 100.09(4)(intro.) and (c)(note) are amended to read: 

Trans 100.09(4)(intro.) The owner of a motor vehicle involved in an accident is 

exempt from depositing security under s. 344.14 (2) (g), Stats., if the owner or the 

owner's insurer produces uncontroverted proof that the motor vehicle was operated or 

parked without actual or implied permission at the time of the accident.  Acceptable 

proof shall be in one of the following forms: 

(c)(note) This is an exclusive list of mechanisms that may be used for proving 

unauthorized operation of a vehicle.  See Plevin v. WisDOT, 267 Wis. 2d 281 (Ct. App. 

2003). 

SECTION 6.  Trans 100.10(10) is amended to read: 

Trans 100.10(10) All parties and their counsel shall be respectful of the hearing 

examiner and behave in a professional manner.  A hearing examiner may exclude a 

person or attorney from a hearing for engaging in disrespectful, contemptuous, or 

disruptive conduct.  An attorney who is repeatedly excluded from hearings for the 
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conduct may be barred from participating in administrative hearings before the 

department. 

SECTION 7.  Trans 100.13(1)(h)(note) is amended to read: 

Trans 100.13(1)(h)(note) Note:  ss. 807.10, 344.14(2)(h) and 344.18(1)(b), Stats.; 

Note:  Form MV 3128--Installment Agreement to Pay Damages. 

SECTION 8.  Trans 100.13(1)(i) and (4) are created to read: 

Trans 100.13(1)(i) A statement as to whether the claim is for injury to property, 

injury to a person, or injury to a combination of persons or property, and that upon 

payment of the appropriate amount specified in s. Trans 100.18(1)(f) to (i), the judgment 

creditor shall report the judgment as “satisfied for purposes of s. 344.26(3), Stats.,” to 

the division of motor vehicles. 

(4) A person may not reinstate his or her operating privilege upon filing a written 

installment agreement if the person’s operating privilege has been suspended for failure 

to comply with a court-ordered installment plan under s. 344.27(3), Stats., until the case 

is resolved under s. Trans 100.18. 

Note: Section 344.27(3), Stats., provides that “[i]f the judgment debtor fa ils to pay 
any installment as specified by such order, the secretary, upon notice of such 

default, shall immediately suspend the operating privilege and registrations of the 
judgment debtor until such judgment is satisfied as provided in s. 344.26.”  Section 
344.26 provides that a person whose operating privilege is suspended for a 

damage judgment may be reinstated if the judgment is stayed, satisfied or 
discharged.  But, s. 344.26(3) makes clear that “satisfaction,” as used in the 
statute, does not have its ordinary and generally understood meaning of paying a 

judgment in full (see, for example, s. 806.20, Stats.).  Rather, “satisfaction” under 
the damage judgment law means to pay a creditor the same amount the creditor 
would have received if the judgment debtor had held insurance in the minimum 

mandatory amounts required to avoid responsibility under the safety responsibility 
laws.  Trans 100.18 deals with the process of resolving a damage judgment 
suspensions, including paying off the amount required to “satisfy” a judgment 

under s. 344.26(3), Stats. 
 

SECTION 9.  Trans 100.15(5)(intro.) is renumbered Trans 100.15(5) and amended 

to read: 
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Trans 100.15(5) RESOLVING CLAIM IN DAMAGE JUDGMENT CASES.  A 

person whose operating privilege or motor vehicle registration was suspended or 

revoked for failure to pay a damage judgment shall meet one of the following conditions 

as a prerequisite to reinstating the may not reinstate an operating privilege or motor 

vehicle registration until the person resolves the damage judgment case in a manner 

permitted under s. Trans 100.18:. 

Note:  Section 128.21, Stats., voluntary proceeding orders do not stay Ch. 344 
license suspension or revocation actions, and are therefore inadequate to resolve 
a damage judgment suspension or revocation under sub. (5)(b).  See s. Trans 

100.18 regarding the effect of a bankruptcy on a damage judgment revocation.  
 

SECTION 10.  Trans 100.15(5)(a) to (e) are repealed. 

SECTION 11.  Trans 100.16(4)(a) is amended to read: 

Trans 100.16(4)(a) A person shall be considered to have the ability to pay 

judgments arising out of motor vehicle accidents if the person has unencumbered 

assets of at least $60,000 the sum of multiple injury minimum coverage plus property 

damage minimum coverage times the square root of the total number of motor vehicles 

owned by the person and operated on Wisconsin highways, is paying creditors as the 

person's debts become due, and does not have any judgment, fine or forfeiture that has 

remained unpaid more than 30 days. 

NOTE:  The sum of multiple injury minimum coverage plus property damage 
minimum coverage is $115,000 until the Department publishes adjusted amounts 
pursuant to s. 344.11, Stats. 

 

SECTION 12.  Trans 100.18(1)(intro.) is amended to read: 

Trans 100.18(1)(intro.) SUSPENSION.  Upon receipt of a certified damage 

judgment from a Wisconsin court, the department shall immediately suspend the 

judgment debtor's operating privilege and the registration of the judgment debtor's 

motor vehicles.  The suspension shall remain in effect until the person pays all fees 
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required for operating privilege and motor vehicle registration reinstatement, files any 

required proof of financial responsibility for the future the person meets the criteria of 

sub. (5), and until one of the following conditions is met: 

SECTION 13.  Trans 100.18(1) (b)(note), (e)(note), (f) to (i) and (1m) are created 

to read: 

Trans 100.18(1)(b)(note) Note:  Section 128.21, Stats., voluntary proceeding 

orders do not stay Ch. 344 license suspension or revocation actions, and are therefore 

inadequate to resolve a damage judgment suspension or revocation under sub. (5)(b).  

See s. Trans 100.18 regarding the effect of a bankruptcy on a damage judgment 

revocation. 

(1)(e)(note) Note:  See s. 893.40, Stats. 

(f) If the judgment is for property damage, the person files proof of payment of  

an amount equal to the property damage minimum coverage level described in s. Trans 

100.02(12m) to the judgment creditor, including payments made in settlement or partial 

settlement of the property damage claim or payments made to the court for application 

to the judgment.  Payments on the claim made by the judgment debtor, an insurance 

carrier, or any other person may be aggregated to reach that amount. 

Note:  See the note following s. Trans 100.18(1)(i). 
 

(g) If the judgment is for injury to a single person, the person files proof of 

payment of an amount equal to the single injury minimum coverage level described in s. 

Trans 100.02(13m) to the judgment creditor, including payments made in settlement or 

partial settlement of the injury claim or payments made to the court for application to the 

judgment. Payments on the claim made by the judgment debtor, an insurance carrier, or 

any other person may be aggregated to reach that amount. 
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Note:  See the note following Trans s. 100.18(1)(i). 
 

(h) If the judgment is for injury to more than one person, the person files proof of 

payment of an amount equal to the multiple injury minimum coverage level described in 

s. Trans 100.02(11m)  to the judgment creditor, including payments made in settlement 

or partial settlement of the injury claim or payments made to the court for application to 

the judgment.  Payments on the claim made by the judgment debtor, an insurance 

carrier, or any other person may be aggregated to reach that amount. 

Note:  See the note following s. Trans 100.18(1)(i). 

 
(i) If the judgment results from any combination of property damage, injury to one 

person, or injury to more than one person, the person files proof of payment of the 

amount applicable under par. (f) plus the amount applicable under par. (g) or (h), 

whichever is applicable, to the judgment creditor, including payments made in 

settlement or partial settlement of the property damage or injury claims or payments 

made to the court for application to the judgment.  Payments on the judgment creditor’s 

claim made by the judgment debtor, an insurance carrier, or any other person may be 

aggregated to reach the amount required to be paid prior to satisfaction of the damage 

judgment for driver licensing purposes under this paragraph. 

NOTE: Under s. 346.26(3), Stats., a judgment is deemed “satisfied” to the extent 

that a person should be able to reinstate their operating privilege once the person 
has paid a judgment debtor an amount equal to the minimum required insurance 
amounts a person needs to avoid operating privilege suspension under the safety 

responsibility law.  The actual judgment may not be partially satisfied to the same 
extent because payment of interest, costs and attorneys fees all qualify as 
payment toward this total dollar amount.  Pars. (f), (g) and (h) address this means 

of “satisfying” specific types of damage judgments for driver licensing purposes.  
Par. (i) addresses situations where a debtor owes for both property damage and 
personal injury and requires payment of up to $65,000 ($15,000 + $50,000) for such 

an accident to property and one person or $115,000 ($15,000 + $100,000) for 
damages to property and injuries to multiple persons as a precondition of 
reinstatement.  Of course, providing evidence that the entire judgment has been 

satisfied with a court is also acceptable.  Minimum mandatory insurance amounts 
are set under s. 344.01(2)(am), Stats. 
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(1m) RESUSPENSION.  If a judgment debtor fails to comply with the payment 

terms of a voluntary or court-ordered agreement under sub. (1)(b) or (c), upon notice of 

the default, the secretary shall suspend the debtor’s operating privilege.  That 

suspension shall remain in effect until the judgment debtor meets the requirements of 

sub (1)(a) to (i).   

NOTE: The first sentence of this provision provides that a person whose operating 
privilege is suspended for a damage judgment may reinstate by paying off the 

judgment, entering into a voluntary payment agreement with the judgment creditor, 
obtaining a court-ordered payment plan, filing for bankruptcy, waiting 20 years, or 
paying the creditor an amount equal to the insurance that would have been paid to 

the creditor had the judgment debtor held insurance in the minimum mandatory 
insurance amounts specified in s. 344.01(2)(am), Stats.  This provision permits 
more than one debtor-creditor agreed or judicially ordered payment plan under 

s. 344.25 or 27, Stats. 
 

SECTION 14.  Trans 100.18(2)(a) is amended to read: 

Trans 100.18(2)(a) Out-of-state judgments against Wisconsin drivers.  Upon 

receipt of a certified damage judgment naming a Wisconsin resident or licensed 

operator as judgment debtor from a court or driver licensing authority in another 

jurisdiction, the department shall provide notice of the receipt of the certification to the 

judgment debtor.  The department shall suspend the operating privilege and motor 

vehicle registrations of the judgment debtor unless, within 30 days of the issuance of the 

notice by the department, the person satisfies one of the requirements of sub. (1) (a) to 

(e) (i) or, files a letter of clearance or other proof of license reinstatement in that other 

state from the driver licensing authority in the other jurisdiction. 

SECTION 15.  Trans 100.18(2)(am) is created to read: 

Trans 100.18(2)(am) Out-of-state judgments against drivers moving to Wisconsin 

from another state.  If a judgment debtor’s operating privilege is suspended or revoked 

in another state for nonpayment of a judgment before the debtor obtains a Wisconsin 

driver license, the judgment debtor may not be licensed in Wisconsin until the debtor 
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reinstates his or her operating privilege in that other state.  If another state provides 

notice to Wisconsin of entry of a damage judgment in that other state which may result 

in suspension for nonpayment of the judgment in Wisconsin under s. 344.25(5), Stats., 

the department shall provide notice of the receipt of the certification to the judgment 

debtor.  The department shall suspend the operating privilege and motor vehicle 

registrations of the judgment debtor unless, within 30 days of the issuance of the notice 

by the department, the person satisfies one of the requirements of sub. (1) (a) to (i) or, 

files a letter of clearance or other proof of license reinstatement in that other state from 

the driver licensing authority in the other jurisdiction. 

NOTE: Where notice of a judgment debt is sent to the Department by a licensing 

authority in another state, obtaining a release letter may be required as a 
precondition to obtaining or keeping a Wisconsin driver license.  If the judgment 
debtor has moved to Wisconsin from the other state, the Department is prohibited 

from issuing the person a license if the person's operating privilege is suspended 
or revoked in the other state.  s. 343.38 (4), Stats.  If the person has been issued a 
license, it will be cancelled.  s. 343.25, Stats. 

 

SECTION 16.  Trans 100.18(2)(b) is amended to read: 

Trans 100.18(2)(b) Tribal judgments.  Upon receipt of a certified damage 

judgment naming a Wisconsin resident or licensed driver as judgment debtor from an 

Indian tribal court in Wisconsin, the department shall provide notice of the receipt of the 

certification to the judgment debtor.  The department shall suspend the operating 

privilege and motor vehicle registrations of the judgment debtor unless, within 30 days 

of the issuance of the notice by the department, the person satisfies one of the 

requirements of sub. (1) (a) to (e) (i). 

SECTION 17.  Trans 100.18(2)(c) is created to read: 

Trans 100.18(2)(c) Period of suspension.  If a judgment debtor’s operating 

privilege or vehicle registration is suspended because of non-payment of an out-of-state 
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or tribal judgment, the person’s operating privilege or vehicle registration shall remain 

suspended until the person meets the criteria of sub. (5) and the person satisfies one of 

the requirements of sub. (1) (a) to (i). 

SECTION 18.  Trans 100.18(3)(a) is amended to read: 

Trans 100.18(3)(a) If a judgment creditor consents to allow a judgment debtor to 

retain or reinstate the debtor's operating privilege or motor vehicle registration under 

s. 344.25(2), Stats., the parties shall file a copy of the written installment agreement 

between the parties.  The agreement shall meet the requirements of s. Trans 100.13.  In 

applying the requirements of s. Trans 100.13, the term "injured party" shall mean the 

judgment creditor, and the term "uninsured person" shall mean the judgment debtor.  

The installment agreement shall provide that upon payment of the sums specified in the 

agreement, the judgment will be satisfied.  The installment agreement shall clearly state 

whether the judgment is for damages to property, or damages to a single individual or 

multiple individuals, or both, shall state the aggregate payment amount sufficient to 

permit reinstatement of the person’s operating privilege under sub. (1)(f) to (i), and shall 

require the judgment creditor to advise the division of motor vehicles upon receipt of 

payments totaling that amount. 

SECTION 19.  Trans 100.18(3)(b)(intro.) is renumbered Trans 100.18(3)(b) and 

amended to read: 

Trans 100.18(3)(b) If the department is notified that a judgment debtor has 

defaulted on a written installment agreement filed under s. 344.25, Stats., and 6 months 

have not elapsed from the date of the agreement, the department shall advise the 

person notifying the department of the default that no action may be taken until 6 

months have elapsed and may not take no further action.  If 6 months have elapsed 
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from the date of the agreement, the department shall immediately suspend the person's 

operating privilege and motor vehicle registration.  The suspension shall remain in effect 

until the person pays all fees required for operating privilege and motor vehicle 

registration reinstatement, files any required proof of financial responsibility for the 

future, complies with sub. (5) and meets one of the following: conditions required for 

reinstatement under sub. (1)(a), (b), or (d) to (i). 

SECTION 20.  Trans 100.18(3)(b)1. and 2. are repealed. 

SECTION 21.  Trans 100.18(3)(b)2.(note) is renumbered Trans 100.18(3)(b)(note). 

SECTION 22.  Trans 100.18(3)3. and (note) are repealed. 

SECTION 23.  Trans 100.18(4)(title) is amended to read: 

Trans 100.18(4)(title) BANKRUPT PERSONS UNDER DAMAGE JUDGMENT 

LAW. 

SECTION 24.  Trans 100.18(5) and 100.25 are created to read: 

Trans 100.18(5) STANDARD REINSTATEMENT REQUIREMENTS.  (a) In order 

to reinstate an operating privilege after a suspension or revocation for nonpayment of a 

damage judgment, in addition to satisfying the damage judgment by complying with 

subs. (1) to (3), a driver must also pay all fees required for operating privilege 

reinstatement and file any required proof of financial responsibility for the future.   

(b) In order to reinstate vehicle registration after a suspension or revocation for 

nonpayment of a damage judgment, a driver must also pay any fee required for 

reinstatement of the vehicle registration. 
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Trans 100.25  Mandatory insurance.  (1) EXCEPTIONS.  The purpose of this 

section is to implement and administer the provisions of Subch. VI of Chapter 344, 

Stats., relating to mandatory insurance requirements and exceptions to the requirement 

of having automobile insurance in Wisconsin. 

(2) DEPOSITS IN LIEU OF MANDATORY INSURANCE.  A person making a 

deposit with the department under s. 344.63, Stats., shall file a complete application 

with the department containing all required information.  In addition, the person shall 

provide the additional materials or information and deposit in the form required in subs. 

(3) to (5). 

(3) CASH DEPOSITS.  (a) For purposes of s. 344.63(1)(d), Stats., any of the 

following shall be considered a deposit of cash with the department: 

1.  United States currency. 

2.  A cashier’s check or draft. 

3.  A money order. 

4.  A financial institution check or draft. 

5.  A certified personal or business check or draft. 

6.  An attorney trust account check or draft. 

(b) Any person attempting to file cash in lieu of maintaining automobile liability 

insurance with the department pursuant to s. 344.63(1)(d), Stats., shall file, with the 

deposit, a certification from the clerk of courts in the county where the depositor resides 

dated no later than 15 calendar days prior to the date the deposit is received by the 

department, that indicates the clerk has searched the official records of the county and 

that no records of unsatisfied judgments of any character against the depositor exist in 

that county. 
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Note:  ss. 344.63(1)(d) and 344.37(1), Stats. 

(4) BOND.  (a) Surety bonds.  Any person attempting to file a surety company 

bond in lieu of maintaining automobile liability insurance with the department pursuant 

to s. 344.63(1)(a), shall file a bond of a surety company duly authorized to transact 

business within this state that is conditioned for the payment of the amounts specified in 

s. 344.01(2)(d), Stats.  The bond may not be cancelable except after 10 days written 

notice to the secretary.  The bond shall be in the form specified by the department. 

(b) Judicial bonds.  Any person attempting to file a judicially authorized bond in 

lieu of maintaining automobile liability insurance with the department pursuant to 

s. 344.63(1)(a), Stats., shall file a bond with at least 2 individual sureties each owning 

real estate within this state and together having equities equal in value to at least twice 

the amount of the bond, which real estate shall be scheduled in the bond approved by a 

judge of a Wisconsin circuit or appellate court.  The bond must be conditioned for the 

payment of the amounts specified in s. 344.01(2)(d), Stats., and may not be cancelable 

except after 10 days written notice to the secretary. 

Note:  ss. 344.63(1)(a) and 344.36(1), Stats. 

(5) SECURITIES.  (a) Securities filed with the department pursuant to 

s. 344.63(1)(d), Stats., shall be of a type sold on the New York Stock Exchange, 

NASDAQ or NYSE Amex Equities exchange.  The stock must have a minimum 

capitalization of $1,000,000,000.  The stock must be liquid to the extent that over the 3-

month period preceding filing with the department an average of at least 100,000 shares 

of the stock must have been traded on a daily basis on the exchange. 

 (b) Any person attempting to file securities with the department pursuant to 

s. 344.63(1)(d), Stats., shall file all of the following: 
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1.  A certification from the clerk of courts in the county where the depositor 

resides dated no later than 15 calendar days prior to the date the deposit is received by 

the department, that indicates the clerk has searched the official records of the county 

and that no records of unsatisfied judgments of any character against the depositor 

exist in that county. 

2.  An opinion of counsel, for the benefit of the department and persons intended 

to be protected by the filing described in s. 344.37(2), Stats., that the securities to be 

filed by the depositor are securities that may legally be purchased by savings banks or 

for trust funds in this state and that the securities meet the requirements of sub. (5)(a).  

The opinion shall identify the state or federal statute or regulation permitting the 

purchase of each deposited security. 

3.  An affidavit that the securities have a fair market value in excess of $60,000 

and meet the requirements of sub. (5)(a). 

4.  A pledge of the securities to the department in the form required by the 

department pledging the securities for the payment of damages resulting from the 

ownership, maintenance, use or operation of a motor vehicle after such deposit was 

made, including damages for care and for loss of services because of bodily injury to or 

death of any person and damages because of injury to or destruction of property and 

the consequent loss of use thereof.  The pledge shall assign all rights to sell or redeem 

the securities or any coupons associated with the securities to the department in trust 

for the purposes set forth in this subdivision.  The pledge shall exempt the department 

from any liability for selling or not selling the securities at any time, and shall specify that 

the depositor relinquishes all rights to sell the securities or to demand their sale by the 

department.  The pledge shall remain effective until the earlier of the return of the 
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deposit pursuant to s. 344.63(3), Stats., or of the sale of the securities, whether made 

so that the proceeds of sale can be applied to the payment of judgments and 

assignments relating to motor vehicle accidents, following the procedure described in s. 

344.20 (2), Stats., or made for any other reason. 

5.  The share certificates, bonds, including all bond coupons, if any, or other 

certificate. 

 Note:  ss. 344.63(1)(d) and 344.37(1), Stats. 

 

(END OF RULE TEXT) 

 

 Effective Date.  This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following 

publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.), 
Stats. 

 
      Signed at Madison, Wisconsin, this 6th day of 

August, 2010. 

 
  

 
     __________________/s/__________________ 

      FRANK J. BUSALACCHI 
      Secretary 
      Wisconsin Department of Transportation 
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LEG. COUNCIL COMMENTS GO HERE
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PART 4 

 CR 10-070 

 

 ANALYSIS OF FINAL DRAFT OF TRANS 100 
 

 
 (a) Basis and Purpose of Rule.  This proposed rule making revises those 

provisions of Ch. Trans 100 to reflect statutory requirements and to codify DMV practices 

and procedures that are used in the administration of the safety responsibility and damage 
judgment laws.  The damage judgment law provides that a driver’s operating privilege may 

be suspended for up to 20 years if the driver fails to pay down the judgment to the same 
extent it would have been paid had the driver carried the minimum insurance required 
under Wisconsin’s safety responsibility law. The safety responsibility law requires drivers 

involved in accidents without insurance to post a deposit with the Department to cover 
potential damages resulting from the accident.  Failure to post the deposit results in 

suspension of operating privileges. 
 
 A second objective of this rule making is to establish standards for filings made in 

lieu of insurance with the Department pursuant to s. 344.63, Stats., as created by 2009 
Wis. Act 28, and establish any other regulations made necessary by Wisconsin’s new 

mandatory insurance law. 
 
 (b) Modifications as a Result of Testimony at Public Hearing.  The public 

hearing was held in Madison on July 21, 2010.  An emergency rule public hearing was 
also held in Madison on June 24, 2010.    The Department changed the proposed rule as 

a result of testimony at the public hearing and written comments to permit multiple judicial 
and debtor-creditor agreement payment plans to form the bases of operating privilege and 
vehicle registration reinstatement under ss. 344.25 and 344.27, Stats.  A detailed 

explanation of the changes and the policy and legal basis for the change is found in the 
Plain Language Analysis. 

 
 (c) List of Persons who Appeared or Registered at Public Hearing.  The 

following persons appeared/registered at the emergency rule hearing held on June 24, 

2010: 
 

Name of Person Appearing at 
Emergency Rule Hearing 

Spoke for 
Information 

Registered for 
Information 

Submitted Written 
Comments 

Myron L. Horst, Deacon, Mennonite 
Church, Beloit, WI 

 
 

  

Edward Ker, Deacon, Eastern 
Pennsylvania Mennonite Church, Owen 
and Pleasant Ridge congregations, 
Owen, WI 

 
 

  

Tom Muniz, Attorney, representing 
client Kenneth Witmer, Mennonite 
Organization, Ripon, WI 

 
 

  
 
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Name of Person Appearing at 
Emergency Rule Hearing 

Spoke for 
Information 

Registered for 
Information 

Submitted Written 
Comments 

Kenneth Witmer, Deacon, Mennonite 
Church, Neshkoro, WI 

 
 

  

Leroy H. Martin, Weaverland 
Mennonite Aid, Colby, WI 

  
 

 
 

Philip H. Martin, Weaverland 
Mennonite Aid, Loyal, WI 

 
 

  

Joseph K. Hursh, Eastern Mennonite 
Church, Loyal, WI 

 
 

  

Alvin Z. Horning, Agent, Weaverland 
Mennonite Vehicle Aid Plan, Thorp, WI 

 
 

 
 

 

Elvin Snyder, Agent, Weaverland 
Mennonite Vehicle Aid Plan, 
Fennimore, WI 

  
 

 

  
 The following persons appeared, registered or provided testimony or written 

comments that were admitted into the record at the permanent rule hearing held on 
July 21, 2010: 

 
 
 
 

Name of Person Appearing at 
Permanent Rule Hearing 

 
 
 

Spoke in 
Opposition 

 
 

Registered 
for 

Information 

 
 

Submitted 
Written 

Comments 

Testimony 
from ER 
Hearing 

Made Part 
of Record 

Molly Gena, Attorney, Legal Action of 
Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI 

 
 

 
 
 

 

Myron L. Horst, Deacon, Mennonite 
Church, Beloit, WI 

At ER Hearing    

Aaron Weaver, Deacon, Weaverland 
Mennonite Vehicle Aid Plan, Granton, 
WI 

    

Carl Zimmerman, Weaverland Menno-
nite Vehicle Aid Plan, Loyal, WI 

    

Mahlon Mast, Minister, Mennonite 
Church, Brodhead, WI 

    

Simon P. Kropf, Nationwide Fellowship 
Churches, Beloit, WI 

    

Alvin Horning, Weaverland Mennonite 
Vehicle Aid Plan, Thorp, WI 

    

Philip H. Martin, Weaverland 
Mennonite Aid, Loyal, WI 

At ER Hearing    

Edward Ker, Deacon, Eastern 
Pennsylvania Mennonite Church, Owen 
and Pleasant Ridge congregations, 
Owen, WI 

 
At ER Hearing 

  

 

Tom Muniz, Attorney, representing 
client Kenneth Witmer, Mennonite 
Organization, Ripon, WI 

 
At ER Hearing 

  
At ER Hearing 

 
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Name of Person Appearing at 
Permanent Rule Hearing 

 
 
 

Spoke in 
Opposition 

 
 

Registered 
for 

Information 

 
 

Submitted 
Written 

Comments 

Testimony 
from ER 
Hearing 

Made Part 
of Record 

Kenneth Witmer, Deacon, Mennonite 
Church, Neshkoro, WI 

 
At ER Hearing 

   
 

Leroy H. Martin, Weaverland 
Mennonite Aid, Colby, WI 

  

 
 

At ER Hearing 
 
 

Joseph K. Hursh, Eastern Mennonite 
Church, Loyal, WI 

 
At ER Hearing 

   
 

 
 

 The written comment period was held open until close of business the day of the 
hearing.  In addition to those submitted at hearing(s), written comments were also 
received from the following persons: 

 
 Philip Rosenkranz, Attorney, Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee (via e-mail) 

 
 Monte E. Weiss, Attorney, Deutsch & Weiss, LLC, Milwaukee, WI 
 

 Senator Lena C. Taylor, 4th Senate District, Madison, WI  
 
 (d) Summary of Public Comments and Agency Response to those 
Comments.  The persons testifying at hearing and commenting on the rule provisions 

related to the damage judgment law recommended that DMV permit an injured party 

and a driver to agree to a voluntary repayment plan after the driver has defaulted on a 
court-ordered plan.  They suggested there should not be limits on the opportunity for 

judgment debtors and creditors to work out a mechanism for getting the judgment paid 
and the driver’s operating privilege and vehicle registrations reinstated.  The 
Department adopted this recommendation. 

 
 The persons commenting on the mandatory insurance law recommended the 

Department permit groups of individuals with religious beliefs that forbid or discourage the 
use of insurance to form collectives that qualify for self-insurance under Wisconsin law, or 
exempt such persons from the mandatory insurance law’s requirements.  The Department 

concluded that it lacks statutory authority to extend the self-insurance law to unrelated 
persons who are members of an organization or congregation, and that it cannot create 

exemptions to the mandatory insurance law not specifically authorized by the legislature. 
 
 (e) Explanation of any Changes Made to the Plain Language Analysis or 

Fiscal Estimate.  The Plain Language Analysis was changed to explain testimony and 

written comments received by the Department and Department reaction to that input, 

including explanations of changes made to the proposed rule as a result of the hearing.  
The fiscal estimate was changed because changes to procedures related to the damage 
judgment law are expected to change the number of damage judgment law transactions 

processed by the Department.   
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 (f) Response to Legislative Council Recommendations.  All of the comments 

contained in the Legislative Council report have been incorporated into the proposed rule 

except that the recommendation to replace the word “must” with the word “should” 
throughout the rule was not adopted.  The word “should” indicates an “aspiration” rather 

than a mandatory requirement.  In the Matter of Judicial Disciplinary Proceedings Against 
the Honorable Michael J. Gableman; Wisconsin Judicial Commission v. Michael J. 
Gableman, 2010 WI 62, par. 31.  The provisions containing the word “must” are intended 

as mandated requirements and would be difficult for laymen to read if reformatted in a “no 
person may… unless…” format.  The provision in proposed s. Trans 100.18(2)(am) was 

rewritten in that form; in the other instances, the use of the word “must” as indicating a 
mandatory condition was retained. 
 
 (g) Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis.  This regulatory change has no impact 

on small business.  The safety responsibility and damage judgment portions of this rule 

making largely codifies existing DOT policy with regard to the administration of the safety 
responsibility and damage judgment laws.  This proposed rule making related to filings in 
lieu of mandatory insurance are not expected to impact small business in any manner.  

The new mandatory insurance law itself may require small businesses that lack 
automobile coverage to obtain insurance or make a filing in lieu of insurance with the 

Department.  The Department does not anticipate any fiscal effect upon small businesses 
from this codification. 
 


